We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hype ?”
Review of La Gerbe d'Or

La Gerbe d'Or
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Loches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since nearly one century, the restaurant La Gerbe d'Or is a place of familiar appointment for lots of Lochois. The "Tuffeau" breathes the perfumes of the seasons, the large fireplace-dreams of the coloured scents of the aromas, with sweet and savoury spices, and the porch is curved to pay homage to this place where cooking becomes gastronomy.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Hype ?”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is clearly a tasteful restaurant with a good regular clientele, a decent menu spread and good food. I do think that the spate of 5 star reviews is a bit of hype. While being a nice place, it is nothing extraordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    168
    43
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value Good Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sat on the terrace-lovely atmosphere-good food and good wine-good value for money-staff very hospitable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giulietta34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here on the night of the evening market in Loches and as we had not made a reservation we were not optimistic about getting a table. Fortunately the helpful waitress offered us a table inside the restaurant as the terrace was already full. The food was of a very high standard but still good value although as with many restaurants in the area we found that the wine seemed relatively expensive. There was live music from a classical guitarist giving the restaurant a great atmosphere.
By the time we left the restaurant was full so we were very pleased that we had arrived when we did.
I would definitely recommend La Gerbe d'Or if you are staying in Loches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaraB804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centre Region, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had an excellent meal. There was nothing to fault, service very good and attentive. Great if you don't speak French most of the staff speak English. There was a guitarist playing background music which added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfanindre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great staff,very friendly and efficient,Menu was so interesting,didnt know what to have, it all sounded amazing.What we ordered was divine.My dessert of Pineapple soup with homemade coconut ice cream and shortcake biscuit was the best ever!.Had it both nights.....We had to go back a second night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty8817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gerbe d'Or also viewed

Loches, Loire Valley
Loches, Loire Valley
 
Loches, Loire Valley
Loches, Loire Valley
 
Loches, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Gerbe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing