We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip highlight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy
Ranked #1 of 11 Loches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a lovely and relaxed experience.
Phillipe and Christine were very accommodating to our schedule and lovely
hosts. Our room had a beautiful sitting room and wonderful gardens out our
back door to the terrace. There was so much to see and enjoy in Loches, we wish we could
have stayed longer. Christine's breakfast were delicious and there were many
choices to chose from. Thank you for sharing your La Maison.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Java_Jan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you, Jan, for such a nice review on Tripadvisor, and your time to write it.
Hoo.!..Our Breakfast starts to be very famous, as numbers of fantastic reviews it collects now, here and on our home's guestbook. This is great..!..exactly what we like very much : to share the best of our region and many of its fabulous products. Not only with the very famous "Chateaux de la loire", closeby our " Maison de l'Argentier du Roy " . To make our guests enjoying these discoveries, with our House is always a pleasure for us.
We are happy et very pleased if you enjoyed your stay.
We shall be honored to see you again, ...Enjoy Life ... Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights during busy tourist season at the start of July. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to explore Touraine and the Loire valley. The location is right in the old medieval area of Loches on the hilltop. It's very quiet and almost no car or foot traffic; if you leave the windows open at night the only noise is from the river flowing below the garden. Owners Phillipe and Christine are passionate about what they do. We loved the renovations of the house, the garden, the "designer chickens", and the enormous breakfast which had many things home-made (I think even fresh yogurt from the little machine!) The bathroom/shower is quite large and modern considering what you can do with such an old building. We found the location to be quite convenient although it is hard to find for the first time. The map provided by the owners works great but you also need to look at your car's GPS to figure out what street you're on! It's literally a few steps down the hill to the main tourist pedestrian area. You can park right next to the B&B and it only takes 1-2 minutes to drive back downhill when leaving Loches for other towns. Highly recommended. Book early because there are only 3 rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blagdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

You're right, our "sleeping beauty", and medieval, town of Loches is in the exact midle of the Loire Valley, between Chambord and Saumur, where all the most famous (hundreds of...) places to visit are. This is why we promote long stays (as you could benefit with 15% for your 4 nights) with our fair discounts, all year long, including this high season .It's our way to share easily our region and home.
We are lucky, that this center is now a "historic preserved zone", and will stay like this for years now...it offer a fantastic very close range of Chateaux, wineyards, zoo's, natural reservation, organic food, cheeses, etc...for all our guests, and we('ll) can enjoy it everyday.
It adds with our location in Loches center to offer fantastic sights by the historic monuments around our house.
Thank you, for writing this nice review, and also to notice that early bookings are necesary in our home. We are so sorry to be often obliged to decline late inquiries.
You were very nice guests it was a pleasure for us to welcome you, and will be an honnour to see you again... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this lovely B & B on our European vacation this summer and couldn't have had a nicer time. Christine and Phillip were lovely hosts full of knowledge of the local history and things to do in the area. The rooms were nicely done and very comfortable and the outdoor terrace was beautiful to sit in with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Loche provided hours and hours of sights to see and many choices for fantastic food. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

This town and this part of France is very special for history and amazing monuments, and our singular house location, maybe add to, this very romantic atmosphere.
We are so happy that you and your family, enjoyed your stay here.
Keeping this "out of time" zone is our constant aim when we restore a room of the house, to give each corner, a century tribute, from 15th century to our 21th ( for bathrooms equipments or WIFI ) .
Thereby, one of our next rooms, on restoration, will be back to the 18th century, as a tribute to the owner of these times, who kept and saved the house (and his head) during the 1789 Revolution, with a funny and very clever way.... with his wife.
it was a pleasure for us to welcome all your family, in our home.
Thank you very much for this review and your time to write it .
You will always be welcome here .. Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed four nights at this beautiful maison, and it was the best part of our trip. Phillipe is a wealth of information on the house and the area, and Christine's breakfasts are the best we have had. They are so welcoming and very helpful to their guests, Phillipe has gone out of his way to help us with an item left behind, and I have nothing but praise for this lovely couple. The room was magnificent and cleaned well every day. It is so close to all the things you need to see. The castle etc and also the streets and restaurants. We loved it, so if you are looking to book in this area, then stay here!
Sheryl bruce

Room Tip: We had the library room and loved it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you to be our new "ambassadors" in Australia. We have, now, quite all the regions of your fantastic country, which visited us.
It's always a pleasure to see how close we are, with such a commun sense of "living well", despite our distance.
Thank you, Sheryl, for taking from your time to write this delicious review on tripadvisor, we hope to see you again one day in our beautiful region..or in yours, it was a pleasure to meet you ... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Christine was a great host. The Library room was really nice and the breakfasts were excellent. If you are visiting Loches, plan on a full day for the town, and two days for the other nearby castles. Finding the property using Garmin's maps was tricky, but I just called Christine and she guided me directly there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbighitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for writing this great review about our house, We are very pleased if you enjoyed your stay. at "La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy" ; its very special location (hidden, even for some GPS ;-) ..and trafic noise maker...) , makes it preserved.
Since We escaped from our "crazy/parisian" life, to this "Renaissance" heaven... You can't imagine how much is our pleasure when our guests enjoyed it, sharing with us this place as an "out of time parenthesis" in this modern/stressing actual world.
We shall be honored to welcome you back in our mineral nest...Enjoy Life... Christine & Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Christine and Phillippe went above and beyond to welcome our group and make us feel comfortable. Upon arriving, Phillippe entertained us with an intriguing history of the house and the renovations they've made. We checked in on Sunday and he recommended several restaurants that were open since many local places are closed Sunday and Monday. He also told us where the tourist bureau was located so we could plan our day trips. Loches is a lovely town and it is easy to walk into town to check out the shops or grab something to eat. Christine's breakfasts were wonderful. Our party of six stayed in the three guest rooms they currently have available. All were nicely decorated, immaculate and well-appointed. We enjoyed relaxing in their beautiful garden one evening. We truly enjoyed our three day stay in Loches and highly recommend La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, but if walking up stairs are an issue ask for the room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you, Rhonda, for this warmful review, it was a pleasure for us to welcome all your family, in our home. We like always when guests write about hearing us narating our house and underground mysteries...as a particular interest of our very special place & location ; aren't we all, "big kids" ? , passioned by legendary and mysterious stories (..or simply, true historics, ...sometimes in our 600 years old house).
We are happy et very pleased if you enjoyed your stay.
You will always be welcome here .. Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I rented the cottage property for one week and were absolutely - in heaven! Phillippe, the property owner was gracious, kind and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed for a pleasant, relaxing stay. The place itself is absolutely inmaculate, it has been restored with painstaking care and attention to every detail. Will definetely have to go back!

Room Tip: The cottage was a large, comfortable accomodation for 2 people, it can sleep up to 4 comfortably. B...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoenixVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

A first big "Thanks", for this great review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our self-catering, "the knight Cotage", ideal, you're right, to visit all the most famous Loire valley Chateaux and wineyards around.
2nd Thank you, for your kindness, it is a pleasure each time, to meet smiling persons, with bright and good mood, it will be an honnour to see you again,
Plus a 3rd "thank you" for the fabulous, and very famous, Alsacian Jam you friendly offered us, it is delicious.!...we confirm.!
Stay like you are, You will always be welcome here and Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loches hotels
0.6 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#3 of 4 in Loches
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Les Troglos de Beaulieu
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Moulin des Cordeliers
3.4 mi away
Domaine de la Maison Neuve
Domaine de la Maison Neuve
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy

Address: 21 Rue Saint Ours, 37600, Loches, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Loches
Price Range: $120 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argentier-du-roy has B&B rooms and a Self Catering(week rental) in The center of Loire Valley's in France. Pure French Art of Life... in the atmosphere of a Romantic, and authentic Renaissance House (15-16e century), placed on the old walls (12e) of the beautiful medieval city of Loches, (listed as "city of art and History ", and" most beautiful part in France "), this town is a "sleeping" beauty, a Royal city, of the Touraine's Chateaux of this Loire Valley. Argentier du Roy has a new 2017 private, free, closed and motorised parking for guests only ; it offers discounts from 10% to 20% for long stays to discover the Loire Valley, from which it is the geographical and historical center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing