We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely, Charming Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Charming Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Full of character with charming hosts and close to the centre of Chinon - there is very little not to like about this jewel of a hotel. As other reviewers have commented the breakfasts are yummy with a vast selection of home-made jams, the garden is small but beautiful and there is secure parking. All this for well under EUR 100 per night. Bargain!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bonsoir Spadge55
Here's a good comment greedy!
You like our pretty little garden, the wide selection of jams, the tranquility of this part of the city, and secured car park ...
We will be happy to welcome you during your next visit to Chinon ... for more yummy!
A bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    166
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
528
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a wonderful, quite and quaint guesthouse in the beautiful town of Chinon. The grounds and hotel itself are full of character and absolutely lovely, the hosts were very friendly and oh the breakfast....a huge array of homemade jams and big basket of freshly baked bread...delicious! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bonsoir Cmur,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely report.
This hotel is the fruit of an idea; redo a hotel with a human sence.
This is the work of several years, the work of all our employees.
And above all our customers, accustomed or not who following us for so long.
Thank you very much from the heart.
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

As four cyclists, riding along the Loire, the luxury and hospitality of Hotel Diderot was greatly appreciated. The architecture alone is stunning. We left our bikes in a large leafy courtyard, and walked into the welcome cool of reception, where we were immediately shown to our beautiful rooms. Having cycled about 35 miles that day, it was lovely to have the space of an ample bathroom; the luxury of a large and comfy bed; windows which opened wide on to the garden; and the joy of free-standing fans to counter the 30 degree sunshine. The breakfast was sublime! Local produce was plentiful in the form of preserves, fruits and cheeses. A large bread basket appeared on our table along with as much coffee as we wanted. My only concern was that we lingered so long over our courtyard breakfast, that we were late setting off on the final leg of our cycle ride!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Bonsoir CasBrigthon,
I understand perfectly, than after cycling 35 miles, and a temperature of 30C ° it is comforting, arriving i, our little home, with the garden, the terrace ...
and after a restfull night, the next day, our breakfast with our jams, the coffee, and the quality of everything that made ​​the reputation of our little house ...
We are pleased to share with you all these good things
see you soon
your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friend and I loved everything about this family owned and operated beautiful hotel. It had the old world French charm we wanted and breakfast goods that had been specially selected and/ or prepared for this hotel. Our room had beautiful decor (done by Francoise) with modern conveniences. The hotel is always immaculate. The courtyard is just beautiful and the perfect setting for sitting out and eating breakfast or having a glass of wine. While the staff (usually one of the sisters or the brother) may seem "professional" rather than"warm and fuzzy" upon check-in, once you begin talking with them, you find how friendly and engaging they are and how much they share so much with you. All in all, this was a wonderful place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: First floor rooms open up onto a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Bonjour Rlinc,
If my memory is good your room is on the ground floor, and wall tissues is with birds, red cherry.
Francoise is pleased that this very French decors you have liked.
We keep a very good souvenir of your visit, hoping to welcome you again, why not in another decors ....
You have Highlighted that we are a familly hotel, and once we open our heart is forever ....
thank you for your confidence in choosing us for your stay in the Loire Valley.
One of the sibling,
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

In common with most reviewers we had an excellent (5 night) stay. Rooms (we had two) very good (ones on the ground floor are the best). Breakfasts superb - jams to die for and a wide choice of breads. Staff could not have been more friendly and courteous. Overall one of the best hotel stays we can remember.

Room Tip: On th ground floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Cher Gordon,
It is very good to read this by opening the email ...
thank you very much for this wonderful comment, and I like to "die for" jam!
I transmit to our entire team, the information we are: "Overall one of the best hotel stays we can remember"
That thank for you very much
your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late after long delays at the tunnel. Our welcome was warm and charming and we were recommended a perfect local brasserie (the Cafe des Arts) for supper. Our room was pretty and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is beautiful, lovely decoration and artefacts. The owners are delightful. Breakfast was delicious with fruit salad, lovely bread and pastries and the extraordinary array of home made jams. Coffee was plentiful and good. One minor niggle: my husband is diabetic and there was little choice other than bread and butter for him. A little ham and cheese, or eggs, would have been welcome. Other than this, a lovely stay. We will return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebeccajago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, General Manager at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Rebecca bonsoir,
I remember your late arrival due to an electrical problem in the tunnel, on the English side !
You have, after a good night then continue your journey to the South.
Do not hesitate to ask me at your next visit that you are diabetic, I can always prepare a little something as I do for allergic to gluten, dairy ...
happy holidays to you!
see you soon
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

It is the best hotel in Chinon. I'm not wild about the place but if you're going to Chinon, this is the place you want to stay. Lots of bike-tour groups from the UK stay here. You should probably book early.

Chinon is a great place to visit, very manageable in size. There's a terrific statue of Joan of Arc and a beautiful Park by the river. If you're into the winery thing Chinon is interesting as is the chateau (castle). The city itself has some stunning hills. If you're biking the downhill it is breathtaking, if going uphill you are walking.

The room we had in the Diderot was very well done, comfortable, clean and neat. The bathroom was typically European (which means small for Americans but you get used to it). As I remember, there are two separate buildings in an 'L' shape with a gravel parking area and a small patio. The whole area was very well gardened with plants and flowers. The gates close in the evening, so if driving you want to be sure you're back inside before you get locked out.

Breakfast is interesting. The Diderot is proud of the innumerable jams they have at breakfast and I'm sure I ate more bread than I planned as I sampled and sampled. And sampled some more.

The staff was very professional if not friendly and welcoming. Maybe it's just the difference between Americans and Europeans, I get that. The next hotel we stayed at was professional and welcoming. The Diderot was completely booked, maybe that was part of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wind-In-His-Hair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Owner at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Bonjour cheveux au vent !

Thank you for taking the time to do this very well detailed and nice report.
Yes Chinon is a beautiful city rich in history, nice houses from; 15th 14th 18th ... and a bright band on the banks of the river Vienne, and facing south, just below the Royal Fortress.
Our house is located not far from downtown, where We welcome, many tourists, who come from all over the world and we thank Trpadvisor for that !
I'm sorry if your welcome was just professional, and you have not been received like all our guests.
We will do better next time, to remain as you said the best hotel in Chinon !
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
279 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Property: Hotel Diderot
Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing