We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stable

The Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Twin bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Spacious dining room and kitchen
Dining room and wood burning stove
Lounge
Double bedroom
Downstairs shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne A
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I could use all the usual cliches such as wonderful, idyllic, perfect and they would all be true. But still wouldn't do this amazing handful of paradise justice. A total rural France experience with the perfect hosts too. I would definitely recommend it and would love to return!

It was the little things that made a difference, uk and French power points, local recommendations and help booking restaurants, on site hosts but not intrusive, a bottle on wine on arrival :) free on site washing facilities, crockery and mod cons, plus log fires in each property. Clean, inviting rooms and a heated pool. Wonderful time had by all.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeline...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, Restful and relaxing and sheer luxury !!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a beautiful location, surrounded by sunflower fields. So pretty. The Gite's are all luxurious with excellent facilities. All the kitchen equipment is immaculate and of a very high quality, the beds are so comfortable and having been holidaying in Gite's since the 80's, that it such a bonus. If you are looking for a haven of tranquility, a restful and relaxing location you couldn’t do better than La Vieille Ferme.... highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the Pizza's !!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFami...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The accommodation, amenities, hosts and location were everything that we could have hoped for. The perfect gite holiday and more. Many thanks to Angela and Derek for a superb holiday. We think that we booked for next year while enjoying an aperitif in the garden there says it all!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete gite package.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location, beautiful accomodation and wonderful hosts made a perfect holiday!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Cléré du Bois is a small hamlet with picture-postcard surroundings..and on paper La Vieille Ferme had everything we were looking for. We chose this gite as it had all the facilities we needed for a month long stay..Wifi meant we could stay connected to our business in the UK, we could relax, swim in the pool, play table-tennis or badminton and we could hire bikes to explore the area. And, the holiday delivered on every level.

The gite and gardens were immaculate and well maintained. The covered pool was chlorine-free and warm. The traditional decor in the gite and all the extra touches provided made it a welcome and comfortable stay.

What the details don't tell you is about the wonderful hosts Angela and Derek who went out of their way to make our holiday special. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was booking tables at local restaurants, organising wine-tasting tours at the local vineyard, giving advice on lovely bike rides, lending maps and just having the time for a good chat.

What we liked best: The market at Loche
What we liked least: Leaving !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Stables and facilities were so much better than advertised, there were no disappointments.
Liked least: No negatives.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Angela and Derek and the pool
Liked least: two days rain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HolidayRo...
Worthing
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in a haven of tranquility”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

From the outset, we were impressed: our emails were promptly answered; the booking procedure was simplicity itself, particularly because payment is made in sterling through a British bank.

As the name La Vielle Ferme suggests, the owners (Angela & Derek) have skilfully & imaginatively converted farm buildings into stunning gites with all mod cons (shower rooms, fridge freezers, dishwashers, etc). Whilst we were there, we viewed all four properties (The Stable, The Grange, The Farmhouse and The Dairy). Each gite has been sympathetically & beautifully restored to create its own unique style & charm. They are all equipped to an extremely high standard.

The gites are situated in a small, quaint village complete with a bar/restaurant offering typical French cuisine at lunchtime at very reasonable prices – delicious! The evening menu consists of pizzas, pastas & salads. There is also an adjoining bakery for croissants, baguettes, etc -so convenient for breakfast items. This is all just a 2 minute walk from La Vielle Ferme.

It is a short drive to the nearest supermarkets & to places of interest.

During our stay, we hired bikes from Angela & Derek & had great fun exploring nearby little villages. The very quiet roads made us feel very safe.

We also thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the crystal clear, heated pool at La Vielle Ferme which overlooks the unspoilt countryside. The pool is surrounded by attractive sun terraces complete with sun loungers & parasols. Indeed, the whole site & properties are immaculately maintained.

Angela & Derek are lovely, welcoming people & so helpful. Our car developed a problem whilst staying at La Vielle Ferme which could have easily spoilt our holiday. Thankfully, Angela, who is bilingual, was happy to make phone calls on our behalf in order to help us to solve the problem.

I am usually cautious about offering recommendations because everyone has different expectations. However, if you appreciate the very best & want to spend your well-earned holiday in peaceful & truly beautiful surroundings, this is the place for you. I feel confident that I can recommend La Vielle Ferme unreservedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing