We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small country hotel”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this very pretty small hotel used as a base for a touring holiday in the Loire. The outstanding feature of this hotel - apart from its excellent location and pretty building - is the excellent welcome provided by the owners and all the staff. They seem to take a genuine interest in their guests' holiday and enjoyment; nothing is too much trouble; they will recommend and book restaurants for you and are interested in your feedback. There is always a member of staff available if you wish to order tea or drinks (no restaurant). The breakfast is wholesome and the atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed, warm and welcoming. I had a perfectly adequate room in the 'Paviliion' with shower (excellent supply of hot water) but I think larger rooms in the main building are probably more attractive and spacious. But overall, a very successful choice. Would go again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room in the main building, on courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbtravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Cher Client,
Thank you, thank you,
Your friends if they are nice as you, will be welcome. You have fully understood the spirit that animates us. We propose simple things, irreproachable quality ... and rare.
We offer 23 rooms all different, with beautiful fabrics, you still have 22 rooms to try!
Merci beaucoup
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 928 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We and another couple spent two days and nights at Hotel Diderot. Every moment from check-in to check-out was excellent. As many reviews have noted, part of the charm of this property is the warm welcome from siblings, Laurent, Francoise, and Marine. They are a talented and well-coordinated team who seem to go out of their way to extend warm hospitality. The rooms were well-appointed and a good value. The breakfast was delightful. A hint: breakfast service begins at 7:15 but when I went downstairs at 6:45 looking for a cup of coffee, Laurent practically fell over himself to bring me service on a beautiful tray. That is hospitality with a capital "H" Francoise II (she is an employee, not family) recommended La Bonne France for dinner which was outstanding - A wonderful experience! Wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: There are no lifts, and the stairs are steep, so travelers with mobility issues should be wary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Cher George
Thank you for taking the time to write a review postif so nice! My whole team is happy to have participated in the success of your visit to the Loire Valley. I promise you to always prepare a very good coffee in the morning, it's my reputation, and I'm proud of it!
This family spirit, as you said "siblings, Laurent, Francoise, and Marine. They are a talented and well-coordinated team who seem to go out of their way to extend warm hospitality.
Merci for your visit, for choosing us.
Best regards
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived about 6.30pm in the evening after walking from the train station. The hotel was not difficult to find as there were signs on the main street of Chinon near the river directing us there. We were personally greeted by one of the female owners and given a tour of the hotel and then accompanied to our room (20), which was on the ground floor opening onto the courtyard and garden. I had requested a ground floor room when booking due to my having a bad back and knees (and there are so many other stairs everywhere in France it is a relief not to have to climb the last lot of the day to get to your room). The room was recently renovated with a lovely mix of antiques, good quality linen and a brand new modern and brightly coloured bathroom with a proper shower (heaven in France!), all spotlessly clean. There are other traveller photos on this page of the same room. We then had a drink from the bar and sat in the courtyard and asked for a restaurant recommendation. Local restaurant menus were produced for our perusal and a booking was made by phone on our behalf. We slept well, as the bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. Breakfast was a delight. I had read all about the jams, and being gluten intolerant had asked about the possibility of a gluten-free breakfast option. I was so excited - the hosts had baked gluten-free bread especially for me. So I got to taste the wonderful jams on a selection of GF bread. When I asked for hot chocolate as my beverage, I received a whole jug of the lovely stuff! We purchased the Hotels' jam recipe book and are looking forward to attempting to replicate some of them and revisit our good memories of Hotel Diderot in Chinon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Anne,
My answer will be short: Thank you for your nice comment,
You understand the spirit of this hotel.
We do our best to represent this wonderful part of France, rich in history, traditions, our way of life here, we are proud of ..
You will always be welcome, and I will bake gluten-free bread, if you ask me.
Best regards
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Diderot numerous times since 2004. Laurent, Francoise, and Martine are delightful hosts, showing warm hospitality to each of their guests. Each morning we prepared our day under the expert guidance of Laurent over a breakfast of fresh fruits, breads, homemade jams yogurt and coffee. The hotel is a short walk from our favorite chateau, Chinon which recently has added a new visitors' center. Over the years, the Diderot has consistently remodeled/renovated its rooms adding decorative details, beautiful wallpapers and high quality bathroom fixtures. We recommend to all travelers who want to discover the real Loire Valley.

D&S, California

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear David
It is a real pleasure to read your comment. Like everyone here, I'm happy to see you every time.
I am delighted to share my interests with you, our region is full of incredible small and large monuments. So I start to program, for your next visit unusual places.
From all here : Thank you
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four days in Sept. while visiting
the area's various chateaux. Room with courtyard view was spartan but clean. Bathroom adequate but not up-dated. Ample and tasty cold breakfast featured variety of jams. Rates fair.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Cher Monsieur,
We are pleased that you have chosen our hotel to visit the western part of the valley of the Loire. Our hotel like many in France, are being renovated.
We offer some rooms spartan, simple, clean, everything you would expect from a 2 star hotel.
If you return the next year, your room (may be 14) will be completely redone.
We keep only our sense of hospitality, the quality of our products, which are the reputation of the family hotel.
So... see your soon
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Hotel Diderot for 2 nights whilst travelling around the Loire Valley & it certainly lived up to reviews we'd read previously on Tripadvisor. From the warm welcome you recieve, the lovely rooms, great atmosphere to the breakfast experience with all those jams everything is well presented & so much care & attention given to every detail by everyone involved. We had a beautiful room, which was spacious & fitted out with beautiful French furniture, the bathroom looked newly re-fitted & we enjoyed views across the courtyard. The hotel itself was really busy & everyone appeared to migrate to the beautiful terrace during the late afternoon for a few glasses of very reasonably priced local wine & to catch up on the days events. Breakfast is a great experience with guests sitting at big rustic tables, all produce is local & fresh with fruit salad, yoghurt & locally pressed apple juice followed by lovely big baskets of different breads & croissants which you have to sample with local goats cheese & walnuts. And then there is the jam, so so many different ones to choose from all produced by the owner, I could of happily sat all day trying each & everyone of them!! We absoloutley loved our stay at the hotel & it will certainly go on our list of top 10 favourites which we'd gladly recommend to anyone who appreciates excellent standards in quirky surroundings. We'll be back, if only to try some more of those jams!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Chèrs Madame Monsieur,
Always happy to read your report. For me and my team, your joy is our greatest reward.
We continue like this. it is a real, humble and authentic image of France that we offer.
The room you had, in fact is the room of the last daughter of the owners, and the furniture dates from the late 19th century, but the mattress, it is new ! as the bathroom!
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel came highly recommended from fellow Trip Advisors, and it certainly did not disappoint! It's a small family-run hotel with around 17 rooms that is absolutely charming. It's at one end of Chinon, but easily within walking distance of the fortress, shops and restaurants. Aside from the rustic charm the place exudes, the hotel is also known for its homemade jams that are served with breakfast each morning. There is an additional charge for breakfast, but it's well worth it. They have fresh fruit, freshly baked breads (croissants, toast, baguettes), along with fresh goat cheese and honey and a HUGE assortment of their own jams. It's a wonderful way to start the day. The staff are fantastic as well. They all speak English extremely well and are more than happy to help plan trips, call restaurants to make reservations or just provide helpful information about the area. There is also a small bar there at the hotel, where they serve local beer and wine (and make a mean gin and tonic!!).The rooms are all slightly different, but very comfortable, and include free wi-fi and flat screen tv's. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is traveling to this area.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small and not connected to the main house. This is where I stayed (as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Madame Monsieur
We are pleased to have shared with you, a good experience here at the hotel Diderot.
Hoping to see you again very soon, we wish you a very good summer.
Merci beaucoup
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
464 reviews
23.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: $68 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing