We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #77 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Moncton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was very well located in central Tours, a few blocks from the train station.

Room decor is outdated, and closet is small. But the beds were comfortable with crisp white sheets. We slept well, It was quiet during our stay - it was in September when there are less tourists.

Family of four in room with two double beds - two night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_fr_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    19
    11
    21
See reviews for
18
24
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were a little apprehensive after reading mixed reviews of this hotel but were delightfully surprised on arrival. We were given such a friendly greeting and shown to our large and comfortable room which had a full bath as well - unusual in France. Yes the walls are a little thin but not to the point that we were kept awake. The hotel is well located and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and i spent 2 nights in the hotel Moderne, we arrived early in the morning around 8 and were greeted by a very nice lady. I think she may have been the owner but didnt ask. She noticed we had 2 large bags and carry on bags, so we were given a room on the first floor as the hotel has no lift. The room was quite large with a double and single bed and a good sized bathroom, linen was all clean like the rest of the room. The train station is about 5 mins walk away. The hotel is down a side street so not too much traffic goes past. There was plenty of cafes near by so no problems getting a meal or drink. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank West-Aussie-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is good, very near the train station. Price? 45 Euros for a single room, no breakfast (MacDonalds is nearby however). Thin walls, bring ear plugs. No lift, be prepared to climb, not so bad with a holdall, daunting with a suitcase.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Firstly - I always rate the hotel based on its stars (ie a 2 star hotel - like this, can still receive 5 stars from me) - but not this hotel.

Sleep is number one priority for us - Hotel Moderne failed miserably in giving us a good night's sleep.

Cons - No fans or Aircon. Avoid this place if the weather is going to be over 28 degrees. I asked reception of a fan - no, they don't provide fans. Sleeping with the windows open provide some relief, but then all the road noise (which was surprisingly a lot for a small street), the pedestrian noise (again - surprising for a small street) and the stale air just made sleeping uncomfortable.
Creaky floorboards meant you could hear peoples movements - again, not a great thing if you're trying to sleep, or sleep in.
We got some "ironing" done - not sure who by, but we shouldn't have bothered. It wasn't anything near "ironed" - probably just put in the dryer for a "refresh" for 10 minutes.

Pros.
The staff were great - most spoke English, some spoke English after their ears must have been bleeding from more poor French. They were overly helpful with looking after the car whilst parked on the street - which by the way was no problem
Breakfast was more than enough to kick start the day - very helpful.
Location - great for shopping - a bit further to Old Town, very close to the Rail - a good around spot.

Sadly, we wouldn't return here in the summer - actually, I think we would try somewhere else first. NB: Winter would be fine here.
NB: avoid rooms 4 & 9 (right next to noisy staircases)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tours hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pros
Clean
Cheap
Decent location
24 Hour key code access
Cons
Noise from other rooms
Lots of noise from stairs
Had to pump the toilet then it sounded like a spaceship taking off
Wirless internet pretty much useless worked initialy with poor signal and slow then stopped working alltogether.
Much better accomodation to be had in Tours I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr. Winkleigh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ideally situated close to the heart of Tours this is convenient for travellers who want to walk to the city's tourist attractions. The hotel is no longer particularly 'moderne', but the welcome is friendly enough, especially for those like this reviewer who arrive by cycle after using the 'veloroutes' of the Loire Valley; indeed the hotel makes a point of advertising that it is 'cycle friendly' and has a garage for secure storage. My room was comfortable enough, however it had the most quirky shower I have ever encountered - the washbasin controls the shower's pressure and heat!, Also anyone with heavy luggage might rue the lack of a lift. Nevertheless, I enjoyed a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast, setting me up handsomely for another day's cycling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#3 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#32 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#44 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de L'Europe
Hotel de L'Europe
#41 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citotel Criden
Citotel Criden
#16 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Victor Laloux, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing