We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Plantagenet
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$187
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
85
137
63
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
137
63
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked salmonmarket squarefree parkingpaper cupsguide booktea and coffeesmall gardensuperb hotelgreat bathroomno liftair conditioningstayed here for nightsold fashionedinner courtyardbed was comfortableevery respectenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 306 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Variety of rooms avail, but ours was huge tasteful and gracious (second floor, front); coffee and tea avail at all times in entrance to our building. The best breakfast selection we've had on any trip! Friendly helpful staff; Central to everything in area, and restaurants a stroll away. We even had the phenomenal market outside our window one morning - and we hadn't heard a thing! Lots of free parking out front. Spent three days there doing that 'end' of the Loire.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

En route back to Caen from San Sebastian have at last found somewhere not too expensive to stay, where the accommodation is comfortable (and not characterless), the buffet breakfast is substantial and interesting enough to set you up for the day, and the town, Chinon has some interesting things to see without requiring a route march, or difficult parking/satnav/guide book in order to enjoy it. Whilst the older part of the hotel which we stayed in had a somewhat eccentric bath (pink cast iron with a shaped recess to sit in), and old fashioned furnishings, it was clean, quirky, and the bed was ultra comfortable. Parking was directly outside or on the road opposite, although take care not to park directly outside if you are staying over when the market is due the next day. Chinon in January had less places to eat as a number of establishments were shut, but the side streets appeared to offer more. The Cafe 21 is not really that exciting. Prices these days for a v. average meal in France seem to start at any eye watering E20, with no drinks.

Room Tip: There appears to be a newer section at the rear of the hotel. The older room we had was quiet and comfortable, but if you want something more modern, and not overlooking a car park (although its certainly not ugly) may be worth trying these.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VERONICAtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My daughter & I stayed here July 2011. We had one of the upstairs rooms - narrow flight of stairs but our bags were kindly carried up. The room was a bit tight with two suitcases but clean. Bathroom OK but no shower- had to sit in the bath with hand held shower end to wash hair- not that great!
Parking directly across the street but you do need to move your car to special spots before market day- the staff will tell you where to go. Very convenient- all easy walking. Breakfast in marque in courtyard-had everything we needed -continental. Would stay again. Don't expect anything flash though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Of the 46 hotels we stayed in during our three months in France and Italy, this may be my favorite. Stay here if you can. Older place but high quality. Easy walk to restaurants and easy access to the castle. Across the road from the river, wonderful for photographers. Cost us $100 for two nights.

Room Tip: Get the room upstairs across the entrance from the office although they are probably all good. Some of the old reviews mention the staircases, but those are baloney.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were on a family trip round in France with our grown up children. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Very helpful staff. Small but clean rooms. In the evening we had a beer in the lovely garden and in the morning a nice breakfast.
Best regards Susanne Nielsen

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews