We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily Best Hotel in Tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easily Best Hotel in Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Moderne both times I visited Tours, and I believe that this is the best value for money hotel in the city. This is the type of traditional hotel that you expect when visiting the smaller towns and cities in France! It is nothing flashy - the rooms are all different layouts, slightly dated (not going to find a LCD TV here), and come in a variety of pastels colors, but that is part of the fun! Despite the quirkiness, the rooms are very clean and free from any signs of major wear and tear. On top of this, the hotel is very reasonably priced (I think we paid ~115 per night for a triple) with one of the best locations in the city. It is on a side street off one of the center places in the city. Despite being in the center of town, the side street is very quiet, so you will have no problem keeping the windows open during the summer for a breeze. Finally, the best part of the hotel is the owner. She is an older Asian lady, and she does whatever possible to make sure you have a great stay. For instance, I arrived at the hotel with my friends at 10am, and we were exhausted from an early morning of traveling. Even though it was early, she allowed us to check into our room to take a nap! She will also help guide you away from the tourist areas and find the best restaurants that the locals go to! There is no other place that I would consider staying next time I visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floors. The vaulted ceilings of the top floor making the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    19
    10
    21
See reviews for
18
24
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for two separate nights a week apart. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were travelling by bike and the bikes were securely stored for us. The hotel is very convenient for the station and easy walking distance from the cathedral and interesting town centre. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Friendly, welcoming, extremely helpful lady on the front desk, a pleasant room, breakfast far better than usual in France, excellent position for the train station and the cathedral, exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed here for a week in late May. The hotel is very conveniently located, near the Hotel de Ville, and convenient for the station, the main shopping streets and the markets. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, the room was comfotable and spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts were excellent.

The room was on the top floor - quite a climb since there is no lift - but that helped to work off all the excellent food in Tours! The hotel is quirky and interesting, with a seating area on the mezzanine which is a mini-museum, with exhibits of old curios.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the top floor unless you are ok about climbing stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballymackeonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Situated just off the Rue Nationale, which is the main shopping street in modern Tours and only 5 minutes walk from the bus and railway stations. We were only staying for one night at the end of a week in an apartment in Tours. Proprietors very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome from the outset.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Moderne while attending a conference at the university. The hotel was excellent; a pleasant location, friendly service, and super-clean rooms. It was 2 blocks from the train station, and in a good, quiet neighborhood, behind the city hall. There is a high school around the corner, so there was a fair amount of street noise when the students were coming and going. There was also a bit of street noise late on Saturday night. Otherwise the street was very quiet, and while as a solo woman I am nervous about walking down quiet streets late at night, this neighborhood seemed fine even though I came back at 10 or 11 pm each night. The hotel was a block from the main shopping street, and 3 or 4 blocks to the very charming medieval part of town, so it was perfect for walking around the town.

The room was simple but with everything one might need, a sparkling bathroom with new tile and a really good shower, comfortable beds (but note that the pillows are French-style), plenty of lighting and convenient bedside lights. Oh, and free wifi! One thing I would note is that the rooms were not soundproofed that well; or, at least, the person in the room next to mine seemed to need 3 different very loud alarms in order to wake up, and I could hear all of them. I didn't hear anything else, though; the clientele was very quiet otherwise!

The breakfast (not included in the room rate) was plentiful and French-style, bread and croissants and rusks, with coffee/tea/chocolat and juice, and I think also cereal, while eggs were available for an extra fee.

The service was friendly and helpful throughout. I made the reservation online and they were very good about following up with emails. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tours.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Hôtel Moderne

This easy-to-find hotel is located 5 minutes from the train station on a quiet side street. When I arrived at lunch time, I was greeted in a friendly manner and given my key, which needs to be left on a hook beside the main desk when you go out. The room was on the top floor, in the attic. No elevator. The carpeted room itself was clean, and spacious for its price (41 euros/night). The furniture consisted of matching bed (comfortable), table, desk, and bench. Although there was a phone, a t.v. and a fan, no clock was in sight. The bathroom/shower was just across the hall and reserved for my exclusive use. In addition to the towels, a bathrobe was supplied. An extra pillow and blanket were also available. The only negative element was the creaking floor.

On every floor, there are tables and chairs with reading material (a bit old sometimes). On the second floor, you will also find a living room with some memorabilia and books. The hotel cat is often to be found there, napping on one of the chair. Continental breakfast was offered at 7 euros. Finding it a bit expensive, I did not take it.

Overall, this hotel is a nice place but not luxurious. Everything is clean and cared for. The staff is friendly and always present. It is close to everything: train & bus stations, shopping areas, restaurants, and historic part of town.

Travelling tips:

Tourist Office: Right across the train station. Sells the City Pass and tickets at reduced price to the surrounding Loire castles.

Internet: on rue Levoisier and Colbert. 1 euros/15 minutes.

Groceries: Monoprix is a clothing and grocery store on rue Nationale, less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Go into the store; the market is at the back.

General shopping: Very close, mostly on rue Nationale (FNAC, Lafayette, etc.) and rue Bordeaux (right next to the train station). Plenty of restaurants, bakeries, etc.

Briocherie: On your left, just when you come out of the train station. 1 euros/small brioche. That’s all they sell in different sizes. A change from the usual croissant in the morning.

Amboise/Chenonceaux in one day, the cheap way: Same bus line (Fil Vert) for both places. Bus leaves station at 9 a.m. Monday to Saturday. Ticket sold on the bus (1.50 euros per ride). Best way to do it is to go first all the way to Chenonceaux and then ride back to Amboise at lunch to visit the castle and the Clos-Lucé (Da Vinci’s last home). Buses coming back to Tours around supper time.

Villandry/Azay-le-Rideau in one day, the cheap way: Same bus line (Fil Vert) for both places. Wednesday and Saturday only during school year. Every day in July/August. Ticket sold on the bus (1.50 euros/ride). Bus leaves the station at 9 a.m. for both destinations. Go all the way to Azay-le-Rideau and come back to Villandry at 12:30 p.m. Bus coming back to Tours at 5:30 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#46 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#31 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#65 of 88 in Tours
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sejours & Affaires Tours Leonard de Vinci
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#12 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: Entree 1 1 rue Victor Laloux, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing