We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Friendly staff, but mediocre accomodations”
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for only one night as we were meetings friends in Tours and the location for the price was perfect to where we were meeting. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful, especially because she spoke very good English! Our disappointments with this hotel were with the room itself. In our room, Chambre 31, the shower stall was extremely tiny. My husband and I both inadvertently turned the water temperature handle while turning around in the shower, therefore making the water scorching hot! My husband and I are tall people, but not large people! Secondly, our room did not seem to have any air circulation whatsoever. The one window in the room did not open, and there was no air conditioning unit in the room. Because it was a hot and therefore uncomfortable night, we couldn't wait to check out the next morning. Lastly, don't waste your money on the 8 euro per person breakfast, as you can get much better breakfast options out in town, particularly in Place Plumereau, even on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

This review is bicycle oriented. We didn't have a reservation for Tours and the hotel we picked was full but the concierge got on the phone and called around. Right around the corner was the Hotel Theatre. Right across from the what appears to be the a opera house. A bit worn looking at the entrance but the rooms were clean and sufficient. They let us store our bikes in the downstairs hall which was not the most secure. We locked them up and they were still there in the morning. Breakfast and staff all good. It is close to the old town, and almost right on the velo route through Tours.
If you can find a place with a secure lockup go for that but there is nothing wrong with this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located. Old building, no lift. We've stayed in the 1st floor, and the room was Ok. The staff was ever ready to help and gave us some useful info about the city. As there's no lift, wouldn't recommend it to people with deficiency or in a wheelchair though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcatulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Exceptional quality and attention to detail for the very cheap price of 65 euros. What made it exceptional was the lovely and welcoming receptionist. Her English was the best that we have encountered in France and she went out of her way to make sure we were happy. Would recommend hotel du theatre

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We absolutely loved the old building. We had a rooftop view and were thrilled. The room was not big, but who would expect one in what was certainly initally a medieval structure.
The hotel did send us information about the entry code and how to get to our room, so that was not an issue.
My daughter and I truly enjoyed this hole in the wall.
Word of caution: There is no elevator and the staircases can be steep and narrow. So be prepared to drag your bags. We didn't have any problem with that, and would do it again.
The hotel is centrally located (then again, this is not a huge town) and service is friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here while visiting the Chateau's. It is about 15 mins by foot from the train, Close to shops, groceries and dining. The woman who checked us in was super friendly. Internet was free but sometimes a bit slow. The rooms were average size for Europe and the bathroom a bit larger than usual. It was clean and also ready when we checked in at 9am We loved our room right off the breakfast area overlooking the street. Street noise was heard but didn't bother usually sensitive ears. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. We did rent bikes down the street from the train and biked to Villandry Cheateau...ithe bike path is simple to follow..no cars to compete with...the trail is relatively flat and very beautiful.

Room Tip: There is no lift..So if you don't like climbing small stairs, ask for room on main level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newsbyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Arrived 3pm on Sunday: door was locked.

Had the idea to call the hotel, and the response was Ah Oui - reception does not open until 1800!

Told us the entry code and the room number on the phone, so no real problem. However, it might be a good idea to tell customers about the limited opening hours when booking.

Price is on the high side for the service offered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 87 in Tours
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#31 of 87 in Tours
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 87 in Tours
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#61 of 87 in Tours
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'adresse
Hotel L'adresse
#25 of 87 in Tours
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel des Chateaux de la Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 57 rue de la Scellerie, 37000, Tours, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Théâtre (14 rooms) is located in Tours, opposite the theatre and a 6 minutes walk to the railway station. It offers comfortable guestrooms with flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel is set in a 15th-century building and has fully renovated guest accommodation. The Hotel Du Theatre is also just a few steps from the Palais de Congrés Vinci and the quiet antique dealer district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing