We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and a bit bizarre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Odeon

L'Odeon
Ranked #50 of 578 Restaurants in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive and a bit bizarre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was supposed to be the best restaurant in town, so we went for it. At first, we found the decoration a bit strange: something between french and chinese. It was like being in an expensive restaurant, but in a cheap chinese restaurant at the same time!
All fine so far... the problems started when they took way too long to serve our food. The entrée took around 20 min, and a family (better dressed than us, I suppose that made a difference) that arrived after was served much faster. Imagine our surprise when we saw this family leave after eatinga 3-course meal, while we were still waiting for the main dish!
The food itself was good, fancy-chic like, but nothing spectacular.
So, I won't go there again :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    75
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fine food in abundance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We ordered the 33euros menu. The food was nicely presented and delicious. Three courses with chefs' muse and extra sweets. A bargain for food at this level.
The house wine was a light, fruity red local from the Loire Valley that went well with our meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We would not usually choose to eat in the number one ranked restaurant but in this case were compelled by the reviews. The €33 menu is excellent value but you would eat well with just a plat. The service, from the owner ? was excellent and the chef also spoke to us after our meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food, the service everything worth ist money!
An etxtraordinary dinner in a beautiful ambiance, nice and friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A culinary destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We teamed up with a couple of ladies we met from our hotel, selected our restaurant at the last minute and easily found the centrally located L'Odeon by the train station. Our greeting was very pleasant, matched by the ambience and decor of the restaurant. Service was excellent, attentive and highly competent from staff and management, providing menu explanations and wine recommendations from a list with a good representation of regional products. Two of us chose the set menu and two the a la carte. The food was very well prepared, presented and delicious. It is obvious that L'Odeon is sucessfully striving to consolidate itself as an "iconic dining experience" all the way through to a visit from the chef towards the end of service. Very well priced for the variety of food and wine offerings with lovely surroundings and great service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Odeon also viewed

Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Tours, Loire Valley
Tours, Loire Valley
 
Saint Avertin, Tours
 

Been to L'Odeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing