We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a waste.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel George Sand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel George Sand
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Loches
Cotes D'armor, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a waste.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Our 2 friends booked this place as they had eaten there some years previously- and all 4 of us decided we would not be returning. Absolutely great location, restaurant overhangs river in charming ancient town but ...same owner, different chef probably, indifferent staff & bedrooms badly in need of refurbishment. We know they were only 60 euros per room but the beds were too lumpy/soft, the rooms in the attics were very hot all night & very noisy early morning, as they are onto a main street. There are expensive (120 euros) ones at the back but unless one arrives in time to use them for a few hours before sleep, hardly worth the money. The stairs are ancient, stone ,circular & narrow- be warned anyone with big Delsey-type suitcases- no help is proffered.
Dinner menu is 21 or 39 euros, quite a gap in prices. We took one look at what could have been an atmospheric restaurant over the river (table not cleared since lunch in the middle) and decided on the cheaper one. Food was adequate, served by surly waitress; wine was expensive- nobody checked if all was o.k. We didn't linger, which is unusual.
Breakfast next day was 10euros 50 per person & rather a farce- one girl, seemingly inexperienced & not too quick; no sign of owner, even at checkout. One couple waited 10 minutes, finally went in search of staff & came back frowning with no staff following.
This was & could yet be an excellent place- one can excuse the tired bedrooms & traffic noise (the latter unavoidable) if only the owner/staff made you feel actually welcome & if the food was better, with a menu priced in-between 21 & 39 euros.

  • Liked — ummmmthe spiral staircase was original!!
  • Disliked — Lumpy bed dirty looking carpet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviesbagrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    29
    36
    23
See reviews for
29
84
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

Located at the foot of the walled city, this two star hotel has many charms (if you are fortunate to have a room facing the river) and a night of noise and traffic if you are placed in any of the non-air-conditioned rooms facing the busy road that fronts the hotel. The rooms are very plain and spartan, but clean. The restaurant over-looking the river and the breakfast are both big plusses, assuming you have been able to sleep.

  • Liked — The restaurant..excellent local food and setting on the river
  • Disliked — Noise from the street
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loches hotels

Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

While not the fault of this hotel, Loches is an old city, and the hotel reflects it. It must be difficult to retrofit such older facilities. The spiral staircase upstairs might be considered quaint but I found it troublesome. The ceilings were low, the room poorly lit, the carpet shabby, and the beds only adequate. Any hotel with a bright neon sign outside is suspect. While the street side of the hotel is worrisome, the back of the hotel does sit overlooking a wonderful little stream and park. The staff were neither extremely friendly nor rude, just somewhat indifferent.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank ABQtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in 1984, had a great time, and decided to return for sentimental reasons. What a disappointment. We had booked months in advance and asked specifically for rooms facing the river side (one for us and one for his mom). They gave us keys to two rooms on the street side, both of them dingy, smelly, and completely unappealing. My husband went back to the front desk and asked to be moved to the river side as requested. The lady at the front desk said the hotel was full, but she made changes on her chart and switched our rooms as requested, although you could tell she was quite inconvenienced by this. The riverside rooms of course had much better views, especially the huge one on the middle level where my mom-in-law stayed. You could hear the River Indre flowing over the spillway and see people fishing and some lovely woods on the horizon -- very nice.

Even though the hotel has apparently been remodeled at some point, it is showing its age, and not in a charming way. Our bed comforter had disgusting stains on it and the sheets were very thin. The bathroom was okay, even had an elegant washstand (why?!), but that wasn't enough to redeem this place. We were not encouraged by the very few patrons we saw going into the dining room, so we chose to get take-out pizza from down the street rather than eating at the hotel. Walking around Loches, we noticed that the entire town looked as though it had fallen on hard times. We did enjoy our breakfasts in the hotel's dining room, and most of the staff there were pleasant enough. But even after just 2 days, I couldn't wait to check out. I wouldn't say this was completely terrible (such a nice setting on the river), but it was less than okay. I would give it one and a half stars if that were an option.

  • Liked — nice view of the River Indre
  • Disliked — not clean enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed in this Hotel last September and again in June on our way back to the UK.

Our room, which was better than last year and overlooked the river, The room had been refurbished and was simple, clean but well appointed.

We had a hitch in that our internet booking through inter hotels had not been processed but because we were early and out of season they had room available.

The food was the same on both visits and was well presented and tasty although i could understand some people calling it fussy. On both our visits the hotel restaurant was full with French as well as British and other nationals. People who turned up without reservations were turned away. The menu was,perhaps,slightly more expensive than the some but the meal and atmosphere was woth it.

Breakfast was normal french fare

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Public parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Slowlane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

We found this hotel a few years ago and it proved an excellent stopover en route back to the Channel ports. The rooms were not that brilliant - beds, decoration etc. leaving a bit to be desired. This was more than made up for by the quality of the food.

This year, I was surprised not to find it in my Logis de France guide, but soon tracked it down at an internet cafe - it is now a member of Inter-Hotel. We decided to stick with it, just in case the chef had remained, and that really was the wrong decision. Perversely the rooms had been redecorated and bathroom refitted, so that side had improved.

I knew the restaurant had gone the other way immediately we walked in. There was no sign of the French families who normally filled the place, in fact very little sign of anyone else at all. The food was a BIG disappointment. Fussy with lots of flavours put together that had no right to be. My snails arrived looking like a chemistry set - deep fried and stuck on sticks with two different sauces (neither of which tasted very good or went with snails) actually in test-tubes. The mushrooms starter was deep-fried too. So were the balls of Nutella served as a dessert. I think the chef had got a deep-fat fryer for Christmas! It really was not very good at all.

  • Liked — Improved decor
  • Disliked — Bad restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2006

not as good as it seems to be. It doesn't deserve the 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loches
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 4 in Loches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
14.5 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Moulin des Cordeliers
1.0 mi away
Les Troglos de Beaulieu
0.1 mi away
La demeure Saint-Ours
La demeure Saint-Ours
#5 of 11 in Loches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Property: Hotel George Sand
Address: 39 rue Quintefol, 37600, Loches, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Loches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel George Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Sand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing