We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our wonderful chill out week”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Double bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Double bedroom leading to ensuite
Fully equipped kitchen
Charming twin-bedded room with own shower room
Twin-bedded room
Lounge with wood-burning stove
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fogarasy
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wonderful chill out week”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and we keep thinking it can't get better but it does. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts taking care your every need . They continue to maintain and improve the gites and grounds in what can only be described as a little piece of heaven. Wonderful location and a wonderful week. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquility in this rural location
Liked least: i did not dislike anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect break for us, our teenage boys and baby girl”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We all had a fantastic weeks holiday staying in the Farmhouse. It had everything you could possibly need to make the perfect holiday. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts and have obviously invested a lot of time and thought into creating something that works well for any type of traveller. We would definitely come back and would also recommend to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Vieille Ferme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S
Clinton, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“A stay at Vielle Ferme with its flower filled grounds, covered pool and restored buildings is a step back in time.”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Vielle Ferme grounds are lovely with more flowers than one can imagine in one place. Our house, the Farmhouse, built in the 1700's, was delightful with big timber supported ceilings, walls at least a foot thick, a pond out front with gold fish and little green frogs which welcomed us each morning and a big comfortable bed to relax in. Even better than our little pond was the glass covered swimming pool which we looked forward to each day. What a wonderful way to relax after a day spent exploring fortresses and chateaux! We love to cook and found the kitchen most accommodating.
Derek and Angela went out of their way to suggest out of the way places such as an almost unmarked Roman bridge from around 60 AD or a village with soaring castle and fortress ruins and a little restaurant with the best creeps in the world. They were the best hosts one could wish for; we stayed two weeks and that wasn't long enough. We were enchanted with this lovely place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the setting in a small rural village with an old church which chimed the hour. I also loved the farms and old villages we drove through on or way to each lovely chateau.
Liked least: There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this magical place.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superbly kept propery in a lovely location”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay. Good facilities all really well maintained. Relaxing pool, nice (empty road) bike rides. Many thanks to Angela & Derek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The help and welcome
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth591
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable. The swimming pool is superb! Lovely area to tour either in the car on cycling. Angela and Derek as ever excellent hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed the heated covered swimming pool and we look forward to your return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoccerPar...
Paris, France
1 review
“Magnifique”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived very stressed and tired after visiting sick family in England. Australia is home for us, our feeling was that we had found a peaceful haven with all the amenities you could wish for. The welcome pack was very extensive and contained everything you could need and more. Our hosts Angela and Derek were very welcoming and informative yet never intrusive.
The pool is excellent, it is covered so that when it is colder it is warm inside and when hot there is very good ventilation. At home we had pools in various houses, this one was particularly good as it is chlorine free with a special system in place. The sports equipment for table tennis, badminton, boules etc is in top condition, as are the bikes for hire.
The house and other houses are lovely, old and very well preserved in excellent condition as is the whole site. We loved the large gardens with beautiful flowers so imaginatively set out. There is a local boulangerie and restaurant, the lunchtime meal was very good and so reasonable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, peace and beauty of local countryside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph T
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect location for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our third stay at La Vieille Ferme, the second in The Farmhouse itself, and as ever there was nothing to disappoint us. We do not usually revisit the same place on holiday with our daughters, but this place is something else, and worth the visit every time. It is a guaranteed haven of tranquillity, and Angela and Derek, the hosts, are probably the nicest people you could ever be fortunate enough to meet. Their attention to detail in the gites is second to none, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We felt as if we were going back to see family - the nice type! - when we went this time. Our daughters of 16 and 19 feel the same, and thus it is perfect for all of us. The local restaurant run by Francoise is a welcome addition to the beautiful village, but the facilities in each gite are so comprehensive you can cook whatever you like and it feels like a real home for the period of your stay. We cannot recommend this location highly enough. You most certainly would not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet in a beautiful environment.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing