We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop en route to Brittany from Haute Savoie”
Review of Les Cathelinettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cathelinettes
Ranked #5 of 22 Chinon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quick stop en route to Brittany from Haute Savoie”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped here for 1 night en route to our holiday in Brittany. The owners were very friendly (good advice on wineries to visit in area), rooms clean, location is quite private with easy access to town. There is ample parking and a great breakfast. However best feature was the very welcome pool (it was 37°C when we were there in late July). I think every single guest was in the pool...

Room Tip: Our room (I think it was called 'Voyage') was very hot in the summer sun but the owners did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
111
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Sylvie is the perfect hostess. Greeted us with open arms and showed us to a wonderful self-contained "unit" at the front/side of the house, adjacent to the pool and BBQ. Room was huge and extremely clean. Likewise the bathroom. Would be the biggest bathroom (separate toilet) of any of the B&B's we stayed at while traveling around France. The breakfast was fantastic. Home made jams and other unusual, but very tasty, French breakfast treats. The overall experience was so good we decided to stay an extra day. You won't be disappointed. You will however need a car to get there. Only a couple of minutes from the town centre however.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Since Les Cathelinettes offer WiFi, we tried to have a "working vacation" here. The first 3 days the Internet connection was very bad. We complained several times. The 4th day the Internet connection stopped completely, which forced us to leave (some people have to work for their money), having spent 5 days but having paid for 7 days. We asked for a discount, but although Les Cathelinettes promised us something they could not deliver (WiFi), we had to pay for a full week. That is apart from the costs we had to pay for an extra two nights at a hotel with reliable WiFi. So, we paid for 7 days for a gite with WiFi, we got 5 days without WiFi connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A perfect haven when we were tired from cycling and the rain came down...........warm hospitality and everything to revive us. We would love to go again.........

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roverwestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time here. It's a beautiful B&B - our room was gorgeous, as was our ensuite. The grounds (with swimming pool and garden) were lovely and breakfasts were delicious. The best part however was our hosts. Sylvie and Roger were fantastic - always charming, friendly, helpful and hospitable. Always so happy and full of energy - what great people. They made our stay extremely enjoyable and we left smiling :)

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

What can we say, our hosts are definitely in the right job, perfectly charming and entertaining, would have brought them home with us if we could! Maybe we're biased because we love Chinon anyway but they were a ray of sunshine in an otherwise underwhelming holiday and we'll be back the first chance we get.

Room Tip: There's a range of accommodation but ours had a separate entrance and was right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After 5 days in Paris, we did as the Parisians do and headed out of town for the beauty and peace of the Loire Valley. We could not have had asked for a better experience than what we found at Les Cathelinettes, where we were hosted by the wonderful, gregarious and supremely hospitable M. and Mme. Benini.

We stayed in the room by the pool, the former master bedroom of the house, which includes a master bathroom (and a whirlpool tub), much like what you would find in modern construction in the US. Both were very spacious and nicely appointed--not in the cliche style of B&B's, with their 'Gone with the Wind' or Martha's Vineyard 'themes', but in the comfortable style of a normal guestroom, in a normal home. After long bike rides during the day, it was a treat to return to the quiet room and plush bed. (Nougatine, the family kitten, which, like a rooster, started to meow around 6:30am, was the only impediment to sleep.)

And that is the crux of what made our experience so memorable at Cathelinettes : it felt not as if we were anonymous guests at a hotel, but as if we were the personal guests of the Beninis in their own house.

As others have already attested, the breakfast was delicious and filling. The homemade preserves (from home-grown fruit, it seems) were spectacular. Better yet, request Mme. Sylvie's 5-(or 6-) course dinner, and have yourself a relaxing and delicious evening on the patio, a view of the valley all around you. If TripAdvisor permitted more granularity, I would give 5 stars for the duck course alone, and another 5 stars for the cheese course. And when you're full from the duck and the cheese, and your head is a bit tipsy from M. Benini's home-made "special" aperitif and from all the wine, make room for the delicious dessert, weight-loss resolutions be damned!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
4.0 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
136 reviews
7.3 mi away
Le Clos Chavigny
Le Clos Chavigny
#2 of 22 in Chinon
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Imago
Imago
#1 of 2 in La Roche-Clermault
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cathelinettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cathelinettes

Property: Les Cathelinettes
Address: 2 Allee des Cathelinettes, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and refined luminous bedroom with entrance,direct access to the pool and garden.1 km from the center of Chinon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Cathelinettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cathelinettes Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing