We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue à la Genestine Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Bienvenue à la Genestine
Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Annette B
Westlake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS!”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were so thrilled by this charming cottage in the Loire Valley! It is tastefully decorated and had everything we desired during our one week stay. The garden is beautiful, the pool is clean and large enough for a big group, and the patio is perfect for your morning cup of coffee or your evening glass of wine. The location is perfect and very peaceful, however it is within driving or biking distance to the town of Chinon. The owners; Laurent, Françoise and Martine are very gracious and met our every need. We look forward to returning to the cottage next summer and plan to stay even longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Merci merci for your report : we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage la Genestine.It is so stimulating for us to read your nice nice review.
We do everything to make our customers stay a memorable one.
We already know that we will see you again (next year ??) and this is the best reward you can give us !
A très bientot en France et merci encore pour tout.
Amitiés
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn_a...
Oxford, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, well equipped”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely cottage with two good sized double bedrooms. It is very well equipped with everything you need, including tea and coffee and a bottle of wine to welcome you. The swimming pool is a perfect temperature and there are chairs and tables so you can sit in the sun. The smell of jasmine on the terrace is amazing. The owners are extremely welcoming and give a comprehensive tour on arrival, including providing details of places to visit (and advice about where to park when watching the Bastille Day fireworks in Chinon!) The cottage is very peaceful and enclosed behind private gates. It is in a quiet street just off the main road from Chinon and in easy reach of lots of châteaux and vineyards. There are several supermarkets in nearby Avione and Chinon as well as local shops about 5 minutes drive away in Beaument-on-Veron. We highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thanks so much to take time to leave a report on TRIPADVISOR as soon as you arrive at home ! To welcome you in our cottage was also a great pleasure for us and we were delighted to meet you after all our correspondence via email.
We wish you a good trip to Italy very soon, and we hope to see you again one day in the Loire Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieLava...
Bobtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“charming, well-equipped and located within easy driving to many attractions”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My sister and I stayed here for a week in June, and we were extremely pleased. Many staples provided to get you started, wonderful information about the area provided, but we were content to spend some time there as the pool and grounds were beautiful and bicycles were provided to take a ride along the river. Well-stocked kitchen and groceries nearby, so fun to visit a market and enjoy the local specialties. Chinon is just a few miles away and we enjoyed walking around and visiting the fortress. The Dutheils are warm and friendly and are available to assist you. I hope I will have the pleasure of returning there someday. Great location to explore the Loire valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Bonjour from sunny Loire Valley ! the pleasure to see you and to share good moments with you was also great for us ! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and that you will keep a deep souvenir of this week.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please take care and all the best from the Dutheil family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLWVMW
Muncie, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have to agree with the previous review about wanting to keep this a secret. The gite is absolutely wonderful. It is clean and spotless inside and out. This very well maintained property is equipped with quality appliances, cooking and eating utensils and amenities that you just don't find with other rental properties. Coffee, Tea, sugar, butter, cream, homemade jam, wine, laundry soap, dishwasher detergent, toilet tissue etc were stocked so that one could simply unload the car and relax without having to run out to purchase the basic of necessities immediately. There is a grocery/department store within a 5 minute drive.

The property is located within a few minutes drive to access the businesses and sights offered in Chinon and is ideally situated in a very small and very quiet, tranquil neighborhood. The large well maintained yard with fenced and heated swimming pool just outside the home and adjacent to the jasmine scented patio gives a feeling of spaciousness and serenity not found in other rentals.

The large master suite upstairs has a large walk in shower, skylight windows that open and close, a very comfortable bed with sitting chairs. There are plenty of shelves and other areas to unpack and spread out. I was quite amazed by the abundance of clothes hangers that were provided as we usually have to bring hangers for our clothes.

The downstairs, smaller bedroom has a seperate entry and has a nice walk in shower, toilet and lavatory. Although the room is smaller than the master, it is large enough to accommodate two persons and is bright, cheery and beautifully decorated. The furniture and bedding throughout the home were sturdy and comfortable. The beds were dressed with quality and extremely clean linens and provided good support for sore backs and ensure a good night's sleep.

Bicycles are provided so guests can enjoy the nearby bicycle and walking trail with access to the Vienne River. Every detail has been thought of and every need is provided for. This place is a gem.

The owners are some of the friendliest and welcoming people I have ever had the pleasure and privilege of knowing. This is a top quality spot for your Chinon area vacation. As the previous reviewer stated, I almost don't want to tell anyone about this place and keep it to myself. You cannot go wrong. Thank you again Francoise, Martine and Laurent. We loved our time with you and hope to see you again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, peacefulness and welcoming owners.
Liked least: We had to leave.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Dear friend, from oversea,
You've done most of our work! we have nothing more to explain to the next hosts!
We are happy to have answered your expectations.
It was a pleasure to welcome you, and as you said so well: "We loved our time with you and hope to see you again very soon".
All the best
Martine, Françoise et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilary b
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“As near as you can get to perfection”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A delightful gite, set in the countryside near to the river-just outside Beaumont en Veron.
Proprietors have given considerable thought to just everything you would need for a country
holiday in this area. The gite, amenities and surroundings are delightful. I don't know why we are writing this review-we should keep it a secret! We shall certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet and everything we needed
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Dear very special Friends,
We are happy to know that you are safely back home.
You're right, it is difficult to give its good addresses, but I know you, you are generous. So thank you for taking the time to write this extraordinary report.
We hope to share with you, as those who read my response, our love of this region who saw us grow.
best regards
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrEdZz64
Pau
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in November 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2018
Merci beaucoup pour votre si gentil commentaire qui nous touche beaucoup. Le plaisir de vous avoir rencontré est partagé et nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié non seulement le gite mais aussi les environs ! alors encore une fois merci à vous et saluez pour nous ce si beau Béarn.
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie100...
Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Vielen Dank für Ihren freundlichen Kommentar ! it was a great pleasure to welcome you and meet your nice family. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the gite. We really look forward to seeing you again in the future and all the best for 2018 !
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing