We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel and so convenient for the station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A great hotel and so convenient for the station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights and thought the hotel was very, very good. It is just a very short walk to the train station, but also well placed for exploring Orleans.

Our room was a reasonable size, well furnished, and had a splendid bathroom with fantastic shower. We were on a cycling holiday, and getting into that shower after a day on the bikes was bliss.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They recommended some restaurants to us and we thought the one we finally chose was excellent.

Breakfast was a typical buffet spread and good enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    45
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
90
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in the centre of Orleans. There is easy open-air parking very close, so not sure why other people had to leave their cars on tramlines. There is also a special hotel rate for underground parking close by, but you do need to walk a few yards so perhaps that is a problem for some.

The young man at reception was extremely polite and helpful and made us very welcome. He had some good dinner recommendations.

The room was a good size, everything spotlessly clean, and a lovely bed. It overlooked the busy road but was sound-insulated so we didn't hear a thing in the morning. It was a lovely sight early morning watching the city wake up, with bicycles, pedestrians, trams and school children passing beneath our window, and shopkeepers setting up for business. The choice at breakfast was amazing. No eggs and bacon but I wasn't in England so didn't expect it!

All in all, a lovely experience in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having stayed in plenty of 4-star hotels, this seemed a bit below average. The location is for sure the main asset of the hotel, very close to the railway station, and in the main shopping street of the town, just in front of the main tram line. There were some problems though: the rooms are quite small, with a bathroom that, while well designed from an esthetical point of view, had some functional issues (like the toilet paper being a bit away from where you sit...;-)). The other weak point of the hotel is breakfast, which is not at all very rich, and some of the food (e.g. salmon and ham) gave me the impression that were not totally fresh (the impression was based on the taste). The people at the front desk were quite nice and courteous, although when asking about information on how to reach the university (a quite common destination in the city) I got as a reply "you can take the tram that passes in front of the hotel, but I don't know how long will it take, I never got there in my life before". I was a bit surprised. Moreover, they did not have a timetable of the tram to leave with the customer, only maps. Overall, the experience was nice, and the building was very nice and well kept. I would judge it as a nice 3-star hotel, 4-star is a bit too much in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svcalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Last July 2013 we stayed at Hotel d'Arc (Best Western) on Republique Street, Orleans...i had stayed there last year for a business trip and was enchanted by the service, the cleansiness, the kindness of the employees/owners and the charm of the area so this year when i went back on business, i insisted that my employer makes the reservations at the same hotel. My stay in Orleans was extended for an extra week so i decided to take my vacations there and my 2 daughters came to meet me in that beautiful city. As soon as they arrived, they were extremely pleased with the staff, the perfect location (close to everything, stores, boutiques, train station, tramway transportation, bistros, restaurants, etc.). One thing i need to add and it is extremely important that it be mentioned, at Hotel d'Arc we found that the people running the place were "human" and it is rare to have an opportunity to live this experience these days. They did not treat us only as guests in their hotel, we felt like part of a big family...and in my book that deserves 10 stars!!! I would go back in a second and also would recommand it to anyone who wants to live a great experience. Thank you all for making our stay in Orleans a memorable one!

Room Tip: I had the pleasure of staying in 2 different rooms, one was as nice as the other. Both rooms were sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank France A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is set on a pedestrianized road so following a sat-nav gets you to the wrong end of the entry road! When approaching, the entrance is to the right off a roundabout and is blocked by bollards. Drive up to them and there is a call point, tell them where you are staying and the bollards are dropped. Drive in then turn right, down the first road, the hotel is to the right, lookout for the trams and make sure you park off their rails and off the cobbles, there is a fine if you don’t!! Beware, French pedestrians simply refuse to get out of the way of a car on THEIR road!

Once inside the hotel all is first rate, reception is smooth and the directions to the car park precise and easy to follow, they have a private section in a public car park, a little more difficult to get to during our visit due to extensive road works but still not taxing. The room we had was small-ish, typical of most French town hotels, it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom first rate and the shower second to none, a huge showerhead in a well oversized compartment, best shower I have ever seen in an hotel.

They recommended a selection of local restaurants and booked a table for us, it took three efforts as the first two were closed, did I feel they were getting fed up with trying? Not a bit of it, the receptionist could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was fine, a tad on the expensive side but plentiful, well presented and tasty.

The location is perfect, right on the main shopping street and opposite a large shopping centre, an easy walk to many restaurants and close-ish to the river.

Not sure what expectations some of the ‘average’ and ‘poor’ reviewers have or if they are familiar with French city hotels. This one is in an old building so has smaller than UK rooms but has been well up-dated. The breakfast room might be a bit crushed if it were full but not too sure how often that might happen. If you’re after bacon and eggs you are in for a disappointment but for a continental breakfast it is better than most. Yes, it’s on a road with trams but they don’t run all night and we stayed mid-summer on a Saturday night and were not bothered by noise at all and yes, we were in the front and only on the first floor.

A prefect hotel if you want to be in the heart of the city, want to abandon your car for the duration and have plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

As a business traveler I am in Europe many times during the year up to 8 times per year. While I am returning to the same cities this is the first hotel I have wanted to return to. While the rooms are small - most are in Europe. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the wifi actually works! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A warning when arriving at this hotel by car: You have to park on the pavement while you unload your luggage. You MUST keep clear not only of the tram tracks but also keep off the cobbled strip altogether. If any part of your vehicle is over the edge of the paving you are liable to a fine of 180 euros. We had to wait to book into the hotel and 3 trams and 2 police cars passed quite happily. On reaching our room, however, we were telephoned by the receptionist to say that a tram could not get past and that the police would come and impose a fine.

Our "deluxe" room was adequate and the bed was comfortable but the décor was tired. The shower room was small but had been modernised and the shower was very good indeed. The separate toilet was very small and there was a gap all round the door which was not very pleasant.

The breakfast room was a bit cramped and the breakfast menu was good quality but rather limited in choice.

The air conditioning did not work and we reported this when we left. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandAHarpendenEnglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orleans hotels
0.6 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#2 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Orleans
Hotel D'Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#6 of 31 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Abeille
Hotel de l'Abeille
#5 of 31 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc
Address: 37 rue de la Republique, 45000, Orleans, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated, air-conditioned and HOTELcert certified hotel of character.In the heart of the town center, in the main pedestrian street, nearby the train station.Free high speed WIFI internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel d'Arc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Arc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing