We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It would be hard to beat La Marissou for charm...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ratty93
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It would be hard to beat La Marissou for charm, comfort and cleanliness.”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our six week stay here flew by. The house was perfect for our needs: beautifully presented, very well-equipped and warm, with a welcoming atmosphere. Huismes is equally charming, having a great bar/café (serves really tasty dishes at lunch-time which are super value), excellent butcher's and good baker's. The auberge is another option if you want to eat locally. There is also a very popular visiting fish stall. There are many varied walks (rivers, forests, small hamlets) to take without getting in a car, but plenty more to keep you busy only a few miles away. Chinon itself is a lovely, interesting town. The owners of this gite are thoroughly charming and do an excellent job in preparing the house for visitors. Pretty faultless all round! We are very keen to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Bonjour from la Maison Marissou and thank you so much for your nice report.
Only one word : we look forward to seeing you again in the future ! and thank you again for your confidence and your kindness
A très bientot !
Amitiés from France
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali065
kiama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the moment I began my booking process with Francoise I knew I had made the right choice. It's comforting when you can feel the commitment to excellence through emails, I knew this would be a great experience and it was !! Great cottage, extremely clean and fresh and such a well appointed kitchen, everything was there, well set up for bbq outside and immaculately clean area. Sitting room is divine. The ambiance of the cottage is charming as is the whole village. The location to the marvellous Chateau is perfect. The vineyards around the area are stunning and the fortress of Chinon sublime. We miss you beautiful Huismes!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property !
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Bonjour � vous deux and thank you so much for your nice report.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at la Marissou
It is a shame that you live so far but we hope that we will see you maybe next time to France since there is a lot to see, to drink, to eat and to enjoy !!!! Please take care and all the best
Amiti�s from France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazingly Well Appointed Cottage”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage has everything you would need to make your stay comfortable,a real home from home, as well as being beautifully furnished and decorated. The kitchen has every amenity you would need, with plenty of crockery, pans, bowls and dishes. The whole place is spotlessly clean.
The owners are most helpful, really wanting your stay to be pleasurable and with very good English too.
The cottage itself is in a very good location, close to many beautiful chateaus as well as other amenities eg there is a bakery round the corner and an excellent supermarket about a mile away. Chinon, the nearest town, is a most interesting medieval town with some great restaurants, as well as its famous fortress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the place was tastefully decorated and very clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Bonjour from sunny Loire Valley.
We thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay at La Maison Marissou. Your high rating and positive comments mean a lot to us. We will be more than happy to welcome you again at Huismes in the future.
All the best
Amitiés de France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianKF
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked La Maison Marissou having read the reviews on this site, we weren't disappointed. We have holidayed in France for many years and this has to be the best gite we have ever stayed in.

We were met by the owners and given an extensive tour of the property, and given a few tips about the local area and shops. They were very knowledgeable and a great source of information and made us feel really welcome. The welcome pack of Wine, butter and homemade jam was a great touch, pear and ginger jam was lovely

The Gite is well equipped and finished off to a high standard, it is also very clean. The BBQ area is great. The village of Huismes is on the Cycle routes and we did plenty of cycling which helped us burn off the excess calories obtained courtesy of the local butchers, (which is a must, their Rillettes is superb).

During our stay we visited the Fortress at Chinon which was great for the children and well worth a visit, they also enjoyed swimming and fishing in the local river.

The only reservation I have about recommending La Maison Marissou is that someone will book it before we do, as we will definitely be returning!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming house, beautifully furnished in a great location
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
"Merci, merci and merci" ! If you don't unterstand, ask to you nice boy to translate it for you ! Of course, we would love to seeing you again in the future to la Maison Marissou or to our other cottages. Tt is really simple to welcome people like your family.
You have enjoyed the area and the village of Huismes (remember the
Rillettes!) but there is still so much to see by bicycle or on foot! Then, see you very soon and best wishes to your nice family.
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay near Loire and L'Indre”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On the Saturday morning, we took the fast ferry from Portsmouth to Le Havre, and then travelled down the motorways (A28, A11, A85) arriving for 1730.
Françoise and Martine met us, and were impressed by my partner's French, and sympathetic to my lack of French.
The good things:
* La Marissou is well-stocked with crockery and cooking equipment.
* It is comfortable (many gîtes are not!).
* It is close to the boulangerie, bar and grocery shop.
* Vegetarians like us, can find places to eat in Chinon.
* The garden has a range of spaces and shades for even the hottest weather (i.e. our stay there).
* There is much to see, do, sample and walk close by, and further afield.
* In previous years, we had driven quickly across the Loire Valley on our way south or west. The Loire Valley (and tributaries) is worth stopping off for, and staying.
The bad things:
* Can't think of anything.
Things to watch out for:
* The Forteresse at Chinon has a thing about Arthur and the Roundtable - is this a good thing? It probably depends upon your age and what TV programmes you have been watching.
* Chinon has, to my Birmingham eyes, a Leclerc's of immense size, good food and range of goods. If only it would come to Birmingham.
I hope we have established that La Marissou is very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Bonjour et merci pour votre commentaire !
We are very happy to read your impressions of la Maison Marissou which is a place apart .... With you the welcome was very easy and you too, you will be part of the good memories of this season 2015. Greet people in our house is something extraordinary and we will keep a special memory of those moments so pleasant...
Merci encore et à bientot !
Amitiés
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A charming gite, very well equipped, and a very warm welcome.”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at La Maison Marissou for one week. Francoise, Laurent and Martine welcomed us very warmly and gave us all the necessary information about the gite, the village and the area. They speak excellent English, but we were keen to try to improve our French and they were very patient with our attempts! The gite is absolutely charming, with grassy terraces where you can eat and/or sunbathe. It is excellently equipped throughout and spacious, with two bathrooms. It was also spotlessly clean. We made an error using the satellite box and had to ask for advice - Laurent kindly came the same day to sort it out. The village of Huismes is excellently located. There is a good butchers, boulangerie and bar in the village. Chinon is 10 minutes away with a good choice of restaurants and an impressive fortress. Other places of interests, including Saumur and Villandry, are around 30 mins drive away, but it's also excellent cycling country. There are many chateaux to visit. We walked to Chateau d' Usse from the gite (c. 45 mins to it) - a lovely walk - and we would also particularly recommend the abbey at Fontevraud. We've had many holidays in gites in France and we would recommend La Maison Marissou very highly. Thanks to Francoise, Laurent and Martine for a wonderful week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Bonjour à tous les deux. To welcome you was very pleasant too ! Thank you for your kindness. We are always very happy to know that our customers have had a great time at la Maison Marissou. Also the village of Huismes makes this place even more special and charming. We will keep a great souvenir of your visit in the Loire Valley, and although we hope to see you again in the future....
Amitiés de France
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing