We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Crepes and Decent Coffee”

Brasserie de l'Univers
Ranked #168 of 595 Restaurants in Tours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy Crepes and Decent Coffee”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We needed a pick-me-up when we arrived in Tours, and we settled on La Brasserie L'univers because my husband was drawn in by the crepes advertisement. The coffee was good -- nothing bad and nothing exceptional -- but the crepes were perfect for a late afternoon snack. We both ordered the chocolate and chantilly cream version, and they arrived warm on a large plate with a tiny bit of fruit garnish. Service was decent. Our coffee arrived about ten minutes before the crepes, but it still wasn't a terribly long wait.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bananas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    144
    107
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Disappointing steaks”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had dinner twice at this pub. The problem was the same with the other 2 restaurants we visited in Tours. The steaks are of very low quality and that's why on our second visit, we have ordered fish and seafood, which proved to be a better choice despite the small portions . The atmosphere was nice. The wines from the Loire Valley were all excellent. Because of a mistake, one of the starters came as a main course and it was surprisingly good and the portion incredibly big. The first time we went, the service was very good and quick. The second time, it was average. I have, therefore, mixed feelings about this pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wanna be chic - bad quality & service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Wanted a classic french brasserie lunch and fell into this trap. Polished surroundings as camouflage for lacking and arrogant service, and most importantly: very poor food. The burger was eatable, but the club sandwich was a sad story. Dry and soggy. Typically microwave heated, old, gas station style sandwich. Not what you expect in a proper brasserie! We sent this dish back to the kitchen right away, politely explaining that it was unappetising, and enjoyed the fries and beer for a while. When receiving the check the club sandwich was, surprisigly, included...and the manager insisted that it was our problem we didn't like his food. It was truly bizarre. His need to get his way overruled our sincere complaint about one of the dishes. He was rude and arrogant, and did not accept the possibly that one dish could in fact be of a poor quality and sent back (he was not there at the time to evaluate it himself).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikki_OSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great salads”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We really loved the choice offered by the menu at this brasserie. We opted for a salad followed by dessert. The salmon was succulent and obviously fresh and the salad itself was fresh and varied. We loved it so much the first night that we went back for a second time. The creme brulee is a joy, with just the right amount of crunch in the topping and a lovely, velvety vanilla custard underneath. The memory we took back above all others, however, was the onion soup! The addition of rosemary put a new depth of flavour into the mix and we loved it.
We ate outside and watched the world go by - it was bustly but fascinating. Staff were pleasant and very obliging. We were impressed by the way they did their best to make everyone feel at home. We couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreddieThamesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food served with style in a stylish place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We loved the interior of this beautiful brasserie, with its beautiful ceiling dating back to 1898. All the staff were attentive, charming and cheerful. You can eat there at any time of day, even a coffee and fresh croissant from 7am - much nicer than some local hotel breakfasts. Staff worked hard to keep the restaurant really clean too. Quite centrally located for either the station or the old town. Just the kind of place we love.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie de l'Univers also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing