We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely little restaurant with cracking Fench cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cote Jardin

Cote Jardin
Ranked #28 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Price range: $11 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dans un cadre unique a Chinon maison datant du XI siecle vous decouvriez nos specialites du terroir : Aperitif Charles XI, coq au vin de Chinon, ragout d'andouillette et de ris de veau au gamay de touraine , saumon grille au beurre rouge de Chinon.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely little restaurant with cracking Fench cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We wandered all around Chinon looking for a typical French restaurant. We found this little place where you eat outside in the small garden. Lovely setting. Coq au vin is superb!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Corner with a hidden surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We discovered this restaurant while heading for an adjacent recommended restaurant which proved to be closed for the night. Anyhow we ventured in and were pleased we did as it proved to be very enjoyable experience. We ate outside in the garden area on a nice warm evening which added to the enjoyment. The friendly service, food quality and surrounding were perfect. I would say that perhaps the bill was a bit higher than we would have expected but then that has been our experience everywhere in France this year with just one exception. Compared with last year we found that bills were about 10-15% more expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Decent but overpriced for what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cute little garden spot lured us in after we walked to check out the place next door that's higher rated on TripAdvisor. The food was decent, but really was overpriced compared to what we've had at other places here in the Loire. The cot was pretty good, but the canard was very overcooked. The desserts appeared to be a total afterthought and I wish we had skipped them altogether.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparecorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“average but sympathetic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had two dinners in this restaurant which at least in our experience were visited mainly by French costomers, a little out of the touristy route of small Chinon. It was not very warm, so the 'jardin' was closed, and the restaurant inside is a long narrow alley, not all that inviting. The food is quite ok, but not very special. Generous, however. The faux filet is quite a meal, and the wine list boasts many good wines of the region. The service was quite friendly, but lacked that special touch one would expect in a typical french resto. A good place to have a decent meal, but not for a romantic outing or for something special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NetherlandsBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

After discovering this restaurant in November last year, further visits were made in June and September this year, and we are still highly impressed. I just love their brochettes of scallops, and the duck with foie gras is always cooked to perfection. On other visits, the salmon has been sampled, and again, found to be very tasty. As for their desserts, mention has to be made of the pomme au four avec confit de chinon..it's what my husband returns for every time! I am quite happy with a Colonel,sorbet with vodka... or a liegeois. Service is friendly, and we are now greeted as (almost) regular diners, which is lovely. There is a good wine list, for when we are staying in Chinon, i.e. not driving into town for dinner. We hope to return soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifiHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Jardin also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Cote Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing