We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite trade-offs, but a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De France
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel de France is a mixed bag. On the up side: it's located right on the main square where all the action is, offers parking for an extra charge, has a nice terrace where you can hang out, and has a charming mish-mash of old architectural features in the public spaces (exposed half-timbering and the like). On the down side: the rooms and their furnishing are totally boring. Breakfast was very good. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the square. You get a great view of the chateau as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had stayed here before and loved it but this trip was different. While the Hotel de France is in a perfect location in the main square of Chinon, it has no elevator, so you are likely to be climbing many flights of winding stairs with your luggage. It is in a beautiful old 16th C. house with tapestried walls and the rooms are very nice.

The really big turn off happened at check in. We were a group of five and wanted to leave our luggage off before going to the castle. That was fine, but when we were led up to the rooms, the person at the desk left the card keys on the dressers without telling us (we had been told some of the rooms were not ready so no one asked for the card key). When we returned that afternoon and asked for the card keys, a young woman now at the desk rather angrily told us we already had them. She insisted we were wrong, and it became quite unpleasant. Later that evening, when the older woman appeared with her, things were cleared up. There is no reason ever to treat guests like the young woman did, and I had the sense when we saw her again she got a lesson in hospitality.

Still it gave me pause about staying there again, especially as my joints are getting older an walking up many flights of stairs is difficult. Still, the hotel is charming in its furnishings and decor.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is the place to stay if you visit this charmig city. It was built on a 17th century building , with original walls but the place was refurbished to meet the expectations of a demanding tourist who seeks comfort surrounded by a magical atmosphere.
The breakfast is awesome and the staff are eager to help and provide useful info about this city.
Chinon is full of history; the castle , Joan of Arc's adventures, beautiful medieval streets to stroll and great cuisine. I highly recommend it. It is the best Best Western I have been to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We lucked into this hotel. Right in the heart of town, with attached free parking, and a great restaurant in the square right in front of the hotel. We could see the castle from our hotel room, which was delightful. The only problem was a typical European problem - our room was on the second floor (3rd level) with no lift. The hotel has a great breakfast included, also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomclubireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I loved this boutique-like hotel so much. It is in the old town and everything you need is nearby (make sure to make a reservation if you go to eat!). The staff is friendly, and the room was more than lovely. I think we got a suite, which was a little expensive, but we just walked in and asked for a room, and that was the cheapest they had. The staff gave us 11 euros off the first price quoted, which was greatly appreciated. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena4vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We last used this hotel 9 years ago, having been regular visitors and we were looking forward to our return. The hotel's situation in the centre of Chinon with great views of the Castle are excellent, but whilst our room and view were fine, the long haul up three flights of stairs was not as easy as it once was, and the fact that the former hotel-front restaurant opening onto the square appears to have been let or sold to a neighbouring restaurant with the hotel using a rather characterless room at the back spoiled what had been a favorite halt. The Hotel de France is now rather ordinary. Having said that, for first time visitors unburdenned by memories, this is a well situated comfortable hotel and a good place to stop off, or base oneself for exploring the Loire valley.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morristravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Right in the market square which is full of tables and surrounded by bar and restaurants. A delightful location to experience France Loire valley town. Not noisy, but a fun place. Loads to see locally including castle close to hotel. Public car parking next to hotel, no need to pay for hotel car park.We had an apartment which is next to hotel so you can do your own meals/snacks. Buy fresh bread from shops short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borderievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Hotel Au Sans Souci
#4 of 15 in Chinon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De France

Address: 47, 49 Place Du General De Gaulle, 37500, Chinon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De France 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chinon
Best Western De France
Chinon Best Western
Best Western Hotel De France Chinon, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing