We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value in France”

Restaurant Le Lievre Gourmand
Ranked #12 of 398 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bienvenue au lièvre gourmand. Cuisine gastronomique moderne et créative dans un restaurant haut de gamme au style épuré.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

I emailed the night before and was lucky to get a table for the following night. It was an amazing value for a degustation with matching wines. You can choose 3 or 4 course which also includes cheese/dessert. Or, you can go for the full degustation and try everything. We weren’t too hungry, so opted for the 3 courses, but considering that you get a cold and hot dish for each, plus cheese/dessert, it was really 7 courses. We went for the matching wines which gives you 4 full glasses. We were blown away. All the wines were amazing. My favourite course was the truffle course followed by the crab course. The tuna course was a distant third. The cheese cart was amazing, and the dessert was good too. My partner was very happy with all his meat dishes. This is an absolute must visit if you are staying or driving through. They do lunch too. They’ve set it up very well, where everyone shows up at 8pm for a pre-dinner drink with complementary canapés while you choose your menu. Then everyone is seated in one of at least 2 dining rooms. The space is great and they space the tables apart so you feel like you’re in a semi-private space. By far our favourite meal in all of France on this trip.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 577 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

We were very lucky to get a booking on the night we were in Orleans. This is a wonderful restaurant punching above its weight in terms of price.

The idea of welcoming everyone into the upstairs room for pre dinner drinks and to allow you time to relax is a first for us, but once seated in a comfy chair and with time to peruse the menu and place your order, it was time to be escorted to our table and to sit back and enjoy the meal.

The food was beautifully served and most interesting as on one side the item, eg rabbit, was served hot and on another plate it was served cold. The quail was my favourite!

The wine list was comprehensive and not overly priced with the waiter more than able to assist in your selection.

In all, a great experience, a lovely well thought out menu, delicious wine and all at a very competitive price. We paid 59 euros for 4 courses, plus dessert. We would definitely return. Bravo!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kez208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

We stopped over in Orléans specifically to dine at Le Lièvre Gourmand after positive recommendations from various friends. We are so glad that we did. The dining experience and exquisite food were outstanding, and renewed our faith in French cuisine and its preparedness to integrate new flavours and techniques. The menu showcases key ingredients in inventive ways, with a wonderful fusion of French and Asian cuisines. We loved every dish, from presentation to taste to texture. Service was formal but friendly and attentive. The prices were very reasonable for a restaurant of such exceptional standard and the wine list offered an interesting range of options, both French and 'new world'. An evening to remember that made our detour worthwhile.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ehles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

I expected quite a lot from this restaurant and must say it topped all my expectations: I had here one of the best dinners in my life. Excellent food, great wine selection, cozy atmosphere. Definitely coming back, hopefully very soon.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Robotik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

On our second tour of the Loire Valley, and several Michelin star restaurants have been tested this time around as well. This one so far is our favourite for its combination of excellent food, wine, service, and atmosphere. The people were excellent, the vibe was good tension between old world on the outside and modern, clean and simple on the inside. The wine pairings we had with our menu choices were perfect, and the sommelier both knew his business and had a great personality and sense of humor which you don't always find at Michelin restaurants. The food was inspired, cannot recommend highly enough the crab, the salmon, and the prawn dishes. The pineapple mousse dessert was also amazing, the cheese selections varied and excellent. Zero complaints.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank LostinSpace2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Lievre Gourmand also viewed

 
Orleans, Loiret
Orleans, Loiret
 
Orleans, Loiret
 

Been to Restaurant Le Lievre Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing