We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Royal City of Loches
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Loches
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In the royal city, you can visit the dungeons and a royal lodge.
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Easy access to the chateau and very good information.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    274
    50
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loches, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chateau of Loches”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our local Chateau in the pretty medieval town of Loches. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank nixeyinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great medieval castle, nice people”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a spectacular, truly medieval castle. You can walk up the many stories of the castle (though try not to be too tall!) and then look down on the inside. You can also visit the places where prisoners were held and/or tortured. But one of the highlights of the visit was when a local official, seeing me view the salamander crest of Francis I, asked if he could help. I got guided tours of parts of the medieval/Renaissance parts of the town not normally open to the public. Way to go!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“From dungeon to donjon, it takes you back to medieval real time.”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My favorite castle trip in the entire Loire Valley. This is a test of your castle 101 and more. So much to explore. Spend at least half a day here. The keep is bare skeleton ( ruins) and the climb to the top- holy moly- is the most scary ever than any thrill ride I ever had. And the dungeons? The most impressive elaborate dungeon system I've ever seen. If you've seen a lot of medieval castles in Hollywood movies- this whole complex is the real deal. Be prepared for some information overload in one visit. The roads to the top of the hill are extremely narrow so be prepared to stop if another car is coming your way.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Staying Here - One of the Best We have Ever Stayed At”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

EVERYTHING./ Do not miss staying with the most wonderful couple. We never could have managed without them.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal City of Loches also viewed

 

Been to Royal City of Loches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing