We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Charlotte and Jerome putted together a cozy and warm environment in a 15th century Château. A perfect stay for couples and families. Don't miss Charlotte's dinners, the food is superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rargento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a fantastic week here. Charlotte & Jerome are brilliant hosts who have definitely taken time to determine what guests want and need. The Chateau is a beautiful building and the location is lovely and peaceful. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Chateau De Charge is a perfect family retreat! It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Our 2 small boys loved having the space to run around in the court yard and garden and had great fun in the swimming pool and play area. The accommodation was fantastic! Our room was spacious, comfortable and stylish and the boys had an equally super adjoining room stocked with useful baby equipment and toys!
The meals were delicious and we very much enjoyed the wine tasting too!!!
Our hosts Charlotte and Jerome could not have been more helpful and charming! Everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ness_perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here the last 3 days of a 10 day trip to France. On our trip we stayed in 3 different places, one of which was the Park Hyatt in Paris. I'll return to the Loire Valley Retreat before I head back to the Hyatt! Charlotte and Jerome go extra lengths to ensure that you are comfortable. The Chateau was renovated in a wonderful fashion with the rooms having a modern design and amenities while maintaining the old world charm of a 16th century Chateau. The pool was fun to use and in general we found our stay here to be the most relaxing of our trip.

The area was a great shift from the crowds of Paris - every day at least one local town had a market, and we were lucky to be in the area during the yearly festival in Chinon which was great to see. Our hosts setup a tour of the local wine area with a local guide who was English speaking and the tour was both a great value and a great experience.

I hear there were good restaurants in town - but we never tried them. Charlotte is a spectacular cook and we stayed in every night for a meal that was more than reasonably priced and wine that was sold at cost. By the way, Jerome is probably one of the most astute wine aficionados I have met - so if you are a wine enthusiast, his company alone may justify the trip...!

Hopefully, we will visit again someday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Charlotte and Jerome are the perfect hosts -- welcoming, gracious, extremely knowledgeable and keenly aware of what guests seek in a lovely, sophisticated B&B in a perfect location. My only wish is that we had not arrived so late nor been in a small hurry the following morning as we would have loved to have had much more time to enjoy our surroundings. I would most definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgitelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We chanced upon the chateau on the Stopover Connections' website. While the photos and information led me to expect a high standard of accommodation, we were completely blown over by the reality. As all the reviews repeatedly confirm, the Chateau has been beautifully restored and the rooms are just perfect including the bed which was more comfortable than my own. The luxurious and capacious bedrooms tempt you to spend hours in them but don't give in to that as you will miss the most unique aspect namely the hosts Charlotte and Jerome. Their easy charm quickly brings you to a state of such relaxation that you feel you are holidaying with friends. But there is nothing forced or false about this. They are so obviously genuinely sociable people who love to meet others and to share their detailed knowledge of the area and its wines. Their ease has an infectious quality and soon the guests are speaking freely with one another which is hugely important because this is a small operation with only four rooms. At the same time there is no pressure to socialise. Their five year old Louis is equally sociable and our two boys were whisked off within minutes of arrival to discover the wonders of the grounds - toys, goats, fruit, sword fights, swimming pool and a game of rounders with Jerome and the adults before bed. Charlotte is also a wonderful cook and I cannot recommend highly enough taking your meals in the Chateau whenever you can, especially if you have children. You will eat a far better meal than you're likely to get in the restaurants of nearby Chinon and Jerome's expert hand will guide you to some glorious wines. The children's tastes will be perfectly catered for and they can then run freely about the grounds leaving you to linger over your meal in the company of the other guests or just quietly on your own, as you choose. The week of our arrival was a special one because the Chateau had taken the number 1 spot on Tripadvisor for B and Bs in the Loire. This could not be more richly deserved. Like others who have reviewed this wonderful place, I have never before taken the trouble to write a review.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had a fantastic time at Loire Valley Retreat with our 2 and half year old little girl.
Rooms were very spacious and extremely comfortable. A holiday is so much better with a comfortable bed, and the large beds at Chateau Charge were very comfy!!
Charlotte, Jerome and their family made us feel like we were staying with friends, except these friends did everything for us, but were not at all intrusive or 'in your face'. My only hesitation in recommending Chateau Charge is that it will be full before we get a chance to book it again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#5 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing