We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short and sweet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gerbe d'Or

La Gerbe d'Or
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Loches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since nearly one century, the restaurant La Gerbe d'Or is a place of familiar appointment for lots of Lochois. The "Tuffeau" breathes the perfumes of the seasons, the large fireplace-dreams of the coloured scents of the aromas, with sweet and savoury spices, and the porch is curved to pay homage to this place where cooking becomes gastronomy.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A nice lady at Loches tourist office booked a table for us. We had lunch during market day on a Wednesday but it wasn't very busy. The food at La Gerbe d'Or was simple and very tasty. Decor was nice and the restaurant has outside dining area. Staff were friendly and they brought toys over to entertain our toddler with the highchair (both unprompted). The main waiter spoke good English, which was very helpful as our French is very very poor.

We enjoyed our lunch and would recommend this place based on our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Power1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    153
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good address”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A good place to go, nice food, nice dressing, very tasty, good service; little to say really.
The wine could have been served colder.
We would recommend this place for a business dinner or just with friends & family.
Do not serve after 9pm and booking is highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentBoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaucene, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in a touristy town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is sometimes hard to find a good balance in an overly-touristy town, but we found our experience here was a good one. Service was very good, and the food was very good though not exceptional. Certainly worth a stop, especially if you are looking for English spoken.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food was excellent - however the service looked like the waiters were all new or not organized, maybe because we went early in the season.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samlevysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This restaurant is in the fascinating old town of Loches. We had the "plat du jour" which was excellent value at 12.50 euros for 3 courses. It was a cold night but the welcome and ambience was very warm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elliemay991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gerbe d'Or also viewed

Loches, Loire Valley
Loches, Loire Valley
 
Loches, Loire Valley
 
Loches, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Gerbe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing