We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Chateau de Charge is a magnificent escape from Paris. It fulfilled all my dreams of staying at a chateau in the Loire Valley. We stayed in the Grenier à Sel room which overlooked the courtyard. The details and restoration of the room and the chateau are exquisite. The entire chateau was impeccably clean and the owners Jerome, Charlotte & Co. were very pleasant and helpful. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and referred us to an excellent english speaking wine tour guide, Alain. The stay and trip were perfect and I couldn't have asked for anything more. I highly recommend Chateau de Charge to anyone looking for an amazing experience in Chinon and the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkfishsurfdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam NL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Spent 2 nights with our 7 month old boy on our way to Biarrtiz for Christmas and enjoyed every minute of it, so much so that we made a point of staying another night on the way back through. Jerome and Charlotte are amazing hosts, made us feel right at home and were gracious in every way. They provided endless information and booked us dinner at a great little restaurant in nearby Chinon and a babysitter for while we were out. The chateau and it's rooms have been renovated to the highest standard while maintaining the look and feel of the original construction. Staying in winter and during a cold snap, the woodstove, (recently installed in all the rooms) added a cosy feel to our room. Overall, it was a memorable experience and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We spent two night at this Loire Valley's hidden gem and just loved it! We stayed in a very spacious family room with main bedroom/living room and another room with 2 single beds. We travelled with a toddler and we were provided with a travel cot, changing mat and a box full of toys. The decoration was made with a lot of taste, there was lots of attention to details in terms of the room facilities. The food was good (there is no restaurant at such but the owners will prepare you a meal if you request in advance), we enjoyed the pool and our daughter the little playground. The owners organized us a wine tasting session, helped with taxi and restaurant reservations.

I would go back any time and really recommend this place for those tired of staying in pricy boutique hotels unable to meet your expectations and who are looking for a more authentic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We planned our short break in the Loire by staying at 2 different hotels, the second one being the Loire Valley, my only regret is that this was not our first destination as I would not have bothered moving. The interiors of the Chateau have been done in sympathy with the building, but, with the modern luxuries we all love - wonderful interior decoration, inviting sofas, espresso machines in the bedroom, a wonderful bathroom with fabulous shower, dvd selection, the list goes on. All of those 'extras' which make your comfort and enjoyment all the better. We took the option of having Charlotte cook for us, the meal was just delicious and very reasonable. I love wine and Jérôme hosted an impromptu wine tasting as soon as he knew I had an interest. His enthusiasm and passion is wonderful, plus he sells wine at cost, which is fantastic. Having only stayed a night, Charlotte and Jerome felt like old friends. We would definitely return, but this time for longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank with3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We have recommended the Chateau de Charge to everyone. It is luxurious, tasteful and really friendly. Jerome, and Charlotte are wonderful hosts. They deserve great success after their hard work in renovating the chateau..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Loire Valley Retreat will not disappoint from the moment you make your booking . It is a wonderful old chateau which has been restored with no expense spared. Bedrooms are spacious and very well furnished. Breakfast superb a varied choice of the freshest produce and pastries - pain au chocolat noteworthy. The hosts really made our stay memorable. They have lots of ideas on fun things to do with young children in the region and our family made some wonderful memories based on this great advice. The retreat itself has a fantastic pool and play area for kids and yet those without kids should find this a very peaceful escape too. We could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherwoodsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bembridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stylish but homely with excellent attention to detail. Wonderful hospitlaity that was warm but not over-the-top. Beautiful countryside; perfect for family cycling. Highly recommended.
Please keep it up!
Chris

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookBembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
498 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
283 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
404 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing