We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, idyllic, and perfect for a large family”
other travelers have booked this property
view from the houses on the castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the houses on the castle
The house and the studio next to the pool Pool in front of the houses with elec cover for securety.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
view from the houses on the castle
The house and the studio next to the pool
Pool in front of the houses with elec cover for securety.
sunbeds next to the pool
large bathroom with bath and toilet
one of the shower bathrooms.
One of the 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds and showerroom.
one of the shower bathrooms.
studio next to the pool
bathroom in studio
option: tower room, can be rented as a extra expansion.
diningroom
Part of living room
part of the kitchen
Part of the living with the fireplace
Entrance to Le Bois du Chillou
Privet tennis in the garden next to the houses.
Tennis behind the old walls
view on the tennis court
terrace next to the house and the studio
le bois du chillou in the middle of the fields with the trees of the entrance allee.
Childrens area with sand corner space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SusieM56
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, idyllic, and perfect for a large family”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Le Bois Du Chillou with our extended family, and I am quite sure we will be back again. It is the most beautiful property, relaxing, peaceful and just ideal for a large family or group of friends - perfectly secluded so that you can be as quiet as you wish, but if you like your music a little louder, there is no-one close enough to mind. The pool is lovely; the accommodation is comfortable, flexible and family-friendly. Chinon is a lovely town, with plenty of vineyards to visit nearby, for those who are so inclined. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded location and lovely pool
Liked least: One more loo would be really useful upstairs in the main house.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa43
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful property”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can't begin to express the beauty and the amenities of this property. We were a three generation family of nine. This le Bois du Chillou provided us with sufficient room and entertainment to keep everyone happy. The two buildings and tower room provided privacy for all and the large congregation areas in the house gave us plenty of time together. The kitchen is fully equipped so meals can be prepared there, eliminating too many restaurant trips. The nearest grocery is only a few minutes away. The tower room lacks a bath, but the hike to the nearest house is a short one. The Loire Valley is the most often visited area in France, so there is much to see if you are interested in history or wine production.
Kari ten Hagen was always responsive to our inquiries and requests and a delight to deal with.
Know that a car is a necessity in this area.
I highly recommend this property for any group who want to vacation in the Loire. Our experience was entirely positive.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy B
1 review
“Great house, location and facilities - sadly a bitter ending”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An ideal house for a family holiday with friends and young children. Beautiful property with great facilities sand pit, swings as well as pool and tennis court. Very private setting amidst pretty countryside and lovely French villages. We had a great time and many moments of laughter. Sadly, we were left with a bitter feeling when 120 Euro's were deducted from our security deposit due to the fact that the floors or the outside terrace were not mopped despite us paying 150 Euro's towards additional cleaning at the time of booking and broom cleaning the inside and hosing the terrace as requested in the guest information pack. At the time of departure David ( the caretaker ) was all smiles and gave us the thumbs up, but once we got home we were told about the deduction. It just smells of another way of bumping up the weekly rate. This practice will certainly stop us from returning which is a great shame as the house , facilities and location was liked by all.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2014
Disappointment of a houseowner. These Quests have apparently not read the H.L. website that says they pay E75,-for endcleaning and not E150,-as mentionned in their revieuw.

Indeed sadly we had to reduce E120,-for more then 8 hours of Extra cleaning like removing greece,candles,burned in on outsite diningtable,terasses,BBQ's,insite floors,oven,etc.and will do this again if necessary inspide of a bad revieuw.

We will spare you further details but ofcourse this is not a matter of making money.

These quests have obviously not read (after many requests)the house rules because during their abcence the left the main entrance gate wide open several times.

This all proves our disappointment that these quests have shown so little repect for other persons belongings.

Bastiaan and Kari ten Hagen
Chateau Le Bois du Chillou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was just how it was described
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gliwice, Poland
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy, sports
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arn1812
Riga
1 review
“The good life”
Reviewed July 7, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We needed a place for two families, in total 10 people. It is not easy to find this number of beds and still maintain a good level of comfort. Le Bois du Chillou was the ideal solution, as the two houses offered met our requirements perfectly. In fact it exceeded our expectations. The setting is perfect. Far enough from any neighbours to be completely private, but not too far by car to the supermarket etc.
We had a great time time, the pool was ideal and the tennis court helped the kids use up all excess energy. The interior decoration is very tastefull and we did not lack anything from pots and pans to knives and forks.
I would recommend Le Bois du Chillou as the perfect holiday retreat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz S
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Dear Franz and Family,
We where very happy to meet you and left our property in such good hands!
Thank you so much for leaving our property as it where your own!
We where sorry that we have met you and your nice family only a few moments because we had to leave and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Many thanks again for renting with us.
Best regards,Kari and Bastiaan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing