We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly placed to explore mediaeval Loches...”
other travelers have booked this property
garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
private garden garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
71 reviews
garden
private garden
garden
garden
Loches aerial view
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
private garden
garden
garden
private garden
private garden
official entrance
Lilli
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DSSimon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly placed to explore mediaeval Loches, welcoming hostess and restaurants and shops a few minutes' walk away.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The owner,Silvia, did everything to make us comfortable and welcome.The apartment is well-equipped and is right next to the mediaeval walls of Loches. A very short walk takes you to the historic centre of the town or to local shops and restaurants where we had some delicious meals before coming back to relax in the peaceful garden. We hired a car and were easily able to explore the wider area and there is also a train station in the town.We would definitely go back again.

There are steep steps to get into the property.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2013
Jane & Dave, thank you for your gentle curiosity about the origins of the house and the renovations made. Thanks for the daily little chats exchanged in the garden on your return in evening, for the solar and caring presence of Jane, and the serious and detailed questions of Dave….
We really hope to welcome you again!
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msaev
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I don't think we could have any better time than we did in this truly lovely and charming Apartment. Even in October the garden was delightful to enjoy cocktails and I could see that, in season, the flowers and vegetation would be spectacular. The Apartment itself was perfect for our needs. Very Comfortable with all the comforts of home. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking our dinners and I slept like a baby every night in a most quiet bedroom and comfortable bed. Though we did not have occasion to use it, it was nice to have a laundry room available should it be needed. We had the most warm welcome from our hostess, Silvia and her adorable little dog Lilli and playful little cat Glenda.

Sivia has done a remarkable job of renovating this very historical home, she has put her heart and soul into this place. I think that is why it truly felt like "home" at the end of long days of touring the surrounding area. Loches itself was also a highlight. It is a wonderful historic and market town. The local people who we had contact with were so friendly and very open and helpful. Market Days (Wed. and Sat.) were thrilling! Everything you can think of is available. The location of this property in Loches was perfect to get around this darling town and the parking location and access were a breeze. I would think if one found themself coming to this area of France, you would not be disappointed in staying here at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Your visit, Annie & Kate, was just unforgettable and I had “chez moi” two friends, not only the guests… See your happiness returning in the evening in “your sweet little home” after a day full of sightseeing, it’s just wonderful and it warms the heart!
Thank you to caught the spirit of love with which I renovated the house and I started this business, or rather this choice of a new life…
I sincerely hope to be able to hug you one day and I wish you all the best for your life and yours future plans!!
Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn H
Geelong
1 review
“Charming historical villa in garden setting”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier very much. Loches is a picturesque village with fantastic history, we are very pleased we decided to visit. The comfortable and charming lodgings made this one of the most memorable stops on our holiday. Also worth mentioning, the comfortable bed and complimentary bottle of wine and condiments our host left for us. The cooking facilities come in handy after a trip to the market. Sylvia has also compiled visitor information in several languages. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden setting and charming villa
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Dear Carolyn and Jason, welcome guests delicious like you who come to visit you from the other side of the word is simply exciting and touching… I’m glad you’ve been living in my studio with the ease and comfort of a real home and we will always receive you with open arms and paws in your future journey in the Old World! Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
Weesp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great studio in medieval surroundings”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The location of the studio is great, in the middle of the centre of Loches, but it's also quiet enough to sit in the garden with a book. The house and garden are absolutely gorgious. We love the town of Loches, not too touristic and not too quiet. The medieval centre is very nice. Lively market twice a week in walking distance. Also supermarket and restaurants very near. You can go swimming, cycling, touring by car. The landlady is very kind and the service is excellent. The studio is a bit small but well-equiped.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden.
Liked least: The size of the studio.
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Dear Jaqueline and Jelle, it was very nice to see you enjoy the garden, sunbathe on the lawn, immersed in reading, have a drink and talking together… Thanks for our many exchanges, and yours suggestions to improve my service!
I hope to give to you another time the chance to relax you in my garden after a year of hard work…
All the best to you two,
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jampearce...
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic charm, excellent location and superb hospitality!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier is a charming historical property that dates back to the 9th Century. It is located in the centre of Loches very near the entrance to the Chateau and just meters away from restaurants and shops. Free parking is available across the street against the Chateau wall.The property currently has a two bedroom apartment and a studio, both with access to its beautiful English-style garden. When I inquired about booking the apartment for 5 days in July, it had already been booked and the owner, Silvia, generously offered us her apartment as we required two separate bedrooms. We jumped at the opportunity and this stay was one of the highlights of our trip! The property has been updated in a manner that retains its historical charm. It is clean, well-appointed and good value. Silvia is wonderful and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and ensure that we had what we needed. We felt like we were leaving a friend at the end of our stay. I would highly recommend this property for its uniqueness, comfort, location and hospitality and would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic character of the property, it's location and the superb hospitality.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Leave my private part of the house to Donna and Jo-Anne was a natural and spontaneous gesture towards two women who faced a long journey to come to me: what an honor! … and I quickly realized that I had not made a better choice ! Immediately appeared two friends came to see me from afar…
A gift from Paris to thank me, together to the public garden concert, with the nose up to watch the spectacle of fireworks for the French National Day…
When are you back again????? We miss you…
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert186...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming property in excellent location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Conveniently situated near the centre of the historic town of Loches. The apartment is part of an old house which the new owner has recently upgraded while retaining the character and quirky nature. The property had everything we required but as we were two couples the fact that the only access to the toilet was through the main bedroom was not ideal, this would not be a problem for a family. The reasonable rental price reflected this limitation.The weather was beautiful during our stay and so we were able to make full use of the private garden.There was parking at the front of the property. Silvia, the owner, was superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, historic nature of property, garden.
Liked least: Location of bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Living the house with my four English guests – the first ever to have booked a holiday at the “Villa”!! – was very pleasant. The excellent balance between privacy and cordial exchanges, made it the ideal coexistence, leaving a sad emptiness when they leaved…
Thanks to Trudy for your valuable suggestions in the hope (the mine and Lilli’s!) to be able another time to welcome you here “chez nous”!! Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIE1863...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We loved our stay in Silvie’s apartment within the old walls of Loches. A perfect place to stay!
The apartment was very clean, quiet and perfect for 2 people.
Our garden was wonderful in the vision of an English cottage garden, private with a great view over the roofs.
We were within the walled town and only a short walk away were bakeries for our fresh bread and croissants in the mornings with lovely restaurants nearby. Silvie was very generous, thoughtful, friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, ambiance of relaxation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2013
Marie et Nicholas… special guests for a week of delicate trade in our brief encounters in the garden, a cup of tea in hand walking among the roses… Magnifique souvenir!
Thank you for your smile, the generosity of your gestures and your ways, your class simply…
All the best to you two in the intimate desire to have you back here...
Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing