We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, family-friendly chateau!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, family-friendly chateau!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We are a family of 4 who enjoyed a fantastic 3 night stay here in August. We stayed in La Chambre du Chatelain which is exactly as the website shows - stunning & spacious - we particularly loved our vast bedroom with seating area & the kids loved the fact there were toys in their bedroom, plus the unusual shower room set in a circular tower is beautifully done & provided with fluffy white dressing gowns & towels & L'Occitane products.

The large, heated swimming pool was great for relaxing after a busy day sight-seeing.

Charlotte & Jerome are wonderful hosts, they made us feel like friends who were visiting & were so relaxed & easy-going. They were friendly & helpful & were brilliant for offering suggestions of places to go in the area - we all loved the zoo especially.

Charlotte's food was fab, as were the wine recommendations. Our eldest daughter loved their dog so much she didn't want to leave him. Our whole stay was the highlight of our trip to France & we definitely hope to return sometime in the future - if we can get a reservation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyedgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Where to start? Everything about our stay was fantastic! We travel quite a bit and stay in inns and B&B's often, and though we've been to some very nice places before, this one ranks among the top on our list. I always mean to post a tripadvisor review but get lazy and/or busy, but our trip here was so memorable that I decided I will quickly review it while the feeling of vacation is still fresh in our minds!
Let me start by saying that we were traveling with our 17 month old son, and this chateau was a PERFECT fit for us or especially those traveling with small children. It was particularly baby friendly- with a baby cot, changing pad and baby monitor provided to us in our room, baby friendly foods at breakfast and plenty of toys around, plus a huge backyard with a playset as well. Their friendly little dog was a huge hit with our son too! What tipped the scales for us in choosing this inn was it's family friendly bent, and it did not disappoint.
The room was fantastic. I said to Charlotte as soon as we were showed in that usually things looks larger and more beautiful in the photos online, but in this case it was even more impressive in person. The room was huge, immaculate and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was luxurious (and the size of a bedroom!) The bed was bog and comfortable. The extra touches were all around- like bathrobes, heated towel racks, a minibar stocked with food which we used for some of our own foods as well, and the fireplace which was wonderful on chilly fall nights.
If you go you must have a dinner with Charlotte and Jerome and the other guests. which we opted for twice- the food was plentiful and delicious, and the wine did not stop flowing. One night we even had a little wine lesson and game- all in all the dinners there were a great way to spend an evening and get to enjoy the company of our fellow travelers. Traveling with a baby it's sometimes hard to eat out, so we also enjoyed the ability to get some fresh food from the local markets and prepare our own dinner in the guest kitchen.
One of our favorite activities while there was biking through the nearby roads and vineyards - Charlotte and Jerome arranged to have the bikes and baby trailer delivered to the inn. We like to bike but are not very athletic, so the flat roads were perfect for us, and the area quiet and remote enoigh that you could safely bike around with hardly a car in sight. Highly recommended!
The innkepers themselves were a wonderful young couple with 2 small children, who struck the perfect balance between being friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. Exactly what you hope for when staying at a B&B. We had the most wonderful time there, and hope our enthusiastic review conveys this. We thought this inn was a fantastic value, rooms and meals of that quality in the northeast U.S. typically cost us one and a half times as much (even taking the current exchange rate into account!)
We hope to return one day... until then, please don't hesitate to message us if you are considering staying here and have any other questions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Loire Valley Retreat for four nights at the end of September in the Grenier sel room. The chateau is simply charming and has been beautifully renovated. Our room was enormous and very well appointed - felt like our own suite. Everything is very laid back. Breakfast (fresh croissants, bread etc) is laid out in the breakfast room and you help yourself at your own leisure. Charlotte's home cooked meals were delicious and made a lovely change from eating out. We particularly enjoyed our evening eating dinner with Jerome and the other guests, sampling and learning about Jerome's wines - so much so we bought 12 bottles and squeezed them into our car to take home!
We would highly recommend the Loire Valley Retreat for a relaxing stay in the beautiful Loire countryside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_and_William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Charlotte and Jerome putted together a cozy and warm environment in a 15th century Château. A perfect stay for couples and families. Don't miss Charlotte's dinners, the food is superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rargento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a fantastic week here. Charlotte & Jerome are brilliant hosts who have definitely taken time to determine what guests want and need. The Chateau is a beautiful building and the location is lovely and peaceful. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Chateau De Charge is a perfect family retreat! It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Our 2 small boys loved having the space to run around in the court yard and garden and had great fun in the swimming pool and play area. The accommodation was fantastic! Our room was spacious, comfortable and stylish and the boys had an equally super adjoining room stocked with useful baby equipment and toys!
The meals were delicious and we very much enjoyed the wine tasting too!!!
Our hosts Charlotte and Jerome could not have been more helpful and charming! Everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ness_perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here the last 3 days of a 10 day trip to France. On our trip we stayed in 3 different places, one of which was the Park Hyatt in Paris. I'll return to the Loire Valley Retreat before I head back to the Hyatt! Charlotte and Jerome go extra lengths to ensure that you are comfortable. The Chateau was renovated in a wonderful fashion with the rooms having a modern design and amenities while maintaining the old world charm of a 16th century Chateau. The pool was fun to use and in general we found our stay here to be the most relaxing of our trip.

The area was a great shift from the crowds of Paris - every day at least one local town had a market, and we were lucky to be in the area during the yearly festival in Chinon which was great to see. Our hosts setup a tour of the local wine area with a local guide who was English speaking and the tour was both a great value and a great experience.

I hear there were good restaurants in town - but we never tried them. Charlotte is a spectacular cook and we stayed in every night for a meal that was more than reasonably priced and wine that was sold at cost. By the way, Jerome is probably one of the most astute wine aficionados I have met - so if you are a wine enthusiast, his company alone may justify the trip...!

Hopefully, we will visit again someday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
279 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
911 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing