We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barju

Barju
Ranked #146 of 585 Restaurants in Tours
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This restaurant turned out to be quite an adventure in experimental fusion cooking - very tasty and innovative, but unexpected from our perusal of the menu in the window.
We both went for fish starters and main courses. The Saint-Pierre with mussels and aubergine raviolis in a bouillon was a definite hit.
Not the cheapest meal we had in Tours, but the most enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arrived without reservation after 1.30 PM and had an excellent experience in every way.
Service was deligthfull and very professional. Food was original but not in the extreme with special attention to the quality of the produce and using various spices a nice change from the regular "cream/butter" french cooking. Exceptional fish dished and lavish wine list. Highly recommended not only in Tours but in the region!
Only negative point: the size of the bathrooms but you are in the old Tours. Also they could be a little cleaner...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

First this is a place that is absolutely not teenager friendly (nothing on the menu appealed to the two teenagers we were with in our party of five). Second the service was not at all warm (and I am not refering to the staff but the couple of owners). Third, very disappointing to hear that the wine list does not voluntarily feature half bottles of wine meaning that if some people who are light drinkers and wish to have red and white wines to accompany their dishes, the only options are full bottles or wine by the glass. As a conclusion, this is a restaurant with a poor ratio quality-price. At 65 Euros per person (wine not included) one could expect clean menu, friendly service, respect of the cooking level required for the meet, proper handling of the reporting that the meat on one dish was not properly cooked, slow service, and average food (with too much spice on some dishes). Final remark, should'nt the chef be spending more time in his kitchen that looking through the kitchen door at the restaurant room. So to you reader looking for a good meal in Tours, I definitely advise you to stay away from this place and look into other options.

Helpful?
1 Thank ludovic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la Chartre sur le Loir
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional fish restaurant with a unique take on classic dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was my fourth visit to this unique fish restaurant that my wife and I found by chance last year. Our two friends, straight from the airport, were as enthusiastic as were we. A husband a wife team run this comfortable and cleanly decorated place and have given a touch of "nouvelle" magic to some great fish dishes - this week pigeon or lamb were alternatives.
The four of us shared two starters - marinated baby mackerel with radishes and cooked foie gras with spiced bread toast;. Then sea bass brought to the table, cooking on a chunk of hot granite rock, served with a gratin of potato and a smooth butter sauce; a delicious brill, baked and served with courgette flowers stuffed with cheese and still attached to a baby courgette (zuccini for US readers); delicate fillets of red mullet on a bed of artichokes and a brown shrimp sauce.
All this with a bottle of excellent local dry white from 15K away in Vouvray. The portions were more than generous so we really did have one sweet and four spoons, which was just as well as the hot chocolate pudding oozed liquid bitter chocolate from the inside with great vanilla ice cream and a sprinkle of exotic powder combining cinnamon and ginger.
It was a pity that no one asked the parents of a couple of appallingly behaved American children, to try and control them - half way through the meal their father took them out into the town and brought them back with large "cola" drinks that did nothing to calm them down.
In spite of the noisy kids we spent a very good three hours of excellent, leisurely dining. Not cheap but real value for money, so if you are in Tours, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docgarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as I thought it would be for what they charge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Went to Barju as I had read about on Tripadvisor. The restaurant has modern decor, and the waiter was very pleasant.
As we had a biggish lunch we decided to just have a main course each. I had the St. Pierre Grille with Basil Mousse sauce, baby shrimps and peas 30 Euro. My daughter wanted to order the Veal, but they didn't have it, and they recommended the replacement dish, which was a Pigeon panfried, with french beans sauteed in shallots 31 Euro.
My dish was disappointing. The fish was bland and did not taste like fresh fish, and the peas cooked till they were quite mushy and did not have much flavour. My daughter's Pigeon dish was tasty well seasoned, but not outstandingly good. The bill came to 66 Euros, for just one course each, which was really quite pricey for mediocre food. I don't think I'll go back to this one.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kappyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barju also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Fondettes, Indre-et-Loire
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Barju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing