We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy
Ranked #1 of 11 Loches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just left La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, after the most wonderful week. We rented the Gite and spent the week touring the Loire . It was the perfect location to base ourselves. Philippe had an amazing knowledge of the area & history of Lochs, the attention to detail given to this delightful B&B by Christine & Philippe was 2nd to none. There are not enough superlatives to use to recommend this wonderful place. We would return in a heartbeat. Thankyou Philippe & Christine for a week we will always remember.

Room Tip: The gite has quite a few stairs, maybe not so good for older people, the B&B would be perfect th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Private joke : We hope we did not give you too much recommendations for drinking & eating French..!
We could not forgive ourselves if you miss our food & wines too much , when you'll be back home in Australia ;-) As You are staying, week after us in district of Bordeaux, you will be almost French, now...LOL..
We are very pleased if you enjoyed your stay. it was for us an honnor to meet you, and discuss. You will always be welcome here ... Enjoy Life ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 307 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

I don't want to simply repeat what others have written. I just want to say that even with all the glowing reviews, our expectations were exceeded. Beyond the impressive location and history, it was a joy to see what great stewards Christine and Phillipe are of the property. It is an obvious labor of love that only enhances and preserves the maison. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here. As a side note, if your GPS (like ours) gets confused about the last couple streets approaching the property (telling you to drive on streets you can't), it is very easy to park and scout the last bit on foot then drive right up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for this great review, and thank you for making us understanding how much we really love this house, its very special location (hidden, even for GPS ;-) and trafic/noise maker...) , our romantic medieval and preserved town as a gem in the Loire Valley.
Allready 10 years that We escaped from our "crazy/parisian" life, to this "Renaissance" heaven... and you can't imagine how much is our pleasure when our guests enjoyed it too, sharing with us this place as an "out of time parenthesis" in this modern/stressing actual world.
We shall be honored to welcome you back in our mineral nest...Enjoy Life... Christine & Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We wish to thank Christine and Philippe for their hospitality in their beautiful home. We enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for another night. The rooms were good and the breakfasts excellent. We also enjoyed the history lesson from Philippe about the house and Loches. The house is an ideal location for exploring the historic town of Loches, its excellent shops and restaurants and its nearby chateaux and vineyards.
Ann and Brian, Jackie and Mark, Notts, UK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

A big thank you for your help and support with this nice review.
It was already a great pleasure for us to see you all, relaxing on the teak lounge chairs on the terrace, sunbathe and enjoy the house as it should be when you feel good somewhere.
It is even more rewarding for us when our guests ask to extend their stay (unfortunately our full planning often, forbid extra nights . this is why we advise everywhere on internet - with attractive discounts too - to book longer stays as here, there is so much to discover, see, taste, enjoy) ... for you, a late cancel made it posible by chance, and it was great to "keep" you longer for your kindness and discretion . You will be always welcome at home for this ... we hope to see you back one day ... Chritine & Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights in July, because we were making the long drive from Bordeaux to Paris, and we wanted to break it up with a couple of nights near the Loire Valley.

The first thing that struck us was that this B&B is in a unique location—it is nestled in a narrow lane just below the historic church and chateau of Loches. You can literally step outside your room and look way up to see the old castle, and you can walk everywhere in town. Our room, although not large, was comfortable and spotless, and the little refrigerator was a nice convenience. The marble bathroom was very spacious. In the mornings, Christine served breakfast, which included fresh fruit, yogurt, and croissant/ breads.

All in all, we enjoyed a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuzanneandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. You are right, we feel very lucky every day to live in such a location...for the beauty of sights but not only ; for many others well living (being) reasons as calm, nice people, close to best shops and local organic producers market... even, only hundreds of meters from a totally renewed and modern hospital for security and peaceful mind ... it's important too for enjoying life as best as posible as the "french art of life" can provide .
As you wrote in our guestbook, you had to return cause your too short 2 nights stay, we shall welcome you with pleasure to discover more of our "garden of France". Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here with our two girls (11 & 14) in one of the two-room suites for four nights. The rooms were clean and furninshed with tastefully selected period furniture and comfortable beds for the adults (fold-aways for the kids which would have been tough for an adult to sleep on but the kids were fine). The designer bath was right one out of an architecture magazine.
We found the hosts to be absolutely darling - they gave us great tips for restaurants and sights and even went out of their way to purchase a special treat for my younger daughter for breakfast.
The town of Loches offered a decent selection of restaurants within easy walking distance and there are frequent street markets and fairs. This B&B is right in the heart of the midieval city; yet has a large quiet French garden for guests' enjoyment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellness_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you very much for this great "wellness" review , it was for us too, a pleasure to meet all your small "world" family. .. and Our guestbook has loved to be written in so many languages for the same family ..German, Chinese, American from Illinois and Louisianna...
We are very pleased if you enjoyed your stay in our large Suite "jacques Coeur" open on the garden, with its old travertine'marble bathroom (a small tribute to first Romans living on our house'place in very early years 450th and probably left us these secret underg...s. largely before medieval times...) . We shall be honored to welcome you back in our Chateaux' Land and give you more good tips and adresses to visit in this(our) fantastic region of France called "Touraine" ...Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We loved climbing the stairs to the top to our sweet room and being able to enter the tiny turret in this beautifully restored chateau. Knowing the history of the place together with its spectacular position just below the ancient church and Royal Apartments made it truly memorable for us. Our hosts were personable, fun, and very helpful - and the breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. We were thrilled - I wish we could have stayed more than two nights.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, the room at the top adds an extra bit of romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

So ...You were the "Princess" of the tower, with your charming "Prince" ..isn't it....? :-))
What could be better theatrical decor for theatre teachers....
We are very pleased if you enjoyed your stay in our romantic house, Thank you very much for taking from your free time to write this great review.. It was allready a pleasure to welcome you, it's a new one to read you.
We hope to see you again in our spectacular medieval and historic neighborhood, soon.
Take Care & Enjoy Life.... Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As we wound our way through the streets of Loches, climbing higher and higher on the cobblestone streets towards the castle, we could not believe we got to stay there! The Maison de L'Argentier du Roi is perched high atop the medieval town, overlooking the village and countryside, and looks upwards towards the castle and centuries-old church. After a brief history lesson from Philippe, the owner, we learned that the various parts of the house are centuries old and have been painstakingly restored. The house exterior, garden, and courtyard are all lovely, and make you feel like you have stepped back in time. That being said, the room was modern, spotless, large, and had a very generous and beautiful bathroom (as much as we love history, modern bathrooms are essential!). There was plenty of space to store clothes, as we had a VERY large wardrobe, desk, and bedside tables. Other modern conveniences included flat screen TV and wireless internet.

This was my first ever time staying in a B&B (called "Chambres D'Hotes" in French) so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was blown away by how great of a time we had. Plus, it was very easy to come and go during the day as we could walk everywhere, and could park right outside the maison as well. We got our own set of keys so that we could come and go as we pleased, and we gave our preferred breakfast time each day (which was always accommodated). We had a separate entrance to our room, which made it feel very private. It was also such a neat experience to walk home from the main street each day through cobblestone streets, turrets and medieval gates (the walk was about 5 minutes).

Christine and Philippe thought of everything to make our stay special-- robes in the bathrooms, tea and cookies in your room, gorgeous linens, a small bar fridge, access to the garden patio, and great recommendations for restaurants and places to visit.

Lastly, the breakfasts. It is no coincidence that I saved this for last-- the breakfasts were truly amazing. We have missed the food each and every day since our trip! Christine had an entire table FULL of delicious, baked-that-morning croissants, breads, brioches, homemade jams, fresh juices, a variety of teas, fresh butter, fruit salad and yogurt. (There was also a huge selection of cereal, but no one ever touched it as the fresh offerings were way too good!).

Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We learned as we were there that Loches is a GREAT base for day trips in the Loire and we could have done a lot more if we had had more than two nights! We did rent bikes from town, and there are a tonne of great chateaux and medieval towns within a few hours. That being said, you could have a great stay without ever setting foot outside the walls of the city. Loches is quiet but full of history, and not too 'touristy'.

We had an absolutely amazing time! Thank you for everything, Christine and Philippe!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentier_du_Roy, Propriétaire at La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Waoou.. Thank you very much, for such a long and very nice review about our House. Thank you for your sense of details observation...We apreciate a lot when our guests were sensible to those of our small attentions and be sure that it is very warmful and motivating for us, in these very busy high season weeks.
We are very proud to have been your first experience in B&B, and so pleased that you enjoyed it. We always try to be original and creative, to offer the best for our Guest House.
Reading your review twice, I even had like a feeling, that you too , you were falling in love with our lovely town and our location... If you decide to come back in France, and in our region to explore it deeper in its "french Art of Life", we'll be honored to welcome you again, in this "garden of France"... Take Care & Enjoy Life... Philippe & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loches
18.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0 mi away
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#2 of 4 in Loches
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Logis Luccotel
Logis Luccotel
#1 of 4 in Loches
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
3.4 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Jean
13.6 mi away
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
#1 of 1 in La Celle-Guenand
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy

Address: 21 Rue Saint Ours, 37600, Loches, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Loches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Loches
Price Range: $136 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argentier-du-roy has B&B rooms and a Self Catering(week rental) in The center of Loire Valley's in France. Pure French Art of Life... in the atmosphere of a Romantic, and authentic Renaissance House (15-16e century), placed on the old walls (12e) of the beautiful medieval city of Loches, (listed as "city of art and History ", and" most beautiful part in France "), this town is a "sleeping" beauty, a Royal city, of the Touraine's Chateaux of this Loire Valley. Argentier du Roy has a new 2017 private, free, closed and motorised parking for guests only ; it offers discounts from 10% to 20% for long stays to discover the Loire Valley, from which it is the geographical and historical center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de l'Argentier du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing