We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step inside, the outside is deceptively bland”
Review of Au Coin Des Halles

Au Coin Des Halles
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Langeais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Step inside, the outside is deceptively bland”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Inside the decor is modern, the staff pleasant and attentive, and the food is star quality. We particularly enjoyed the goose, but the overall experience is well worth a special visit.

I recommend the local Bourgueil red wine (Les Galichets) - it is smooth, full bodied and very drinkable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    119
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in the region!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow, this was a very pleasant surprise as we had chosen the restaurant primarily on its location in the pretty village of Langeais (the Chateau is certainly worth a visit too). I'm surprised the restaurant hasn't got a Michelin star as the food certainly surpassed other establishments we visited on this trip which did have that honour. The food was seasonally based, interesting and well presented and above all tasted wonderful. Service was professional, unhurried but not slow. Good wine list too. We had booked as were a small group of 8 and were requested to choose a menu in advance. It was clear that the restaurant aims to serve the best it can and if this means advance notice for a small group, then that's fine. This worked out very well for us and was reasonably priced - particularly in view of the quality of the food served. We were lucky enough with the weather to be able to dine in the small garden. I would certainly return here on a future occasion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Absolutely worth a Michelin-star. Food was excellent, attentive service, We ate cappucino mushroom with ravioli and afterward goosefilet with baked polenta with vegetables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elly May O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Up there as one of the best meals ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well worth planning a holiday around this restaurant. We were camping nearby and weren't disappointed. Service is professional but not too stuffy, and the staff speak good English and are happy to translate. Excellent wine list and aperitifs, and the set menu is fantastic value. You'd pay triple to eat food of this quality in the UK. Bill came to 80 euros for the 3 course set meal for 2 and some wine by the glass and sparkling water. Fantastic value and cooking of the very highest quality. Make sure you book!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A star in the making”
Reviewed September 15, 2012


Situated about 2 minutes walk from the entrance to the town's rather magnificent chateau, this restaurant is quite a find. The menu is small, but don't worry, the quality is excellent and the cooking style deserves a star. I chose the crab remoularde, which was accompanied by mustard ice cream, delicious! it was followed with caramilsed goose breast, we washed it down with 1/2 a bottle of Montlouis white and an aperitif of sparkling Vouvray, ending up with a coffee each, the bill amounted to 80€ for the two of us, which isn't a cheap lunch, but at this quality it was worth it, a cheaper formula express menu is an option, if on a budget.

Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Coin Des Halles also viewed

Langeais, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 
Langeais, Loire Valley
Villandry, Loire Valley
 
Langeais, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 

Been to Au Coin Des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing