We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This old hotel built in the 15th century Diderot is an underrated hotel. Quaint with very pleasant staff in an ideal location
The selection of pastries,breads and jams all produced locally are simply delectable
If you are not concerned about stacking a couple of kilos on don't miss this hotel
Definitely underrated

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenhall1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear kenhall1942
Thank you very much for your comment on the stay that you spent in the hotel.
You are right, do not miss the breakfast, and forget the pounds, visiting the Touraine !
We hope to see you soon. even if Melbourn is very far !
Your host
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    165
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
122
522
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

During our long weekend in the Loire valley we spend one night in this nice hotel - it's small, family-run, bike-friendly (the bicycle corner even provides towels to dry your saddle, unique service ;-) in a lovely old building. Very friendly owners, and by no means miss the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Kakisi
A big thank you for your nice comments, which encourage us all in the beginning of the season.
We are very pleased that the atmosphere of our hotel is right for you, we would, in fact, that our visitors feel a little "at home" ...
At this time, the napkins bikes are very helpful with the rain!
Best regards from the wet Chinon.
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can't fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and didn't laugh when I tried to speak French although they did all speak English; the location was ideal for my purposes (not far from the station and the shops; the facilities were everything you could desire;the breakfasts were superb. Altogether a wonderful long weekend and a most satisfying experience. I must find an excuse to go there again ! I know that I shan't be disappointed.
Raymond W

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Cher Raymond,
Your comment touches all of us here, your kindness, and your humor ... we are ready to welcome you next time, and we will talk only French, and always without laughing!
Thank you very much for having selected Hotel Diderot, see you soon... England is not so far!
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

That the Hotel Diderot is rated at only two stars is a travesty. I was instantly impressed by the owners and the facilities. It has a warm home feeling and we were well pleased with our room. The breakfast was excellent, with homemade jams as a centerpiece with excellent breads and coffee. Chinon is a nice town, especially if you like white wines. We enjoyed two nice dinners at local restaurants. The owner/hosts were especially hospitable and helpful to us, recommending a local independent vintner, who we really enjoyed visiting. A repeat visit to the Diderot is on our list as it also participates in the "La Loire et Velo" cycling program. An excellent experience!

Room Tip: The first floor overlooking the center was very appealing (room 16)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Bonjour Mike
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely reviews, I am always impressed by your kind words.
My team and I even, working hard to give the best picture of this beautiful part of France. You may have noticed that we are the "Garden of France", the name is justified, fruits, wine, vegetables, chateaux.... and "the Loire à Velos route" for all.
Thank you again, see you soon.
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my third trip to Chinon and third stay at the fine Hotel Diderot. The staff were very helpful as in previous visits giving us all the information we would need for our stay. Our room was excellent, we stayed in one of the rooms off the main courtyard. It was spacious, spotless and had an excellent bathroom. Of course there was one other reason for staying here and that was the superb breakfast. Fresh food, a fine selection of bread and croissants and an enormous range of homemade jams. What more can you ask for to start the day. Chinon is a fine place and Hotel Diderot a great place to stay for your visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald0665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Cher Gerry
It's to me to thank you for your loyalty, your kindness, regale you with all the jams that we bake here.
Be assured that we will always have the pleasure of seeing you, you who have come from far away to come and see us.
Thank you very much, see you soon
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great base to explore the Loire Chateaux with lots of attractions within the town of Chinon. Family-run hotel with excellent personal attention, comfortable bedrooms and special breakfast service. Also continuously upgrading their facilities. Definitely worth more than its 2 star rating!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Merci merci beaucoup !
What a pleasure to hear from you, we are delighted.
In fact we are all full of stars here, Martine, Françoise and myself! plus all our employees who every day, welcome you and let you live, this house your home!
The simplest things are definitely the best and you have understood everything.
Big thank you to you, and see you soon
Laurent your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Don't be put off by the two star rating. This is nothing like a normal French two star hotel. It is spotless, charming and quirky and you will be made very welcome by the owners. The rating is probably because it doesn't have a restaurant but that doesn't matter as there are numerous restaurants just a few minutes walk away to suit all tastes and pockets. We have stayed at the Diderot many times since we discovered it and will continue to do so in the future. I would thoroughly recommend it to anybody looking for a peaceful oasis in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyfarmholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends
Thank you for thinking of writing this nice message,
Thank you again for choosing our home for base to explore the Loire valley.
We are pleased than yout love our run family hotel and for you it is a spotless two star hotel.
We all work here, always make you happy !
A bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
241 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#7 of 15 in Chinon
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Property: Hotel Diderot
Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diderot 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing