We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bonne France - CLOSED

La Bonne France
Price range: $12 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple but Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was not our first choice, but fortunately several other restaurants were closed on Tuesday night so we stumbled on this gem. The menu is not very adventurous, but everything was cooked perfectly.

70 euros for a bottle of wine with two three-course menus. Service was prompt and friendly.

You must try the foie grois ravioli. Beautiful delicate pasta that melts in your mouth in a flavorful sauce. One of the best dishes I have tried in France.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“traditional French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Traditional French cuisine we had been looking for after semi-nouveau meals here and there.Lovely ambiance,good service,great food,reasonable prices.One block down from main square at end of pedestrian street. We found this on our last day in area, and regrettably couldnt go back. Recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Bars D, Propriétaire at La Bonne France, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We thank you for defining so well our traditional restaurant. We do not try making a fancy cuisine but a simple one using some fresh products.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely restaurant and the meals we all had were delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nothing to dislike about it. The owner and chef were very helpful and friendly. The surroundings were very nice. Food was delicious. What more do you want?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank deborah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Bars D, Propriétaire at La Bonne France, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are plased to read that you all had a good time dining in our restaurant and we hope to see you again in Chinon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 days in the area and came here twice (we would have returned a 3 time, but then the restaurant was closed)! We were simply enchanté! The food was great and everything we tried was delicious! The service was very nice and the fact that the owner is also the cook made it a great experience! We will certainly return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Best666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“How to enjoy a traditionnal French Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

La Bonne France is a small cozy restaurant in Chinon with lots of atmosphere where you can enjoy some very fine French cuisine at a reasonnable price. The waiter was not only very efficient but also friendly and gave expert advice. The lunch was so good we came back that evening and their desserts are to kill for (red fruit crumble...was my favourite). Best to reserve as it fills very quickly and is small.
Enjoy !
From a foodie
Marie-Madeleine

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Madeleine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Bars D, Propriétaire at La Bonne France, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Marie-Madeleine,
You could not have given a better description of our small restaurant as you did.
Each one of our dish is made with a lot of care to share with you our love for cooking.
Thank you and see you soon in Chinon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne France also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing