We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even need a map to do this tour”

Loire a Velo Cycle Path
Ranked #8 of 39 things to do in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't even need a map to do this tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the most well-marked bicycle route I've ever travelled. Very flat terrain, villages every few kilometres to stop for coffee or a snack, mostly away from traffic. Try to go east to west direction, then you'll have the wind at your back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank zeb66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great bike path!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We picked up bikes at Meung sur Loire and rode to Beaugency and back. Just a tiny sliver of what looks to be a wonderful path along the river, bordered by corn fields and small villages. We'll be back to explore another day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank dakota1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

In May/June 2013 28 intrepid travellers from our cycle group back home undertook a 10 day cycling tour in the Loire valley. We started our journey in Blois and rode through to Saumur. Initially we looked for an organized tour but not being able to find exactly what we wanted we ended up arranging it all ourselves (with a subsequent saving of about $1000 per couple). There is a fantastic route known as Loire a Velo ( Loire by bicycle - see their very comprehensive website and download their smartphone app) that is well signposted that runs for about 600km along the Loire which is probably the easiest way to travel but we opted for the route recommended by Lonely Planet (you can download the Loire section for a few dollars from their Cycle France publication). Their route used sections of the Loire a Velo but avoids the larger city of Tours by going down to the Indre river (a tributary of the Loire) and joining another signposted route, the Indre a Velo at Loches before heading back in the general direction of the Loire. It is a brilliant route as you are virtually never on any main roads and wind your way through rural France on a combination of cycle paths ,tracks, lane ways and quiet rural roads. Many of the group said it was an experience of a lifetime and the only way to truly appreciate the French country side and all it's beautiful chateaus.
All our hotels were excellent (while only being 2 star) and were all very cycle friendly (all chosen via TripAdvisor). We arranged bike hire through Detours de Loire and they delivered our bikes to the hotel in Blois and collected them at the end of the trip in Saumur. They also provided the bag transfer service between our hotels.
Maps are a little harder to get from outside France (email the tourist offices in each of the towns and they will send a good lot of info) but when you get there you can pick up a lot of useful info from the tourist offices.
The towns in which we stayed were Blois, Amboise, Loches, Azay le Rideau, Chinon and Saumur.
The detailed route maps (with turn by turn directions on a cue sheet) are available on the website RideWithGPS (just search under the town names for jdmcgreg)
If you love cycling it is an experience not to be missed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
43 Thank MJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Civilized Cycling”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lots more people in the U.S. would cycle if we had these conditions there. Imagine hundreds of miles of dedicated bike paths where there are either no cars or very very few. No imagine that these bike paths go through beautiful fields of wild flowers, vineyards or along a river, or wend their way through ancient villages. I'm getting spoiled for cycling in traffic back in California.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank LizCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywheree
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best cycle trips you can take”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Loire a velo is a well signposted, easy to ride route through chateaux country. The towns are beatiful, the wine is excellent, the food is too, and you can't go wrong with a short or long trip along this beatiful river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank WineCycling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loire a Velo Cycle Path also viewed

 
Orleans, Loire Valley
Orleans, Loire Valley
 

Been to Loire a Velo Cycle Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing