We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Gite in a beautiful area”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Bergerie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Oddsocks2...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Gite in a beautiful area”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The owner Stephanie, who spoke excellent English, was extremely helpful and informative. The Gite itself was very well equipped with all the mod cons you would expect for a comfortable stay and a lovely mix of traditional and new. The Loire valley is a stunning area of France with some beautiful chateaux and towns. Both Loches and Tours are well worth a visit, especially the old historic quarters - some excellent eating places in both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable
Liked least: No shops, bars etc within walking distance.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean s
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming little cottage”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with friends for 3 days during our tour of the Loire. The cottage is beautifully renovated with modern amenities whilst retaining the charm of La Bergerie. There are adequate cooking facilities, namely a 4 burner hob and a microwave. There are no English instructions for the appliances however, and we were unable to fathom out the microwave. Our cooking was done on a small BBQ. Charcoal was supplied!
Unfortunately the weather during our stay was not good and we were unable to take advantage of the grounds surrounding the property. The seating inside is very pretty but in keeping with the cottage very small so it is difficult for large people to be comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tasteful cottage renovation
Liked least: Size of lounge furniture
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarsideBe...
County Wexford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Retreat in the French Countryside”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here in June.
A perfect location for leaving the pressures of the world behind you.
The owner Stephanie was very friendly and helpful.
The cottage has one large double bedroom upstairs and a bedroom with twin beds (four posters) downstairs.
I would suggest the downstairs bedroom is more suitable for small people.
The bathroom / shower is downstairs.
The stairs are fairly steep so care should be taken when ascending or descending. Maybe not ideal for older people
The cottage is fully equipped.
However be warned the TV/DVD / Microwave instructions are in French.
Outside there is a table (seats 4 comfortably) and a small barbeque.
You are not overlooked in spacious gardens.
Deck chairs are provided but maybe some more comfortable garden loungers would be an improvement.
The cottage is set in a very quiet location and when sitting outside morning, noon or night we hardly saw a soul.
The local village is just a short walk (10 mins) but there isn't a lot there.
Loches (10 minutes drive) is a lovely old town/city with plenty to recommend it.
Some wonderful old buildings and some good cafes and restaurants.
There also two large supermarkets on the outskirts of Loches and a Market twice a week.
Further afield the area offers some beautiful chateaux and plenty of vineyards offering tastings.
I would recommend Cave Des Producteurs de Vouvray for a wine cellar tour.
Interesting, cheap, and no pressure to purchase.
I would recommend this cottage if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: Lack of English to operate some amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaynaB
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lovely place to relax!”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week and had a lovely time. Gite is full of character and nicely presented with good amenities. Just 10 minutes drive from Loches where there are lots of restaurants and a fantastic chateau plus a great market. Super location for visiting the Loire and a very friendly and helpful owner. Sitting outside listening to the birds sing whilst eating dinner made from produce bought from the local market was just wonderful!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterE905...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous secluded cottage in the heart of the Loire”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for just over a week with my partner and two teenagers. I loved this place. It is quiet, about one kilometre to the nearest village and about ten kilometres to the nearest town (Loches). The cottage itself s a charming rustic building with modern amenities. We used it as a central location for doing day trips to the various chateaux's and wineries scattered across the central Loire region. We prepared a lot of our own meals - the market in Loches is great for stocking up on fresh food. The proprietor is lovely and helpful. I would definitely stay in this place again and highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olatz P
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocard N
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing