We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage in a beautiful medieval town...”
other travelers have booked this property
Very Special Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Very Special Place
Lounge Parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Very Special Place
Lounge
Parking
the Cottage is dated 15 th century, and totally restored, with plenty of historic monuments around
in the oldest and nicest restored historic part of Loches : you are back to Medieval times.!
The entrance of the cottage gives on a calm, dead end, peaceful street under the royal chateau
At night, the view on ligthen Royal Chateau of Loches, is magic from the cottage's lounge.
Same for night view from bedroom over Cathedral Saint Ours, 10th century, very close.
Romantic lounge front the fireplace, overlooking outside, the Royal chateau
Day sight over Maison de l'Argentier du roy, and the Royal Chateau of Loches, where was Joan of Arch
View from the yard gate toward Royal Chateau of Loches
The private terrace and its teack set, to enjoy meals overlooking the valley from 12th century wall
Private yard, access to the private terrace
180° view on the topiaries, yews and boxwoods, and overlooking the valley
Royal Chateau at night
Our garden, 'à la francaise', rose garden, topiaries,plus, a full organic vegetable one with hens.
Kitchen
Toilets independant
large bathroom
very large bedroom
Access ground floor
entrance
Possible in front of the house
centre of the loire valley
centre of loire wine valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Robin B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous cottage in a beautiful medieval town full of character”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having stayed in the knights cottage for one week we would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying in the Loire valley. The cottage is in an amazing location in a fabulous old building. Full of character the cottage is very well equipped, despite its age including a dishwasher and washing machine. Siting on the outdoor terrace was a delight, looking over the valley in a beautiful tranquil garden.

The hosts make you feel very welcome.

Loche is a perfect location, all the key sights of the loire valley are easily accessible. Loche itself is one of the highlights of the area with its royal city. There is also an excellent market on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

We had a perfect week, simply nothing could have been better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thank you for this full five green circles' review...and your very nice recommendation for our vacation rental "Gite du Chevalier", ("Knight's Cottage" in English), we had a great pleasure to help you for living "as french way of life" for a week.
Thank you to notice how this place is peaceful in spite of being, town centered location ; it makes it so convinient for romantic walks or, just few meters to go to buy bread and "croissants" at street corner, or visit our wednesday and saturday (fabulous)market.
We should be happy to see you here again, in our nice region of Touraine... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSTravele...
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect French idle: great gite, great location, fabulous hosts.”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the Knight Cottage (le Gite du Chevalier) of l'Argentier du Roy for an all too brief week in May 2014. The apartment is incredible, the description on the website does not mislead. We particularly enjoyed the apartment’s beauty and how well kept it is. Everything functions perfectly. The terrace is incredible. We loved being able to walk down a path each morning for fresh croissants and fabulous bread at an artisanal bakery. The bi-weekly market provided us with delicious dinners and picnics. Loches and the surrounding countryside is gorgeous. We used the location to tour the Loire and it’s chateau, and it worked very well for that. Philippe and Christine are perfect hosts. The only problem is we couldn’t move in for the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautifully the gite complimented the stay at Loches and touring the Loire Valley.
Liked least: The many stairs could be a problem for those who have trouble with them.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for this new full five green circles' review...speaking of us so nicely, we can.and shall continue to give the best value for our guests, and the feeling you had, discovering a special adress...which is.!..we live there everyday, and had never regret to have left Paris few years ago. We're in the fairy tale history now...
You are right to precise that we are in the centre, it is so convenient for having the restaurants, shops, services, all at walking distance, from our very peaceful house and garden location. The town of Loches is , with all its pedestrian and medieval streets, fantastic, for that : a preserved gem of history, with a fantastic atmosphere.
We are very proud to have brought to you the best of our region, and its treasures, to make you and your husband, to love it.
We will be pleased to see you again, one day, you'll be welcome back in " La Maison de l'Argentier du roy", in Loches - Loire Valley ... Enjoy Life ...Christine & Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favnet
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

This was a perfect place to stay in Loches, close enough to walk into the village and quiet enough to park outside of the gite. This ancient gite had been lovingly restored to a high standard while still retaining its character. It also provides a outside space for your eclusive use where we often ate lunch or sat with a glass of wine. The owners were extremely welcoming and kind. We highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The medieval feel of the property
Liked least: Internet connection not reliable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2014
Thank you for this full five green circles' review...and your very nice recommendation for our vacation rental "Gite du Chevalier", ("Knight's Cottage" in English), we remember you very well and had a great pleasure to help you for living "as french way of life" for a week.
Thank you to notice how this place is peaceful in spite of being, town centered location ; it makes it so convinient for romantic walks or, just few meters to go to buy bread and "croissants" at street corner, or visit our wednesday and saturday (fabulous)market.
We'd be happy to see to see you here again, one day... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMWDorset...
Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at this gite in June 2014. It really is a great base to stay in, very comfortable bed, well fitted kitchen, lovely garden to eat out in. It was very clean and in good condition. The gite is a great location a short walk down a cobbled street from the cafés, restaurants and shops in Loches, which has a fantastic market on Wednesdays and Saturdays - and easy driving distance from numerous chateaux. Highly recommended for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: For me the garden !
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Thank you for this full five green circles' review...and your very nice recommendation for our vacation rental "Gite du Chevalier", ("Knight's Cottage" in English), where we had the pleasure to welcome you for a week.
We also thank everyday our choice to stay in that peaceful centered location ; it is so convinient here, and so much more comfortable to just have to walk, just few meters to buy bread and "croissants" in our fabulous bakery, at our street corner, or visit our wednesday and saturday extra-ordinary centered market, next to the house.
All of our gite's guests noticed it, and usually, always speak about it in their reviews, here on Tripadvisor, or on our guestbook.
Our very special location is a daily plaisure for us too.
The town of Loches is , with all its pedestrian and medieval streets, fantastic, for that too : a preserved gem of history, with a fantastic atmosphere.
We are very happy if you adopted a bit of our "french "art of living well" with great local products, breads, cheeses and fabulous local wines... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Christ...
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2018
Danke Christoph, es war uns eine Freude, Sie in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen. Wir hoffen, Sie wiederzusehen, mit all Ihrer kleinen Familie. Bis bald ... Philippe und Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing