We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location but some issues with accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La demeure Saint-Ours
Ranked #5 of 11 Loches B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Difficult to find as rue du Chateau (at the front of the property) is a pedestrianised street and rue (des Fosses) St. Ours (at the back of the property) can only be approached from the south west (via Mail de la Poterie) - avoid the town centre. There is free parking at the top of rue St. Ours or alternatively c.100mtrs down this road (both c.50mtrs. from B & B). The B & B is rather an odd sort of place as it seems to have once been 2 houses on 2 streets but joined by a creaky but fascinating 16th C. staircase. We stayed in the somewhat quirky 'chambre Jeune' at the top of the staircase but it was rather chilly (mid-Sept. - no heat in radiator). The room was reasonably large but with nowhere much to put clothes and the washing and toilet facilities were only partially screened from the rest of the room. There was no light above the shower and the toilet was dreadfully positioned under a sloping ceiling so that you couldn't stand up to use it. The B & B owner was pleasant and helpful and breakfast in a room on the ground floor was fairly good. Can't rate the place very highly (perhaps other rooms are better), although it's central position is ideal for exploring Loches (a really pretty and interesting town).

Room Tip: Avoid 'chambre Jeune' unless you're happy to sit down to use the toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great friendly service in this B&B. In a great location with free parking nearby, we were able to wander the ancient town of Loches. Our room had character, lots of artwork ( the owner has a gallery)and our bathroom had an Arabian touch. Breakfast was beautiful with plenty to eat and was served in the dining room. The authentic 15th century stairs that we needed to climb to get to our room, could be a challenge for some older visitors but Claude was so helpful that I am sure he would help. His recommendation for dinner was excellent and we were able to avoid the tourist menu. Although we only had one night at this delightful B&B we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were passing through the Loire Valley en route to catch a ferry. After a 15 hour drive, we wanted to stay somewhere that had a little bit of character (not a character-less motorway hotel.)

I contacted the owners by email and explained that we would be arriving late. The B&B is located above a small art gallery on one of the main streets in Loches. The owners don't appear to live on site, but came down to meet us. We were led through the (very nice) gallery into a quaint older building, the staircase was still the original and 400 years old! The room we were given was lovely and huge - three beds, a kitchenette and a decent bathroom. The decor was very tasteful and it overlooked the main street.

The location is superb and the price is reasonable. We paid €60 for the night in the room with breakfast. The owner could not have done more to make our visit more enjoyable. He joined us for breakfast and was so friendly and had plenty of advice about the Loire Valley and it's environs.

Parking is up the road in a public carpark and is free. There is also limited on street parking at the back door of the B&B.

I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to others who will be travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre jaune est la plus pittoresque,poutres apparentes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 160tatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Valeric22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vin1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loches
0.5 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#2 of 4 in Loches
209 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Blere
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 4 in Loches
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Brit Hotel Loches
#3 of 3 in Loches
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Closerie Saint Jacques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La demeure Saint-Ours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La demeure Saint-Ours

Address: 11 rue du Chateau, 37600, Loches, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Loches
Price Range: $95 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La demeure Saint-Ours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing