We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, convenient, and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #52 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute, convenient, and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here last summer (late writing the review!) and loved it. I was traveling solo, and my room was small but perfect for me. Very close to the train station, which made it easy to do castle hopping during the day. I think all the rooms have themes, mine was African-themed.

The couple who owns the place were very nice - I arrived early and they held my bag for me downstairs, and when I came back in the evening they had carried it up the stairs for me already. Not an insignificant climb! Hotel Vendome felt more like a B&B, although breakfast isn't included. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quaint, friendly, budget stay in Tours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    67
    30
    18
    18
See reviews for
12
83
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tours is a beautiful city and this hotel is right in the centre; we stayed for one night but it was great to be able to stumble back a short way from Place Plumereau! We had a double en-suite room which cost just 46 Euros, which seemed like excellent value for a city hotel. However, I would not have wanted to stay for more than one night. The bed was very small, so it was a good job we'd drunk enough to get to sleep otherwise I would not have slept at all. Also, the bathroom was very tiny, there was barely enough space to sit on the toilet without banging your knees on the wall opposite (and I'm only 5ft 2in). The shower didn't have a riser, it had to be held by hand and again there was not really enough space. I didn't say anything to the staff as we were only staying one night and the service was welcoming and friendly, but it's probably not somewhere I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is located near to the railway station and the main sights of the city that is convenient for travellers. Also nearby there is a lot of cafe and restaurants.
We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. We had Delux room with balcony. The room was issued in old style, with a fireplace. On the TV there were only French channels. The wardrobe in a room was very small, so we couldn't place in it our luggage. The bathroom was such narrow, that I couldn't sit down normally to a toilet bowl and to wash, I should open a door.
Despite that windows went to the street, a room was silent, but all moving of neighbours are audible, especially, when they took a shower.
Be careful: in a room it is strictly forbidden to eat, it is good, that it is not forbidden to drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veideol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at hotel vendome in tours for 3 nights for a long weekend!
It was easy to find as we took a bus straight from tours airport to the city centre and the hotel is on a little side street from jean jaures! A great location and base for exploring the city and the Loire region.
The room was fairly basic but decorated in such a quaint way it felt very chic and homely.
We had doors leading out onto a balcony big enough to sit out on and it made the room feel larger too, we left the doors open at night and the street was silent ~ very little traffic so close to the centre!
The staff were friendly and gave us a code for letting ourselves in and out without needing to hand in the key every time we left giving us more freedom! More like a B&B though as felt like we were just a guest in their house!
Following the same street down is a beautiful park with a lake perfect for picnics and generally just relaxing!
Each room in the hotel is decorated with a different theme and colour, very cute!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerriandJon210908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were on our way to Paris and chose this small Inn for a one night stop. It's a bit out of the thick of things ( 20 minute walk to river and old city, but 7 minutes from the train station) so that may or may not be a plus! We had the attic, which was 3 flights up a narrow stair case. The room was fantastic, but I imagine it may get hot in the summer. The petite dejuener is typical french, bread, juice, coffee. For 6 euro it seemed a little steep. But the room itself was a bargain. They do offer parking if there's none on the street. Great spot.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC in Vietnam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The best thing i've ever had in my Euro trip is this hotel. Amazing. That's the only way i can say about it.
This hotel runs by a original French family. The design is so beautiful and warm. Whenever i came back, i felt like i was back home. A beautiful home.
The room is so clean and beautiful (if you wanna be a princess, let's choose the room number 207).
The toilet is so clean and lovely.

About the location, it just takes you 10 - 15 mins to go to the train station. But you'll not count the time cause it has a lot of restaurants and things on the way.

In the front of the road to go to Vendome, it has a Tony Pizza restaurant where you can buy a good pizza with just 5E.

With just 42E / night / room / 2 persons, i really enjoy the time in Vendome Hotel and i just wanna share with you.

Room Tip: If you wanna be a princess, choose the room 207. If you wanna go to chauteux (the casle) as many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilac3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

It was ok, it was clean, in a good location and cheap. But it is an old building with scary stairs, the room is very small- no mirror- only a very small one in the bathroom.
You can't eat in the room.
And if you are having a heavy baggage I won't recommend this place because of the stairs- they are almost falling apart.
There id wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karpada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trianon
Hotel Trianon
#60 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#31 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel L'adresse
Hotel L'adresse
#19 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rabelais
Hotel Rabelais
#28 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#13 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 24 rue Roger Salengro, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vendome 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing