We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate, excellent location”
Review of Val de Loire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Val de Loire Hotel
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Paperthin walls...could hear neighbor snoring. Very pleasant, helpful staff. Ideally located across street from train station and tourism office where chateaux tours leave from. Breakfast was bread and cheese for 8 euros. C cc cc cc cc cc C

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Situated very close to the railway and bus stations, this hotel is ideal for anyone spending a couple of days in the Loire Valley. Tours is a very attractive and well-mannered town: if you like walking urban streets packed with history and/or want to discover a new tramway (opened in August 2013), it's definitely a place for you. The chateaux of the Loire are bus and train rides away.

The hotel is entered via a brief staircase and has no elevator, so isn't really suitable for those with mobility problems. Friendly staff; good continental breakfast; satisfactory free wifi.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice pleasant stay. Staff was very helpful and went the extra mile. Room compact but very clean. Next to train station and walking distance to attractions within Tours. Nice Showers. If I had to mention any negative, it would be that it did not have any elevator. Will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anoop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through a third party site and had no problems at all with our booking. The hotel is perhaps a 3-5 min walk from the Tours Central station - very easy and flat - and opposite the Tours Information Centre.

There is a pharmacy, a bistro, a boulangerie which sells deonwlicious pastries and sandwiches just around the corner and other eating options too.

The hotel is a lovely old building and has been owned and operated by Marion and her husband for several years. We had a room (with private facilities) on the second floor - a family room with 2 double beds which was very large and spacious and also very airy and light with a view of the garden below.

Breakfast was €8 pp and very nice. Choice of tea or coffee, various fruit juices, yoghurt, fruit compotes, various delicious breads and croissants with jams etc.

Marion and her staff were absolutely delightful and made us feel very welcome.

We found the hotel's location was excellent for an easy walk to the old town centre and access to day tours from the Tourist information bureau on the opposite corner.

While this hotel suited us, it would not be suitable for people who rely on elevators - there are about 6 steps leading up to reception and there are no rooms on Floor 0 - ie, the ground floor. Access is via stairs only.

Room Tip: Great for couples who want a hotel close to the station and easy walk to the main attractions of Tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Me and my husband checked in in this wonderful Hotel without Reservation, the receptionist was very friendly and professional, excellent English speaking staff.

The room is beautiful simple design, cozy and clean, you can have the full view of the road and wake up with a beautiful sunshine.

The best part of our stay in this friendly hotel was the breakfast, its all you need for an amazing value, I will never forget this wonderful high quality breakfast, very warm and relaxing atmosphere with cute design and service, I got this feeling that I am in a local guest house with a warm welcome and caring service, and definately not a Client but a Guest.

I wish coming back again and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

[pros]
-Great location - 1-2 minute walk from the Tours train station and just across the street from the Tourist Information office (and the starting point for most of the tours of the Chateaux).
-Comfortable, spacious room.
-We got a 4 person room, so there were 2 comfortable double rooms.
-Great value - low cost for a clean and comfortable room.
-Great shower! Very clean and it had all kinds of cool things like an option for water to spray on your back for a mini water massage.
-Very helpful and friendly reception. She gave us a map and showed us all the places to go.
-A leisurely 10-15 minute stroll to various parts of the old city and to the river.
-Free wifi!

[cons]
-Although it was not far from the old city and to the river, if you're tired, might be a further walk than you'd like.
-No lift, just stairs but that was okay as we were only on the 2nd floor.

[how to get there]
-If you're coming from the train station, walk out the front entrance and walk forward up to the main street and make a right. It is just a couple buildings down on the right side of the street (just across from the tourist office).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The beds were extremely soft and comfortable!! The room was very nicely decorated, it had a homely feel to it. The bathroom was fine - the showers had a sign saying to run the hot water in the sink first (as mentioned by the review below) but it actually wasn't necessary.
There was no lift but, unless you are staying in 4 star hotels in Europe, that is often the case so we were well used to lifting our luggage up stairs by this point.

Overall, a very good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TeMaunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#9 of 88 in Tours
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Manoir
Hotel du Manoir
#25 of 88 in Tours
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 88 in Tours
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rabelais
Hotel Rabelais
#27 of 88 in Tours
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Tours Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val de Loire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val de Loire Hotel

Address: 33 boulevard Heurteloup, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: $68 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Val de Loire Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Val de Loire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing