We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice refurbished room - clean and bigger than the norm...”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice refurbished room - clean and bigger than the norm...”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed one night - paid 8 euro's for upgrade with bath. Well worth the effort to get a central hotel. Nice staff and better than usual continental breakfast. Very clean with triple glazing to soundproof from street. No car parking - but secure underground available 100 metre away @ 14 euros for 24 hours. City sights 3 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Go for room with tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
49
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wonersh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

90 euros for a bedroom that would have made a Youth Hostel seem like a 5 star hotel! Rooms are cramped, dark brown, dusty , sliding door on the bathroom that doesn't shut and the service was appalling. Had to leave early to get down the the South of France and we had to wake up the chap to pay for the car park so we could leave.
They promised us a single beds and a bath, but no such luck. The receptionist said he would talk to the 'patron' and sort something out but when we came down in the morning, surprise, surprise, no-one ther.
Please, please, please stay away...........the pits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orleans hotels

Sierra Madre, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have noticed how much care they take--every year, more and more rooms are upgraded, as well as the bathrooms. It has always been a very clean hotel, but with all the new upgrades, it feels like a brand new hotel at this point!

Customer service is excellent--this is why I have even taken tour groups here. All my clients have been very satisfied.

There are many choices for breakfast--cereal, yogurt, bread, croissants, etc...

Another reason I chose the hotel is that I am familiar with this city and know that some of the hotels closest to the train station and shopping are in fact, too close....meaning that I don't always feel quite safe in the neighborhood. This one is still plenty close to the train station and very centrally located in the city itself, but is on a quiet enough street (and I feel, a safer one)....noise is not the same kind of issue it is just one street over!

So great location, great new rooms

Room Tip: If you can spend the money for the superior room, there are several that are beautiful large corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is taking advantage from the location. If there wouldn't be helpful and friendly stuff then this would be the last good point. rooms are small, dusty, furniture is about to break apart. rooms reacalled me times of cheap school trips to the nature where comfort was the last thing I cared about. on the other hand, parking is included in the hotel price and that is very good. and i cannot complain about breakfast at all. again, the stuff made it that i didn't leave right away. one thing has to be kept in mind when you review the hotel and that is price. and you actually get exactly what you pay ...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilipZamboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Small rooms, bit old fashoned, in centre, that is THE only positive point. I never come back there.
Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Helpful, friendly staff...elevator for those who do not like stairs...small room with very basic amenities...this is an old hotel which could use a few upgrades in the room (ie. shower)...located in the older part of the city within walking distance of the train station and downtown center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

street parking easy to find is not grand in any way very helpfull receptionist rooms basic and clean but tiny bathroom and the most stupid shower arrangment ever ! pay extra and get a bath! other guests in the room next door decided to get up at 6 am they were just getting ready as normal shower dressing toilet etc but i could hear every little noise no sound proofing evident.my friend had the same problem on another floor was 72 euros for the night not good value poor breakfast i am sure there are better hotels will not go there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orleans hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#6 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'Orleans
Hotel D'Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#2 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Abeille
Hotel de l'Abeille
#5 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 1 rue de la Lionne, 45000, Orleans, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing