We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday in delightful location”
other travelers have booked this property
garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
private garden garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
73 reviews
garden
private garden
garden
garden
Loches aerial view
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
private garden
garden
garden
private garden
private garden
official entrance
Lilli
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
annec5352
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in delightful location”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a ten day holiday in this great apartment in a very peaceful location in the centre of Loches. Silvia was a charming and helpful host, with loss of suggestions for things to do in the area. The apartment was lovely, and had everything needed for a couple or young family - particular mention should be made of the very comfortable bed! There is a a beautiful private garden to relax in. Loches is a great little town, with a twice weekly market, and some lovely restaurants and shops. It is also a great base to explore the chateaux of the Loire valley - my particular favourite was Chenonceau, unbelievably beautiful. Last but not least, we really enjoyed the company of Silvia's lovely pets, Lilli and Glenda! Thank you Silvia for a magical experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2014
Anne & John,
it has been a really great emotion for us too to meet you… wait for the evening to share the day’s experiences… talk about politics, animals, countries, history, peoples, origins… all that makes just ‘family’…
It’s such a great satisfaction to know that my loved guests found themselves here like at home and leave for home with a magical souvenir of the moments spent here!
A big thanks to you two!!
Silvia, Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysmyd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A wonderful break in the studio. The private garden is beautiful and the studio very comfortable with some lovely touches. Excellent situation in the very centre of town with enchanting access to the street via the pigeonnier. Our host, Silvia, was delightful and attentive throughout our stay and we couldn’t recommend highly enough. We will definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2014
Thanks to you, Emma & Ken! A wonderful experience for me to meet you, to know your liking, your humor, your cordiality…
Awaiting you for the next time, I wish you never change yourself!! Love, Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky, homely apartment in a great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent two weeks exploring and thoroughly enjoying this fantastic medieval town and all its' history,returning 'home' to the charm, comfort and very friendly hospitality of Silvia and the beautiful Lilli. Great location to just walk into the township or to explore further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and owner interaction
Liked least: Not enough hot water for showers.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2014
Many thanks to you, dear friends came from afar… Thanks to your kindness, your discretion, your curiosity about the origins of the “Villa”… I liked very much the way you share your life at home with me!
Maybe next time together…
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Host-Great Stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Had a wonderful stay due to the Host Silvia going beyond the call of duty in helping in us in a number of situations including us wrecking the hire car! The premises ideal for a small family or a couple. can accommodate two couples but only one bathroom which is en-suite to main bedroom. Situated inside the outer wall of Loches Castle! Have your own garden area and plenty of parking right outside. History all around you. Just a few mins stroll to the village centre as you are basically in the village anyway. You do not really need a hire car if your content to explore the castle, medieval village, museum etc.
We are looking forward to returning here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Host
Liked least: Banging my head on low doorways( i am 6ft 6 inch )
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2014
Dears Chris & Jacquetta, it’s touching read of you and watch the photos of you two in my garden! I thank you for the kind notes you have made of your stay “chez moi” and Lilli and I really hope to see you again and greeting you with love!
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSSimon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly placed to explore mediaeval Loches, welcoming hostess and restaurants and shops a few minutes' walk away.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The owner,Silvia, did everything to make us comfortable and welcome.The apartment is well-equipped and is right next to the mediaeval walls of Loches. A very short walk takes you to the historic centre of the town or to local shops and restaurants where we had some delicious meals before coming back to relax in the peaceful garden. We hired a car and were easily able to explore the wider area and there is also a train station in the town.We would definitely go back again.

There are steep steps to get into the property.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2013
Jane & Dave, thank you for your gentle curiosity about the origins of the house and the renovations made. Thanks for the daily little chats exchanged in the garden on your return in evening, for the solar and caring presence of Jane, and the serious and detailed questions of Dave….
We really hope to welcome you again!
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msaev
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I don't think we could have any better time than we did in this truly lovely and charming Apartment. Even in October the garden was delightful to enjoy cocktails and I could see that, in season, the flowers and vegetation would be spectacular. The Apartment itself was perfect for our needs. Very Comfortable with all the comforts of home. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking our dinners and I slept like a baby every night in a most quiet bedroom and comfortable bed. Though we did not have occasion to use it, it was nice to have a laundry room available should it be needed. We had the most warm welcome from our hostess, Silvia and her adorable little dog Lilli and playful little cat Glenda.

Sivia has done a remarkable job of renovating this very historical home, she has put her heart and soul into this place. I think that is why it truly felt like "home" at the end of long days of touring the surrounding area. Loches itself was also a highlight. It is a wonderful historic and market town. The local people who we had contact with were so friendly and very open and helpful. Market Days (Wed. and Sat.) were thrilling! Everything you can think of is available. The location of this property in Loches was perfect to get around this darling town and the parking location and access were a breeze. I would think if one found themself coming to this area of France, you would not be disappointed in staying here at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Your visit, Annie & Kate, was just unforgettable and I had “chez moi” two friends, not only the guests… See your happiness returning in the evening in “your sweet little home” after a day full of sightseeing, it’s just wonderful and it warms the heart!
Thank you to caught the spirit of love with which I renovated the house and I started this business, or rather this choice of a new life…
I sincerely hope to be able to hug you one day and I wish you all the best for your life and yours future plans!!
Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn H
Geelong
1 review
“Charming historical villa in garden setting”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier very much. Loches is a picturesque village with fantastic history, we are very pleased we decided to visit. The comfortable and charming lodgings made this one of the most memorable stops on our holiday. Also worth mentioning, the comfortable bed and complimentary bottle of wine and condiments our host left for us. The cooking facilities come in handy after a trip to the market. Sylvia has also compiled visitor information in several languages. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden setting and charming villa
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Dear Carolyn and Jason, welcome guests delicious like you who come to visit you from the other side of the word is simply exciting and touching… I’m glad you’ve been living in my studio with the ease and comfort of a real home and we will always receive you with open arms and paws in your future journey in the Old World! Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing