We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza's are us!”
Review of Jeanne de France

Jeanne de France
Ranked #47 of 67 Restaurants in Chinon
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pizza's are us!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you're looking for a good pizza, maybe a change from French gourmet style, Jeanne de France will fit the bill. The staff are kattentive, food arrives quickly, freshly cooked pizzas, nice and crisp and hot from the oven. There is plenty of choice of topping and plenty of topping on the pizza, or the other popular choice seemed to be galettes, the savoury pancakes of the region. Pud is a variation on ice-cream. A good experience along the 'pizza express' lines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    60
    26
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Food, Nice Price, Nice Place”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Saturday night arrived as they opened at 1900hrs. Had not booked a table - no problem. Nice menu choice, prices average. Wife and I shared a large Pizza and a large salad washed down with .5lt Red - all very nice, served quickly by attentive staff. Would definately visit again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a quick meal in Chinon if you do not feel like a 3hr gastronomic marathon....”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Chinon is rich with great restaurants, but sometimes you just fancy something familiar, well done, good value and quick - the Jeanne de France ticks those boxes.

I knew this restaurant 20 years ago when I lived in the town for a year and it was a regular of mine. Good to see that the staples of copious salads, big selection of of pizzas and pasta haven't changed.

We had a vegetarian pizza (nice selection of of veg including artichoke, and plus loads of garlic giving plenty of flavour), I and a pizza loaded with merguez sausage, and onions etc (glad to see my favourite was still on the list).

A great location for outside for being part of the town and doing some people watching the.... the only slight negative for me was the house white wine by pichet was a touch sharp...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disappointing, to say the least”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had just arrived in the area, so opted for a (hopefully) quick pizza here, rather than look around elsewhere. There was a long delay before we even saw a menu. We watched as two groups of four would- be diners left, rather than wait any longer...we held on, finally saw the menu, ordered our pizzas....which turned out to be quite stodgy, and not very hot. We had no cutlery, so I went in search of a waiter, gave up, and ended up taking cutlery from another table.

Thankfully, there are far better restaurants in Chinon...we just won't return to this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifiHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Had late night takeaway Pizza”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Albeit 10pm, and not a lot else open in Chinon at that time. Grabbed two Pizzas and took them back to our appartment. Pizzas were pretty average. If you were sitting down for a meal, the location is good, but there are better restaurants in the same square.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaz62wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanne de France also viewed

 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Jeanne de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing