We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal rooms are very small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Central Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed August 4, 2011

When placing two suitcases this leaves very few room to walk on.
Bed was small and shagged. Not comfortable.
Bathroom is renovated new. It was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was ok, though fits a 2 star hotel.
There's a parking lot but guests need to pay to use it (10 euros).
Stuff speaks english very well.
Location is good, close old city streets where there are lots of restaurant and pubs.
Overall too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honorbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I asked for a king size bedroom (#328). The room was very large, confortable and looks recently renewed. The bathroom was surprisingly very large. Good breakfast for the price. Nice staff. Paid parking in hotel area.

Room Tip: walking distance to Saint Gatien Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicardoBretzCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel could stand a few upgrades, starting with replacing the beds which sagged and were very uncomfortable. The room was clean, the bathroom was modern and very clean. The individual room air conditioning unit is a big plus. My biggest complaint has to do with the parking (at 10 Euros a day). It is extremely tight. When we arrived back at the hotel after a day of touring, the parking lot was full and there were several trucks hogging up a good deal of space. When we inquired at the front desk, they told us we were on our own to find other parking. We waited until one of the trucks moved. In the meantime, I dented the rental car trying to maneuver in the limited space. We were not happy with this lack of service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linguistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The location is good, the staff are friendly, the room was a reasonable size, though a bit dark and old-fashioned, the bed was comfortable, the aircon was individual to the room and worked reasonably well, the flat-screen TV had three channels in English and the bathroom was big, with decent mirrors. Breakfast is certainly not worth 13 euros (cheese only in foil wraps!), though it's convenient and the breakfast room/small garden is a nice place to eat it. A big plus is free wi-fi in the rooms - very unusual in France. The garage was being rebuilt, so guests had to squeeze their cars into the small enclosed area in front of the hotel. This could be tricky, but the reception staff went out of their way to help with parking. On the whole, a positive experience, though not cheap, and Tours is a good base for visiting chateaux (Valencay was our favourite).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank src1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed with our 6 month old in this hotel and from the outset were delighted with this hotel. The hotel organised a super baby sitter for us prior to our arrival and responded to our (many) emails very quickly. Staff on reception had a great sense of humour and were very helpful and friendly. I had to re-arrange some furniture to set up the baby feeding /sterilising area and housekeeping managed to clean the room without upsetting this. The room itself was a good size for a French hotel, and the bathroom was large.A travel cot was already set up for us, and baby blanked provided after we asked for it. they even heated up the baby food for us. All in all a great success and we hope to return. Parking was €10 per day but worth it as it was just outside the door.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The door to our "room" opened onto a small bedroom with a single bed. There were two doors off of this. One to the adult bedroom with a very large bed and one onto an enormous bathroom that contained a spa bath in one corner, a shower in another, two basins and a toilet.The best bathroom I have ever been in. The hotel's website photos were probably taken here. It was great to have a separate room for our daughter so that she could go to sleep without complaining about the light or the noise from the TV.
The rooms had electric shutters (which have been mentioned elsewhere), lovely chandeliers and the strange long bolster cushion on the bed, which we swapped for the pillows in the wardrobe.
Breakfast was fine. As in most of the hotels we stayed at, children are not charged for breakfast, which increases the value. A sign mentioned that the staff would cook you eggs if you wanted them but we found more than enough to eat with the cold meats and cheeses. There is a pod coffee machine and there are about 15 flavours to choose from.
The hotel is close to the shopping area and restaurants. I have read somewhere that it is 200m from the train station, but it felt further, especially with luggage!
Didn't really deal with the staff, so can't comment on that. However, the tourist office is excellent

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjjHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My wife and I arrived for 3 days to explore the Loire Valley. The lady at the front reception was wonderful and friendly with a voice that I will never forget. Our room was modern and clean yet traditional in decor. The breakfast was nothing special but it was convenient. We booked the room on line and were happy with the price. We found staying here, driving the Loire and returning late in the day was a good idea for us. Tours is a very nice city, the hotel is a minute walk from the city core.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakville877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 87 in Tours
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#16 of 87 in Tours
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 87 in Tours
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Central Hotel

Address: 21 rue Berthelot, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: $78 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar/lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Central Hotel Tours
Best Western Hotel Tours
Best Western Tours
Tours Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing