We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very typical, interesting menus; hygiene absolutely not considered”
Review of Comme Autrefouee

Comme Autrefouee
Ranked #364 of 601 Restaurants in Tours
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
como
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very typical, interesting menus; hygiene absolutely not considered”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the owner is quite a strange character, he never looks you in the eye and he's very difficult to undestand. He seemed to be in a great hurry, and didn't listen to what you said at all. Anyway, he was concerned about the quantity of food and kept asking if we were ok. He seems to be owner, waiter, cook and everything: he goes around getting dirty plates and hurries back to knead the dough of these fouees (similar to rolls) and then comes and brings wine and all at the same time. The place is extremely dirty and he is disreputably dirty: seeing that he had black rimmed fingernails and so on I couldn't bring myself to eat. The menu is quite interesting, though, and my friends appreciated it; it's very typical and goes out of the usual path. He served spinach with chestnuts and onions and things, for instance. I have to say that almost everybody had difficulties in the digestion process, as things were quite heavy. The kids were appalled and we kept them at bay with these rolls, that kept coming

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annmary_lakeComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    31
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You have to eat here”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This restaurant was excellent! A great place to try some traditional food and read the story of the fouaces bread. We ordered the cheapest "local menu". We stuffed ourselves with the aperitif, wine, entree, main, an endless supply of fouaces bread, cheese plate and a wonderful surprise when delicious desserts arrived! The decor is charming and the waiter/chef is amazingly friendly! Although we did not speak much French and he did not speak much English, our enthusiastic smiles communicated everything we needed. The main chef in the kitchen spoke great English and came out to describe the desserts available to us, even though he was obviously very busy out the back in the kitchen. This place is recommended to everyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Typical food”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Nice not expensive restaurant if you want to try local cuisine.
Almost "one man show" when we go there for dinner only one friendly waiter to attend all tables (around 40 places) but he did it.
Menu gourmet - 21 euros with a lot of diferent Touraine good experiences.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JV51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delightfully different!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Wonderful small mdedieval bldg just off Pl Plum with a wood burning oven where they make Fouaces...freshly made..as you watch.. puffy little pita bread served through out meal.

"Les produits du terroir Tourangeau" Bargain menus..we had the least expensive with drinks..a local aperifif wine, and 50 cl local vin...4 courses for 19.50!

Foaces just keep coming to be filled with butter, porc rilettes, cornichons, pickled onions, then white bean/meat stew/salade, goat cheeses....delicious!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comme Autrefouee also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 

Been to Comme Autrefouee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing