We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“gite,herbs and cuttings”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Double bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Double bedroom leading to ensuite
Fully equipped kitchen
Charming twin-bedded room with own shower room
Twin-bedded room
Lounge with wood-burning stove
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ducatismi...
Pas-de-Calais, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gite,herbs and cuttings”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely welcome, so glad to arrive after a long day. Angela even booked a very good local restaurant for us so no need to worry about a meal. Gite spotless, well equipped and Derek even supplied fresh herbs for cooking a meal at home, his garden is beautiful, he also gave me some cuttings to bring home. A lovely holiday despite lots of rain which definitely didn't stop play. Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: quite a drive to places, but lovely countryside
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back on a return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had fabulous week at The Farmhouse, with my wife Jill & sister Anne.
This place is all about the personal touch from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave.
Plenty of room, well equipped and comfortable. Angela & Derek are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble, just ask & if possible it's done. The swimming pool is an added bonus. There are loads of sun loungers, patio furniture, bbq's, even the sun was hot, not sure if that was down to Derek.
We were also shown round the three other properties all excellent. Will be hard pushed to select one next time we visit, because this place draws you back.
Great area for doing touristy things also.
Thanks Angela & Derek.
All the best
Jill, Anne & Mike

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the evening sun with a glass of wine. What more could you want.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your holiday and we will look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie L
Lightwater
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at The Farmhouse for the second week of our two week stay in France and it's fair to say we were very impressed by the location, a perfect small French hamlet tucked away but close enough to a main road as to be accessible.
The hosts, Derek and Angela, were very welcoming and showed us around their property which consists of four self contained gites. There is a great covered pool and a sun terrace, access to washing machine, barbecues and games.
The hamlet has a small patisserie less than a minutes walk where you can get fresh bread every day. There is a also a small restaurant alongside it but we didn't try it so cannot comment on the quality.
Our property was very clean and everything you could think of to enjoy our stay was provided. Great free wi-fi was provided which kept us all in touch with family and friends back home.
Very quiet relaxing place to unwind, friendly hosts and all in all a very enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in the Farmhouse and hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJRTOTO
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Farmhouse was exactly suited to our needs as a family of 4 with 2 children (13 and 11). The property and the gardens were well maintained and the swimming pool was clean and had a really lovely sun terrace beside it. The property sits in a quiet village location and is suitable to those who wish to entirely relax. There are various garden games to use around the property and a barbecue if wanted. The village has a shop which bakes tasty croissants and bread but it's best to order most food in advance as it seems a bit hit and miss when they have stock. The same goes for the pizza which is available from the same establishment.

We explored the towns and villages around Clere du Bois and found that Loches (plenty of restaurants and a good market) was probably the most interesting town in the region although there are many other things to do too. We visited Zooparc Beauval, Chateau Villandry, Chateau de I'Islette, an aquarium which were all great days out.
I think our time at the Farmhouse was made very special by our hosts Derek and Angela who were a very friendly and extremely approachable couple.

This was our first time in France and based on this experience we would definitely go back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun terrace and pool
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
“Picturesque village, peaceful lodgings, friendly hosts”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful time at La Vielle Ferme. The accommodations were lovely and Angela and Derek were always helpful. A great spot to enjoy rural French life and the castles of the Loire. We were there to enjoy the annual local fête. Great fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Angela and Derek's friendly presence. Derek's advice on the best things to do and history.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at La Vieille Ferme and the village fete and fireworks. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fogarasy
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wonderful chill out week”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and we keep thinking it can't get better but it does. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts taking care your every need . They continue to maintain and improve the gites and grounds in what can only be described as a little piece of heaven. Wonderful location and a wonderful week. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquility in this rural location
Liked least: i did not dislike anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect break for us, our teenage boys and baby girl”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We all had a fantastic weeks holiday staying in the Farmhouse. It had everything you could possibly need to make the perfect holiday. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts and have obviously invested a lot of time and thought into creating something that works well for any type of traveller. We would definitely come back and would also recommend to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Vieille Ferme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing