We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything Needed to Be Home Away From Home”
garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
private garden garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
garden
private garden
garden
garden
indipendent entrance
studio
studio
studio
studio - 160 x 200 bed
studio
studio
bathroom with shower
bathroom with shower
bathroom with shower
private garden
private garden
garden
Lilli
garden
garden
garden
aerial Loches view and property location
panoramic view from the garden
the romantic dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jill S
2 reviews
“Everything Needed to Be Home Away From Home”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Villa a ;l'ancien Pigeonnier is steps away from everything- sights and restaurants. Parking was never an issue (and free!). We had a large room that included a kitchenette and dining area. We had everything needed to cook, ea,t and relax after each day of sightseeing. It was very clean with a comfortable king-sized bed. The room opened to a lovely private garden. Sylvia was always nearby to help with anything. We were very thankful that we were able to use her laundry room at no additional charge, Villa a ;l'ancien Pigeonnier will definitely be somewhere to return to again for another stay in Loches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cozy and private
Liked least: We have nothing that we did not like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Dear Jill & Eric
many thanks for your so kind review and for your choice to stay some days with me!
Will be great to have you in the futur and suggest you other secret unusual paths through history and nature…
All the best to you two,
Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reubun
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at the Pigeonnier”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier. Silvia was so welcoming and kind. The studio was comfortable and perfect for our needs. Enjoyed relaxing in the private gardens. Studio's situation in Loches was ideal and we thought Loches was a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and convenient situation in Loches
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
Dear Louise et Alan, sometimes it would take more time to know each other better ... I'm glad you were able to enjoy your little holiday and I hope to welcome you back again in the future !
Many thanks,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam G
Rocklin, California
1 review
“Lovely Apartment in a Beautiful Secret Garden”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved our stay with Sylvia in the heart of Loches, convenient to explore the Loire valley. She was very gracious and helpful, providing us with tips to best experience the area. The apartment had a very comfortable, king bed, fully equipped kitchen, dining table and chairs, and nice shower (also had plug-ins in the bathroom, which we found were very rare in France). She also allows use of the washing machine and clothes line. The best part was the gorgeous flower garden complete with sitting area and secret stair down to the street below via the Dovecoat. We spent some magical time looking over the city at dawn and dusk. You could walk up the hill to the Donjon and Royal Palace, and a short stroll downhill took you to cafes, shops, and groceries. Perfect location for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the garden
Liked least: A couple of folding luggage racks would have been helpful, but there was an armoire.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Somethimes the feeling arises immediately, as if we had always known.... it’s what I felt with you and it was so good ! How you said, here you'll find your "home away from home" whenever you want... it will wonderful to welcome you again ! Thank you for all, Silvia, Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYsuz
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secret Garden in Loches!”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to France and we had the pleasure of staying in the studio apartment for three nights. This beautiful apartment was absolutely perfect for our stay in Loches. The apartment is within walking distance to wonderful restaurants and boulangeries. The WiFi is excellent, the shower is wonderful with plenty of hot water, the bed is so comfortable, washer and dryer are available, and the garden! There are no words to describe the beautiful garden right outside the door. We enjoyed the wine Silvia gave us on arrival as we sat at our own garden table under the bluest of skies. We also enjoyed Lilli, Silvia's dear small dog who kept us company. Silvia was a pleasure to work with as we made plans from the US. She responded promptly to all emails and answered all our questions quickly. We look forward to a return trip to this very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Working with Silvia and the location of the apartment in Loches. Within walking distance to everything.
Liked least: Everything was wonderful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2015
There Susan, I was moved to read you : it's touching to meet people who rejoice in your house and enjoy living spaces that you created for them… everything was so pleasant and simply gentle with you !
I wait patiently for the next time…
Kisses,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcorns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming & historic apartment with beautiful garden”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in L' Ancien Pigeonnier. It is a small & cosy apartment with everything you need for two people. The apartment is the ground floor of an historic house located very close to the Chateau. We were able to park our car outside in the free on street car park, the shops and the twice weekly market are just a few minutes walk.

There's lots to see in Loches and the surrounding area but we were really lucky with the weather and we spent most afternoons sitting in the garden soaking up the sun.

The only reason for not giving the apartment 5 stars is that the bath is only separated from the bedroom by a screen, which is not to my personal taste. There is a separate toilet and wash basin.

We loved it and hope to return in the near future

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Dear Nicola, thank you for your warm and complete review. I hope me too to welcome you two again in my Villa and find you in the evening, exchanging the experiences of the day…
Many good things to you two,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique accommodation”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for 2 nights but wished we'd stayed longer. Very clean, and unique studio surrounded by a beautiful cottage garden...With delicious figs! Silvia was very helpful. The best bit was the entry thru an old dovecoat... amazing!
Thanks for having us, we hope to see you again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2014
Dear Meredith and Steve, thank you very much for your pleasant and smiling stay “chez moi”!
Your eyes bright and excited worth a stop far richer to enjoy the beauty of the area…
Please do not hesitate to contact me to design a breathtaking holiday with visits to the most famous monuments and to pretty medieval villages, with romantic boat rides on inland waterways and exciting ballooning, with paragliding rides side by side with birds in flight and concerts in unique frames of ancient kiosks and amphitheatres…
All the best to you two!
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique,quaint and delightful”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier is a unique rental in Loches, France.This charming establishment is situated in the centre of a medieval village,and our studio apartment is within a walled area,the first defence of the castle.
A delightful garden is part of this private residence, and we enjoyed a glass of wine whilst looking over the village.
The studio is well suited for a single or double,self contained kitchen,bathroom area. It is small but for our 3 day stay it was excellent.
Our host Silvia was very gracious,had excellent knowledge of region,and even picked us up from train station! Very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
I'm delighted to be able to welcome even if with some logistical arrangement! The opportunity to meet and be dating you has been very rewarding and touching. Even though the miles between us are really many, I do not despair of, one day, be able to hug you again...
a big THANK YOU
S&L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing