We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, average accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service, average accomodations”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed one night, and the Charm and Chateau of Chinon overrode any disappointment with this hotel. The room was clean and much larger than many others where we stayed. The large windows overlooked the fairly quiet street, a small park, and the river. As with other hotels on this trip, there was no lift, which we knew in advance. We had a lot of trouble with the key for the room- we had to ask twice for help- the staff was very friendly and happy to help. We turned the air conditioner on- I guess the room had heated up from sun all day before our arrival. For some reason, the unit was over the door and as it ran, it dripped water on the carpet. After taking a walk and visiting the chateau, we arrived back to the room to find wet carpeting. We simply turned off the unit and left it off. The bathroom was much larger than most, but dated and the tub/shower was a bit difficult to climb in and out off. It was very clean and well-kept up, however. The furniture and general decor were pleasant, but unstylish.
All in all an adequate, clean hotel, but out of all the places we stayed on this trip, the last one I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    126
    53
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
156
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here during a trip to the Loire Valley. The hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in in France because the standard of service and the comfort, cleanliness and facilities of the rooms are wonderful. The breakfast is to die for - we stayed in an Ibis hotel on stopovers and only got a croissant and coffee and cereal whereas here you have home made crepes, cakes, jams, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fresh fruit juices, different types of bread and croissants, plus cheese and even smoked salmon and mackerel! It sets you up for the day at only 10 euros. The manager is delighful and the staff all speak good english and can't do enough for you. There is free WIFI, a lovely garden to relax in and a nice lounge with international tv channels and a well stocked bar. The hotel is also very well situated for the town's attraction with everything within walking distance and free car parking in the square opposite. I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and we will certainly return as we were made to feel so very much at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 on the ground floor overlooking the garden - it has a very modern bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a cycling holiday. Martine went above and beyond in making us welcome, offering a welcome drink with crisps and nuts on arrival. The breakfast is a real feast which sets you up for the day. Rooms at the back overlooking the garden are very quiet and are of a good size. All very clean and lovely white bed linen. If you like animals the little Yorkie is gorgeous and the old cat is very friendly. Chinon is a lovely small town with fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratbagBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed overnight here on the drive to the South. We absolutely loved it. It was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. it is a lovely building and lovingly looked after. The town is a delight, the countless bars and restaurants come alive at night and its just perfect.
If we ever pass through Chinon again, we would love to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank skarlet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Its one of these small hotels that provides you a superb family hospitalization with a high quality elegance : interior design, breakfast and overall atmosphere. The price is definetly worth every euro.
Very recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a Brittany ferries deal which included a week in a gite.
Very impressed with the hotel, which is excellent value for a three star and has everything you need for a very comfortable stay.
Great location within minutes walk of central Chinon with free parking opposite, lovely garden area and dining area on ground floor in garden. Great selection for breakfast. Room was in older part of building and had Air-con and very clean bathroom with bath and shower. Room not enormous but very adequate and very clean. Tea/coffee available on landing area.
The MASSIVE plus is how charming and helpful the staff are, both French and English speaking. Very obliging and attentive. Would not hesitate to return and would recommend unreservedly.
Can book room only and the breakfast is a steal at only 10 Euros!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival and safe storage for our bikes. The room in the maison bourgeoise was very comfortable with efficient air con and a modern bathroom. Pleasant garden for breakfast and relaxing. Very helpful staff and good location if travelling by train.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a room in the maison bourgeoise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingscot6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plantagenet

Property: Hotel Le Plantagenet
Address: 12 Place Jeanne D Arc, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Plantagenet 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Plantagenet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plantagenet Hotel
Le Plantagenet Chinon
Hotel Le Plantagenet Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing