We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Hotel de l'Abeille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abeille
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I appreciated my stay at Hotel de l'Abeille. The room that I got was fairly small but still big enough for one person. It is nicely decorated in old French style. The breakfast is very nice with a good variety of things to choose from. You can overhear noises from other rooms – I guess that part comes with old buildings. The only thing that I would suggest to the hotel would be to invest in a fire alert system in all rooms and maybe also a sprinkler system in every room. Those to things might not provide any more comfort but if something happens you appreciate these features a lot and fires do happen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrdotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 352 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderfully stylish boutique hotel slap bang in the heart of Orléans. We used it as a single night pit-stop whilst driving the length of the country, but I'm sorry we couldn't stay longer. Our three (superior) rooms were beautifully decorated & appointed in wonderfully eccentric extreme French 3rd Empire style. The staff were extremely helpful (and Anglophone, although this wasn't an issue in our case), and operate a 24 hour concierge service. Be warned, however: the hotel has no restaurant, and even on a Saturday night, finding one open after 2200 in Orléans is difficult if not impossible. Ask the reception for recommendations, and make your booking early-all the good restaurants are within easy (10 mins) walking distance...
Our rooms were booked at only 24 hours' notice, so we paid the full rate of E110.00, but there are better deals available. For such a classy hotel, however, in the centre of town, even this is a bargain!..We felt, however, that charging a further E11.50 for a cup of coffee and a cold croissant was a little cheeky (why can't the gastro-obsessive French improve their breakfasts?), even if this was available from 0700 on a Sunday morning...

Room Tip: The tram service runs late-choose a back room if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adams5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this lovely small hotel in a family suite - there was enough room for 3..but I'm not sure where the 5 would go as advertised! My only problem would be that the hotel was old and creaky and every step you took at night creaked all the old floorboards. Small issue though...the hotel was gorgeous and the staff really helpful. Good breakfast and a very central location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katharine1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thanks Tripadvisor and critics for leading us to this gem. Marvellous rooms decorated with antique furniture in impeccable traditional taste. The staff were amazingly friendly and really went the extra mile to be of service. The breakfast is complete and lovingly laid out. It was unforgettable experience and on of it, very reasonably priced.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in route to to Burgundy. The staff was pleasant, the decor was charming, the room offered a small balcony overlooking the pedestrian street, and it was reasonably priced. However, we have two complaints. First, the room (room 110) and bathroom are incredibly small, even by European standards. We did notice some of the other rooms as we walked by and they seemed to be more spacious. Second, there's no lift and no one offered to assist us with our luggage. It's a fine hotel for a one-night stay.

Room Tip: Wifi is weak so choose a room on one of the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobo75007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a long drive from Germany (en route to a few days in Normandie) we arrived at l'Abeille.
We were welcomed warmly and soon found our way to our 3rd floor room, Beautiful! Great view of Orleans and so well designed, LoiusXVI style, just gorgeous.
We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and this hotel is absolute gem. Beautiflly appointed, well run and totally relaxed. Cannot reccomend this place enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It has a really nice decoration and the staff is quite kind but I didn´t like that the "special organic breaksfast" they served wasn´t actually organic!! And it costs 11 extra euros. Great location, small but nice room. It should have shampoo and soap in the bathroom.

Orleans is a great place to go on vacations..

Room Tip: Small rooms, good price, great location, but go have breakfast in other place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orleans hotels
0.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Orleans
Hotel D'Orleans
#1 of 31 in Orleans
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#2 of 31 in Orleans
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#5 of 31 in Orleans
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel D'Arc
Best Western Hotel D'Arc
#13 of 31 in Orleans
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abeille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abeille

Address: 64 rue d Alsace Lorraine, 45000, Orleans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in Orleans
Price Range: $96 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Abeille 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de l'Abeille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abeille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing