We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Diderot
Nearby Hotels
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$114
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$91
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
706
174
42
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
174
42
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsgoat cheeseapple juicebreadloire valleyjean pierreowners and staffstar hotelbeautiful hotelsecure parkinglocal producethe ground floorglass of winemain buildingbreakfast rooma real treatcharming town
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 938 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four days in Sept. while visiting
the area's various chateaux. Room with courtyard view was spartan but clean. Bathroom adequate but not up-dated. Ample and tasty cold breakfast featured variety of jams. Rates fair.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Cher Monsieur,
We are pleased that you have chosen our hotel to visit the western part of the valley of the Loire. Our hotel like many in France, are being renovated.
We offer some rooms spartan, simple, clean, everything you would expect from a 2 star hotel.
If you return the next year, your room (may be 14) will be completely redone.
We keep only our sense of hospitality, the quality of our products, which are the reputation of the family hotel.
So... see your soon
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Hotel Diderot for 2 nights whilst travelling around the Loire Valley & it certainly lived up to reviews we'd read previously on Tripadvisor. From the warm welcome you recieve, the lovely rooms, great atmosphere to the breakfast experience with all those jams everything is well presented & so much care & attention given to every detail by everyone involved. We had a beautiful room, which was spacious & fitted out with beautiful French furniture, the bathroom looked newly re-fitted & we enjoyed views across the courtyard. The hotel itself was really busy & everyone appeared to migrate to the beautiful terrace during the late afternoon for a few glasses of very reasonably priced local wine & to catch up on the days events. Breakfast is a great experience with guests sitting at big rustic tables, all produce is local & fresh with fruit salad, yoghurt & locally pressed apple juice followed by lovely big baskets of different breads & croissants which you have to sample with local goats cheese & walnuts. And then there is the jam, so so many different ones to choose from all produced by the owner, I could of happily sat all day trying each & everyone of them!! We absoloutley loved our stay at the hotel & it will certainly go on our list of top 10 favourites which we'd gladly recommend to anyone who appreciates excellent standards in quirky surroundings. We'll be back, if only to try some more of those jams!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Chèrs Madame Monsieur,
Always happy to read your report. For me and my team, your joy is our greatest reward.
We continue like this. it is a real, humble and authentic image of France that we offer.
The room you had, in fact is the room of the last daughter of the owners, and the furniture dates from the late 19th century, but the mattress, it is new ! as the bathroom!
Your host
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel came highly recommended from fellow Trip Advisors, and it certainly did not disappoint! It's a small family-run hotel with around 17 rooms that is absolutely charming. It's at one end of Chinon, but easily within walking distance of the fortress, shops and restaurants. Aside from the rustic charm the place exudes, the hotel is also known for its homemade jams that are served with breakfast each morning. There is an additional charge for breakfast, but it's well worth it. They have fresh fruit, freshly baked breads (croissants, toast, baguettes), along with fresh goat cheese and honey and a HUGE assortment of their own jams. It's a wonderful way to start the day. The staff are fantastic as well. They all speak English extremely well and are more than happy to help plan trips, call restaurants to make reservations or just provide helpful information about the area. There is also a small bar there at the hotel, where they serve local beer and wine (and make a mean gin and tonic!!).The rooms are all slightly different, but very comfortable, and include free wi-fi and flat screen tv's. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is traveling to this area.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small and not connected to the main house. This is where I stayed (as a single traveler) and found it to be totally fine. However, couples or people traveling with children may want to opt for a larger room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Madame Monsieur
We are pleased to have shared with you, a good experience here at the hotel Diderot.
Hoping to see you again very soon, we wish you a very good summer.
Merci beaucoup
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We checked many reviews of the Hotel Diderot and it certainly won our hearts upon arrival. I have a slight mobility issue and had requested a main floor room; as soon as we drove out a lovely girl came out to show us how to park in the handicapped parking spot which they had reserved for us for 2 nights at no cost. We had a beautiful main floor room with access from the terrace with outdoor chairs and tables for us to use. We were a party of 6, 3 couples so the other two couples who stayed upstairs would come down to our room for an afternoon aperitif. Staff and management went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and breakfast was exceptional. I had no idea that Chinon would be as big as it is and we certainly enjoyed eating in the square and visiting the wonderful Fortress which was the best example of of castle fortification I have ever seen. The videos and media presentations were first rate; you really felt like you'd gone back to Henry II and Joan of Arc's time. The Hotel was exactly as portrayed online. I would love to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: I loved being downstairs (Room 18) because I have difficulty with stairs, however our friends had beautiful rooms upstairs, with big windows opening to the courtyard and fireplaces.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoopWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Madame Monsieur, Chers Clients
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel Diderot
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in our " well hidden gem" but do not tell all !!!
Best regards from the siblings,
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We last stayed here in the summer of 2010 and enjoyed i so much we came back again. We stayed 4 nights and despite it being out of season a lot of Chinon was still open and lively in the evening. The Hotel's charm comes from the warmth of the welcome from the owners and the quality of the service in all respects. Ideally placed just off the centre and with very comfortable rooms. The breakfasts with all the home made jams are very convivial and an aperitif in the garden in the evening rounds off the day. We will definitely be back next year.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mkelly1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Mkely1309
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
And be sure that you will come back here next year, I cooked, full of new jams !!!
My sisters and I, and all here, thank you for your kindness.
Best regards from the very wet Chinon today.
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews