We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do as you're told in this hotel”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on a Backroads Tour. Our room on the ground floor was nicely decorated but with some drawbacks. There was no window - only a door onto the outside garden area so if we left it open people in the garden could see us. It was hot and there were no fans or airconditioning. We were told not to use the pretty cushions on the beds "they are for decoration only" and another of our group was told not to sit on the beds. The beds were hard, no shower cap, no facewashers, no tissues, so I can understand the 2 star rating.

There were signs saying we were not to take our own food and drinks onto the outside terrace and if we wanted a 'picnique' they could suggest somewhere in town where we could go. I can see their point about people carrousing outside all night, but they came and packed up the chairs early in the evening anyway, so this would not happen and it would have been nice to sit out there quietly drinking our own bottle of wine. A little too officious for me.

Breakfast was interesting - a nice fresh chevre cheese was served with honey and walnuts, and there were baguettes and many, many jars of the jam they make (and sell). The plain yoghurt was good. However, there is a limit to how much bread and jam you can eat and compared to the spreads put on by other hotels this was cute but not very expensive for them.
Be warned - the owners spy on you - one knocked on our door in the dark because he saw a wet shirt hanging on a hanger (our own) on a window latch. There was no chance of any drips on the floor so we thought that was unnecessary.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs for a breeze, although you will have to carry your cases up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faypeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Cher Monsieur,
We are so disappointed that during your stay with us, our services were not up to your expectations ...
We are always present here at the hotel (we live here, this is our home). You could see me upon your arrival, of your return from your dinner, to the breakfast that I serve every day.
In no way I am a spy, but just worried, that a wet shirt , can stain the precious wall fabrics or curtains. The clothes drying on windows is unsightly, on our beautiful facade. That is why I propose you to dry your clothes for free in our laundry room (this service is proposed in our little hotel information book at your disposal in your room).
You have several opportunities to ask me for a fan, or how to open your room windows.
Your room has in fact two openings on the garden : a window that opens 90 ° across the entire width of the opening, and a side window.
We ask our customers to not eat on the terrace for two reasons simple to understand : the noise, as you understood, and the fact that we have a bar that is part a our business activity.
However, we hope, that your trip to France was a whole very satisfactory.
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 928 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Françoise, Martine et Laurent made us feel very welcome in this way above average characterful hotel. It is perfectly situated in Chinon, itself at the centre of this fascinating region. They gave us great advice about where to eat and couldn't have done more to help us get the best out of our four day stay.

We can't recommend Hotel Diderot highly enough. Service, rooms and the beautiful courtyard are all charming. Ignore the two stars - they are meaningless here, but do enjoy the fabulous home made jams for breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in what may be described as the annex though they don't call it that as kit is part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Cher Philip
Thank you for taking the time to make us a very nice report.
Martine, Francoise and myself, we are very sensitive.
We are lucky to be born here, in a historic town full of heritage, good wine and food production...
We hope to see you one next time on your way from England.
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this very pretty small hotel used as a base for a touring holiday in the Loire. The outstanding feature of this hotel - apart from its excellent location and pretty building - is the excellent welcome provided by the owners and all the staff. They seem to take a genuine interest in their guests' holiday and enjoyment; nothing is too much trouble; they will recommend and book restaurants for you and are interested in your feedback. There is always a member of staff available if you wish to order tea or drinks (no restaurant). The breakfast is wholesome and the atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed, warm and welcoming. I had a perfectly adequate room in the 'Paviliion' with shower (excellent supply of hot water) but I think larger rooms in the main building are probably more attractive and spacious. But overall, a very successful choice. Would go again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room in the main building, on courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbtravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Cher Client,
Thank you, thank you,
Your friends if they are nice as you, will be welcome. You have fully understood the spirit that animates us. We propose simple things, irreproachable quality ... and rare.
We offer 23 rooms all different, with beautiful fabrics, you still have 22 rooms to try!
Merci beaucoup
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We and another couple spent two days and nights at Hotel Diderot. Every moment from check-in to check-out was excellent. As many reviews have noted, part of the charm of this property is the warm welcome from siblings, Laurent, Francoise, and Marine. They are a talented and well-coordinated team who seem to go out of their way to extend warm hospitality. The rooms were well-appointed and a good value. The breakfast was delightful. A hint: breakfast service begins at 7:15 but when I went downstairs at 6:45 looking for a cup of coffee, Laurent practically fell over himself to bring me service on a beautiful tray. That is hospitality with a capital "H" Francoise II (she is an employee, not family) recommended La Bonne France for dinner which was outstanding - A wonderful experience! Wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: There are no lifts, and the stairs are steep, so travelers with mobility issues should be wary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Cher George
Thank you for taking the time to write a review postif so nice! My whole team is happy to have participated in the success of your visit to the Loire Valley. I promise you to always prepare a very good coffee in the morning, it's my reputation, and I'm proud of it!
This family spirit, as you said "siblings, Laurent, Francoise, and Marine. They are a talented and well-coordinated team who seem to go out of their way to extend warm hospitality.
Merci for your visit, for choosing us.
Best regards
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived about 6.30pm in the evening after walking from the train station. The hotel was not difficult to find as there were signs on the main street of Chinon near the river directing us there. We were personally greeted by one of the female owners and given a tour of the hotel and then accompanied to our room (20), which was on the ground floor opening onto the courtyard and garden. I had requested a ground floor room when booking due to my having a bad back and knees (and there are so many other stairs everywhere in France it is a relief not to have to climb the last lot of the day to get to your room). The room was recently renovated with a lovely mix of antiques, good quality linen and a brand new modern and brightly coloured bathroom with a proper shower (heaven in France!), all spotlessly clean. There are other traveller photos on this page of the same room. We then had a drink from the bar and sat in the courtyard and asked for a restaurant recommendation. Local restaurant menus were produced for our perusal and a booking was made by phone on our behalf. We slept well, as the bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. Breakfast was a delight. I had read all about the jams, and being gluten intolerant had asked about the possibility of a gluten-free breakfast option. I was so excited - the hosts had baked gluten-free bread especially for me. So I got to taste the wonderful jams on a selection of GF bread. When I asked for hot chocolate as my beverage, I received a whole jug of the lovely stuff! We purchased the Hotels' jam recipe book and are looking forward to attempting to replicate some of them and revisit our good memories of Hotel Diderot in Chinon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Anne,
My answer will be short: Thank you for your nice comment,
You understand the spirit of this hotel.
We do our best to represent this wonderful part of France, rich in history, traditions, our way of life here, we are proud of ..
You will always be welcome, and I will bake gluten-free bread, if you ask me.
Best regards
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Diderot numerous times since 2004. Laurent, Francoise, and Martine are delightful hosts, showing warm hospitality to each of their guests. Each morning we prepared our day under the expert guidance of Laurent over a breakfast of fresh fruits, breads, homemade jams yogurt and coffee. The hotel is a short walk from our favorite chateau, Chinon which recently has added a new visitors' center. Over the years, the Diderot has consistently remodeled/renovated its rooms adding decorative details, beautiful wallpapers and high quality bathroom fixtures. We recommend to all travelers who want to discover the real Loire Valley.

D&S, California

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear David
It is a real pleasure to read your comment. Like everyone here, I'm happy to see you every time.
I am delighted to share my interests with you, our region is full of incredible small and large monuments. So I start to program, for your next visit unusual places.
From all here : Thank you
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four days in Sept. while visiting
the area's various chateaux. Room with courtyard view was spartan but clean. Bathroom adequate but not up-dated. Ample and tasty cold breakfast featured variety of jams. Rates fair.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Cher Monsieur,
We are pleased that you have chosen our hotel to visit the western part of the valley of the Loire. Our hotel like many in France, are being renovated.
We offer some rooms spartan, simple, clean, everything you would expect from a 2 star hotel.
If you return the next year, your room (may be 14) will be completely redone.
We keep only our sense of hospitality, the quality of our products, which are the reputation of the family hotel.
So... see your soon
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
464 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: $68 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing