We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Diderot
Nearby Hotels
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$213
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$91
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$95
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
706
173
42
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
173
42
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsgoat cheeseapple juicebreadloire valleyjean pierreowners and staffstar hotelbeautiful hotelsecure parkinglocal producethe ground floorglass of winemain buildingbreakfast rooma real treatcharming town
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 937 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel Diderot is run by a family who loves their work and their guests! I almost hated to park my car in their garden/parking lot! They even label all the trees and flowers so you know what they are. We were met at our car and given a tour of the facilities. Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom and tub were done in blue tiles. Breakfasts are fantastic (Homemade jams!) and not to be missed. Next time I'll book here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a garden room. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Location is great for town and chateau region. Breakfast was great and the Homemade jams are Excellent! Definitely recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Bonjour Leanna,
Your comment make me happy enormously, it is with pleasure that I share with my colleagues, who are working every day to make you discover the true face of France!
Thank you a thousand times for the whole team
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of those lovely hotels that really stands out from the crowd, a little gem that we will never forget. A charming old building with a lovingly tended garden for breakfasts, it is run by three siblings who look after your every need with a smile. Relax in the early evening with some lovely wine or home-made apple juice, breakfast in the sun with home-made jams that remind what jam is supposed to taste like : simple pleasures that make for a great holiday. And how good is Chinon as a base for exploring this end of the Loire? We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear John,
A big thank you for your nice comment, all Collaborators are glad you liked our old house, we are always happy to know that our customers appreciate our rooms, the garden, our jams, everything that makes us a hotel different.
Best regards
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I arrived at the Diderot with a group of friends and having cycled over 30 miles we were very happy to sit in the pretty garden to drink a cold beer. Everything about our stay lived up to our expectations. It was in a good position for exploring the town and there was a market in the car park at the bottom of the road in the morning on Thursday. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit salad, goats cheese with walnuts and a vast assortment of home made jams. Our room was very pretty and the new bathroom was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranSBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Cher FranSBJ
A big thank you for your nice comments encourage us all. Your small group was charming and pleasant.
We are very pleased that the atmosphere of our home is right for you, we would, in fact, that our guests feel "at home" and that, thanks to our brilliant team.

Hoping to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Diderot lived up to every one of its reviews. A beautiful friendly family run hotel. All of the staff could not have been more helpful, with advice on site seeing options every day and any other needs I.e. shopping etc. We loved the breakfasts with their beautiful home made jams, breads and croissants etc, local cheese and apple juice. The room was comfortable and very well designed and decorated and opened onto a Very pretty garden full of stunning roses. After 5 days we were sorry to leave

Room Tip: There is no lift so we requested ground floor garden access and was perfect
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD4CHINON, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Bonjour Margaret,
it's very kind of you for taking the time to write a comment on our hotel family.
True this year my garden is more beautiful than the other years, and for your next visit even more beautiful!
I am even more jams, only for food lovers!
Have a very nice day Margaret
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews